We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
346
299
72
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
299
72
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hutton room jacuzzi bath stained glass jalan hutton small lap pool beautiful hotel four poster bed chinese furniture lovely boutique heritage hotel colonial style walking distance living room old world charm late check air con street art
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 757 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for six nights. The is well located as it is close to a lot of the local shops and food centres. The rooms are very good and the one we have had you could not hear any noise from the road. The front desk and cleaning staff are very good and where all ways help with booking vehicles ect for us. I have stayed in many hotels in Asia over the past two year ranging from guest houses to 5 star hotels and the hotel penaga is one of the best I have used. Thank you to all the staff for making our trip very enjoyable.

Room tip: Get the Hutton room 35 as it has a lift to that floor and gives you a view of the garden.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scenic816266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

This is a quaint semi restored hotel in the old sector of George Town. It is rated 4 star not quite sure it’s at that level. But is was an excellent stay, king bed, jacuzzi cooling worked well with complimentary mini bar. The staff are polite and eager to assist. The complimentary wine is a nice thought but given they only give you 60ml they would be better offering something else. The complimentary afternoon tea is a tea or coffee with a sweet tidbit. If we were return to Penang we would consider staying again. If you are not good with stairs there is a wing with a lift. Breakfast is standard style fair and is fresh.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPenaga2018, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Dear Tony,

Greetings from Hotel Penaga Team! Thank you for the lovely review We are delighted to hear your recognition of our personalized service and your positive experience.

Look forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with us.

Best Regards,
Jessie and Penaga Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2018

I spent a 2 night here just because I need to get to a center of GeorgeTown. The look is kind of old but it is unique at is own.

It is amazing! I got a room with a jacuzi, large enough with 2 small kids and it is clean. THe only things need to fix is their aircond system due to high floor - the aircond won't be able to feel the whole room.

It is worth your money.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank izzatza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPenaga2018, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Greetings from Hotel Penaga Team! Thank you for the lovely review We are delighted to hear your recognition of our personalized service amd Hotel decor. Apologies for the experience you had during your stay, we are currently upgrading on Air-con system.

Please know that your feedback is very important to us as we are constantly trying to make sure that we're giving our best service to our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Jessie and Penaga Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

If you wish to lounge by the pool then go elsewhere - to Batu Faringhi or to the E&O. If you plan to eat all your meals in the hotel the go elsewhere as the menu is limited. However, if you want to savour the delights of old Georgetown and its fabulous array of eating places, then this is an excellent place to stay. The best laksa restaurant is just along th street - Laksalicious - and there is a good vegetarian rstaurant on the road parallel, I think it is called Jalan Dickens. Don’t select eating places from tourist brochures. Research Tripadvisor comments.

I stayed in a Hutton room, which was fine and spacious. But next time I will choose a room with a balcony. They are located at the back and ate not troubled by scooters revving up to check the workmanship of the scooter repair place across the road which operates well into the night.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ChrisBob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPenaga2018, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Chris,

We thank you for taking time to share your valuable feedback with us on your stay experience. Please know that your feedback is very important to us as we are constantly trying to make sure that we're giving our best service to our guests. Apologies for the experience you had, even we had install double layer glass window and provide ear plug still there's some noise from the neighbor motorbike shop.

Thank you for your constructive reviews on Hotel Penaga and again we apologize for the inconvenience occurred during your stay.

We appreciated of your support and look forward to the pleasure of being service to you again.

From
Jessie and Penaga Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Our short visit to Penang earlier this month would always remain a pleasant memory. Apart from the hotel being a great property, the staff on hand were wonderful. We had booked a Transfer suite, which, while being regal and majestic, had to be reached by stairs.My wife's knee niggle was an issue. But Farah and Nas were really wonderful and ensured that we could shift to a beautiful Hutton room accessible by lift. We loved the room, particularly the balcony overlooking the Jalan Hutton, and enjoyed the Jacuzzis. Wonderful paintings and memorabilia across the wall and a great location enabling easy access to all corners of Georgetown. Would love to go back again....and many thanks Farah and Nas, much appreciate your help

Room tip: Clark's terrace and Hutton rooms are among the best, unless you really want huge space around you. Opt for top floor city views.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amitendu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPenaga2018, Manager at Hotel Penaga, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Dear Amitendu,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Penaga as your choice of accommodation during your recent trip to Penang and it was a pleasure having you here. We are pleased to hear your recommendations and good experience in Penang. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the room and the all -inclusive offerings in our restaurant and spa.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Jessie and Penaga Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews