We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,219)
Filter reviews
4,219 results
Traveller rating
2,752
970
311
125
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,752
970
311
125
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new wing planters lounge victory annexe sarkies corner corner suite infinity pool lone pine butler service cocktail hour old world charm sea view beautiful hotel original building colonial style high tea huge bathroom straits quay
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 4,219 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful E&O hotel is a delight on its own and the location is great as well as it is close to the Unesco heritage. We loved the heritage wing and in no time we felt like home in the comfort of our colonial style Georgetown Suite with spacious bathroom. In the morning we were happy to have the self-service breakfast in Sarkies, where things run smoothly despite the full dining room. If you want peaceful surroundings in the morning there is also the second option The Planters Lounge and of course the in-suite dining. Definitely enough food choices for the most demanding guests if you ask me. The hotel has two clean pools with a nice view and a beautiful garden right next to the sea. I highly recommend dining at the restaurant 1885 visiting the Panpuri SPA, especially for a massage underneath the skillful hands of the professional therapist. For an extensive review and more photos head over to WNFdiary, where we shared our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WNFdiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are indeed located within walking distance to place of interests, eateries and shopping. It is great to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having the almost-decadent afternoon tea in the luxurious surroundings of the 1885 at the E&O Hotel is a wonderful experience, whether you're a guest there or have come in just for the tea time. It's elegant, ample and scrumptious, with impeccable service in gorgeous surroundings. It's reasonably priced, considering that you leave satiated and impressed. The tea menu is extensive and the food offerings are as well, both the savory and the sweet. Get a table by the double doors for a nice view and make a reservation if you can, just to be sure. But don't miss it -- it's truly a memorable experience, and photogenic, too!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky-san2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to try our popular English Afternoon Tea. It is great to know that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience. It would be great to have you visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Come here if you want to feel pampered and get treated like royalty. Gorgeous rooms with a colonial feel and huge bathrooms add a touch of luxury. Free cocktail hour when you stay at Victory Annex! The pools are great to chill at and to enjoy the sea view. Breakfast is scrumptious with a great variety and you can eat till you drop! The beds are super comfortable and wifi connection is great. Service staff were polite and helpful and made the experience better. It's away from Georgetown but near the sea so come here if you prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle of citylife. You should spend at least a day just enjoying the hotel facilities and its views. A tip - the famous Fu Er Dai dimsum restaurant is just within walking distance from the hotel so you can satisfy your dimsum craving there.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank esthaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us in April. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and everything was perfect. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

One of the best hotels in penang and not dissimilar to Raffles in singapore. Got a suite and the bathroom is stunning. Service is average. The evening canapes in the lounge is too popular, feels like a free for all

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you indeed for staying with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Penang.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Located within George Town, ideal spot to enable you to walk to nearby attractions ie. street art, sky walk, pubs and food stalls. Well maintained hotel, with a colonial touch to it. Comfortable rooms with good quality finishes. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free drinks and cocktail snacks offered between 5-6pm. Wide variety offered at breakfast to cater for your taste buds. Pool setting and view on 6th floor is magical.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOH01Penang02, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently. We are indeed centrally located within walking distance to places of attractions, eateries and shopping. It is great to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews