We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite comfortable but parking might be a problem”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“quite comfortable but parking might be a problem”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I visited my friends in Penang in August. A lot of hotels were full during that time because of the holidays. Decided to stay in Cititel when we searched from the internet and found it locates in the heart of the Georgetown.
Since we are not familiar with Penang, even with the map to the hotel, we still lost. When we called up to the hotel, the staff is helpful to guide us there.
The parking space is very limited I will have to say. Luckily my friends drove us out, or else you will not get any parking space if you come back at night.
The room has been refurbished I believe because of the design and set up. It's quite comfortable for short stay.
Food stalls are available and Komtar is within walking distance. You can get Penang local delights nearby.
The pub street is not far from the hotel and it's very happening at night.
Not sure the management can look into the parking space for the hotel guests because it's really full.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjwa_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest greetings! Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay in Penang with us.

I am indeed very delighted to know that our services and facilities at Cititel Penang were up to your expectations, and that you had enjoyed UPR (Upper Penang Road – the entertainment and dining hub of George Town).

On a less positive note with regards to our car park facility, the car park lots within the hotel are usually sufficient for our in-house guests' usage, but locating a space to park may be a bit of a challenge during the time when our function halls are taken up for events at the same time when we are running on high occupancy, as with the case during your stay. In such circumstances, our car-park concessionaire has been duly informed that the priority of car park space is to be accorded to our in-house guests.

Nevertheless, thank you for your kind understanding and I hope that this issue did not detract you from enjoying your stay here.

My team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Have a great week ahead!

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    567
    234
    45
    25
See reviews for
201
243
92
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My family and I had booked three nights at Cititel Penang in two double rooms. Upon check-in we were told by the manager behind the desk that they did not have any double rooms available (only twins) for the first night and that we had not requested double rooms. I suggested that they need to update their website booking page with the option of selecting double sleeping arrangements as I imagine most guests booking in for two would expect a double rather than twin sleeping arrangement. The manager told me that they have had this issue before. Despite this initial setback, they did manage to clear up two double rooms in which we stayed in for the three nights of our stay here. Rooms are clean, spacious and with views of Georgetown. Location is fine, but then again most places in Georgetown would be located pretty centrally. Wifi is a little slow at times (also check that this is free/included in the price you pay). Health facilities are simple but effective. Buffet breakfast is ok but nothing special for the price you pay. All in all, it was a comfortable stay at Cititel Penang, but make sure you're specific with your requests when booking.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest Greetings from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to write in and I hope that you and your family had a good trip home.

I am sorry to hear of the rooming arrangements upon your check-in but am glad to know that it was quickly sorted out and that you and your family had enjoyed your stay on the whole.

Thank you for your suggestion to include an option for our guests to indicate their rooming preference - I will explore this further with our IT Team. In the meantime, we have, presently, for our online reservations, a section for “Special Request” (located on the same page where guests’ details are keyed in) where many of our guests have found to be most helpful as they are able to type in their requests/preferences during their stay here.

Nevertheless, I hope that this did not detract you from the overall enjoyment of your stay in Penang and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to stay at Cititel Penang should you be coming this way again.

Have a great week ahead!

With kind regards,

Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamakura, Japan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights only for a quick trip through Penang... it is ok for a short stay like this I guess but I'm glad we're not staying too much longer. The net connection is fast during the day when there is noone using it, but in the evenings it is so slow you can hardly use it at all... I am writing this from the coffee shop on the lobby floor, which is where I ended up after spending over an hour trying to check myself in for an early flight out tomorrow.

The room itself is tiny and devoid of any style or flair - literally just a place to sleep. The toilet only flushes occasionally (takes ages to recover from one flush and each one is very weak). The view that everyone is talking about was non-existent for us - we're just overlooking a pretty average slice of the city. Taxis are not always available outside, you have to find them yourself. The location is not as great as I imagined either - a bit seedy although admittedly central. We ended up having to get cabs everywhere we wanted to go and the cabs in Penang are quite expensive by Malaysian standards.

Service is ok. The room service menu is very average though - nothing that sounds in the least bit fresh or healthy. Free waters that were in the room were not replaced on the second morning, although when we asked for some they did arrive.

All in all, not sure that we will stay again unless there was a lack of viable alternatives.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view because they don't all have one - ours certainly doesn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beroccstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest greetings from Cititel Penang and thank you for your kind feedback on your stay at our hotel recently.

I am regret to learn of the inconvenience of the slow internet connection you had encountered - we were in the midst of upgrading our internet connection line during your stay, and am pleased to share that we now have 4 (four) 12 Mbps lines and 1 (one) 10 Mbps line for the entire hotel. Our current speed is averaged at 20Mbps compared to 8Mbps previously.

Cititel Penang has most recently completed a renovation and refurbishment programme of our F&B facilities, Lobby area and the higher category of rooms. The rooms which you stayed in are our Standard Rooms, and are earmarked for refurbishment, which is presently being undertaken until May 2012.

We are lucky enough to have two views from our guestrooms, the “seaview” and the “heritage view”. I am indeed sorry that you did not get to experience the seaview that many of our TripAdvisor reviewers have enjoyed and appreciated, perhaps when you next book to stay with us via online, kindly mention that you would prefer a ‘seaview room’ under ‘Special Requests’.

if you had more time to spend in Penang, you would also discover that our public transport is just as efficient and offer a pleasant enough ride (and cheaper too!) to get you to your destinations within the island; or a trishaw ride around the Heritage enclave would have been memorable too!

Please be assured that I am addressing the matters you have highlighted with my Management Team with utmost priority so as to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay here.

Nevertheless, I do hope that these issues did not detract you from the overall enjoyment of your stay and my team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit.

With kind regards

Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Pro's:
-Location
-clean bed sheets
-free Internet
-rm 100 deposit for my 4 day stay


Con's:
-On non smoking floors I can still smell smoke
-toilet run down and my room toilet floor was leaking
-it's definitely a "working girl" hotel
-there is no safety deposit box
- I can hear the doors slamming from down the hall
-gross looking kettle


overall this hotel I would rate 3 star quality. The room furnishings are very dated, and cheap looking. If you are on a business trip, this is not the place to be.

If u are on a budget and want a step up from backpacking this would be heaven.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhm3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at Cititel Penang and many thanks for the positive comments on your stay.

My apologies if our rooms were not up to your expectations. The room which you stayed in is our Standard category, which is earmarked for refurbishment between now and May; you may perhaps wish to try our Superior or Deluxe rooms on your future visits, which have been newly renovated and are equipped with an in-room safe, a 32-inch LCD TV and bathroom amenities which I’m sure, will be more to your liking.

I would like to reassure you that I am looking into the matters you highlighted with my Management Team with utmost priority to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay here.

Thank you once again for writing as it is through your feedback that we continuously strive to improve the services rendered to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang again soon and in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Located in the heart of Georgetown, the Cititel offers stunning views and adequate rooms. Its a pretty stock standard 4 star hotel, but definitely provides eveverything you need.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zufepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest greetings from Cititel Penang!

It is indeed a delight to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

My team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed in standard rooms with nice view. The rooms were cleaned daily with supply of local newspapers in the morning. Bathroom has tub and shower. According to my sister who had stayed there four years ago, the hotel looked like it has been refurbished. Breakfast was good with mixture of local and international dishes. They even have Japanese and Vegetarian food.

The hotel was surrounded by restaurants and food stalls. There is 7Eleven and a mini mart within walking distance if you need to buy stuff. You can walk to the famous Nasi Kandar Lineclear. Chowrasta Market and Hameediyah Restaurant is also nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InazKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest

Warmest Greetings from Cititel Penang!

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us and hope that you had a pleasant trip home.

It is always very heartening to know that our guests had an enjoyable time during their stay here and thank you for your kind appreciation of our facilities and services. Yes, your sister is correct to note that our hotel has been refurbished, from our guestrooms to our Lobby and from the 24-hour Main Street Café to the addition of a new F&B outlet – the Citi Lounge, located on the Mezzanine Floor.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us - my team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cititel Penang again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed at Pinnacle room last Feb 2011…
Opportunity to access the Pinnacle lounge: small, clean and simple setup..
Had afternoon snack which is tasty and later evening snack which is just ok..
Morning breakfast is at the coffee house: food choice and taste is not bad..

However..
The room is small and compact..
Small toilet..
Just tub (no shower)..

An incident happened; the shower curtain fell off and hit my family member.
Did left note (inform of the incident) to the manager while checking out..
Which later the manager just called and say sorry nothing more..
Not much for aftermath treatment..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSI_DSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CPG, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Cititel Penang.

I regret to know of the incident which occurred during your stay, but please be assured that this is not how we handle the operations here. My sincere apologies, albeit belated, to your family member on what had occurred and hope that all has been well since then. I have also issued a stark reminder to my Housekeeping and Front Office teams on this issue to ensure that this incident does not recur.

Notwithstanding the above, I sincerely hope that these issues did not detract you and your family from the overall enjoyment of your stay here last year.

My sincere thanks once again for your kind feedback and it is my fervent hope to have the privilege of welcoming you and your family members back to Cititel Penang again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.4 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
549 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing