We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,605)
Filter reviews
1,605 results
Traveller rating
361
792
300
103
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
792
300
103
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new lane hawker stalls street food hawker food walking distance club room taxi stand prangin mall macalister road buffet breakfast clean hotel small pool nasi lemak early check single bed comfortable stay housekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 1,605 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2015

A very memorable 3 days 2 nite family outing to Penang. Booked 4 deluxe double rooms through Booking.com at MYR188 not inclusive of extra bed, 6% tax and service charge 10% . On arrival I signed an invoice of RM80 for the transfer from Penang Airport to the Hotel.
The menu in the hotel looks good but we didn't have any meals at the hotel restaurant at all because we wanted to check out the must try Penang food out there.
Clean rooms, comfortable beds, good service and well mannered staff. Centrally located and a great jumping point to visit Georgetown World Heritage Sites.
However I made a mistake of leaving my hubby to settle the hotel invoice when we leave. On board my flight home I asked to check the hotel statement. I found a tax invoice totaling RM225.20 of which balance due is zero and a payment receipt of RM109.60 . Where's the statement ??
My hubby is the type who doesn't care at all what he's been charge and thought nothing about the amount.
Two days later we got a call from the assistant front manger that we short-paid !
Very upsetting indeed.

Room Tip: Even number you get Penang Hill view and odd number is the port view.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Yesujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2015

Dear Valued Guest Yesujin,

Warm Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to your recent stay at Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

Our teams work very hard to ensure our guests are content and we are glad to read you experienced of good standards from our team at Sunway. Here at Sunway Hotel Georgetown, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately we incurred an error with our staff and payments we were unable to meet your expectations.

As a testament to our strive for perfection, we have taken measures to ensure this would not happen again. We care for our guests at Sunway Hotel Georgetown. I will ensure to do everything in my power to ensure this does not happen again.

We do hope to meet your requirements on your next visit and hope you would consider staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Mr. P. Nagaswaran
SUNWAY HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2015

My first time stay in Sunway Hotel Georgetown eventhough I've been to Penang many times... Check in was a bit slow but luckily, there is not much people checking in during that period and I've to mention a few times to include our company's name in the invoice as part of the Malaysia GST requirement for any business trip by companies... Room card security system is used whenever you need to access to the rooms by lifts but was having trouble waiting for the card reader to response before I can press the room floors... Maybe I do not know the proper steps or the card reaser was slow to response... Was given the room 507 on the fifth floor and everything was fine except nobody comes to open up the safe deposit box even after I'd make a call to the operator twice... Only received 1 newspaper in my room during my 3 nights stay... Other than that, I've a clean and spacious room, comfortable bed and a much needed twin pillows and a good shower pressure... Breakfast is provided and walking distance to the famous Macalister Road hawker centre (opens only during night time) which is close every Wednesday...

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank calvin_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2015

Dear Valued Guest Calvin_alex,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear of your inconveniences and appreciate your comments and highlighting the areas for further improvement. We would like to assure you that we will be taking necessary corrective measures to avoid the recurrence of similar incidents.

We are delighted to learn of your experience and glad you got to enjoy facilities both in the hotel and outside within the vicinity of the hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Georgetown again soon.

Best Regards,
Mr. P. Nagaswaran
SUNWAY HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2015

We stay 3 nights in this hotel. The location of the hotel is great with just a stone's throw from the hawker center. The breakfast buffet is nice. The room is clean and new. The staffs are friendly and helpful. My daughther's soft toy was missing at one day after we came back from outside. After the help from the room attendant, finally we got it back. The room attendant accidentally sent it to laundry together with the bed sheet while making up the room. With the nice service and friendly staffs, and of course with a reasonable price, we certainly will come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ongkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2015

Dear Valued Guest Ongkh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn of your experience at Sunway Hotel Georgetown!
Our teams work very hard to ensure our guests are content and we are glad to read you experienced of good standards from our team at Sunway. We are delighted to learn of your experience and glad you got to enjoy facilities within the locality of the hotel. We are glad our staff was able to retrieve the soft toy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Hotel Georgetown in the near future.

Mr. P. Nagaswaran
SUNWAY HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2015

The staff are all very friendly, polite and helpful. The room (deluxe) is very nice, it has a great view up towards penang hill. Clean and spacious, good bathroom. You can hear the local karaoke bar a little bit, but we're usually really annoyed by noise and it didn't bother us. Great position, 5 mins walk from the bus station at Komtar, so you can get the free bus into the old town or local busses anywhere on the island. The pool is nice, perfect after a tropical day wandering about!!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank snailywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2015

Dear Valued Guest snailywee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn of your experience at Sunway Hotel Georgetown with our warm and friendly staff.

Our teams work very hard to ensure our guests are content and we are glad to read you experienced of good standards from our team at Sunway. We are delighted to learn of your experience and glad you got to enjoy facilities within the locality of the hotel. Once again, we do appreciate your valuable comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

Mr. P. Nagaswaran
SUNWAY HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2015

Great Staff to welcome you into the hotel ,all was smiling and that was great , it tells alot of a hotel and a good lasting impression of it in each guest staying at the hotel. We check in and procceeded to the room , we stay on the high floor and the view which was facing the city was great . The swimming pool was smaller than shown in the picture and the jacuzzi looks great but had no time to try it as we were constanly out exploring. The breakfast buffet at the cafe was not so good as in there was little selection but they do change some of the food as we noticed on the second day eating there . Staff was friendly and greeted you with smiles , for me thats a thumb up and when you leave the place , they say "Thank you and have a nice day ahead" .

The staff that we asked about information regards to the local things to see and eat was great , he took out a map and started directing us to all the local places for food which the locals does and it was good as he say.

Location of the hotel was good , it was near to alot shopping center importantly near Komtar bus terminal which is about 10min walk the most for me , for others it depend on individual walking speed. Transport will be a very important factor thus we chose this hotel after viewing others. Also just outside the hotel , there are street side food hawkers so I strongly encourage you to try it . Its cheap and nice and there are alot of varieties.

Do take note that all hotels are imposing a tax rate which will be payable upon checking out so do keep some small cash with you.

Overall it was a good hotel and

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Thunderrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2015

Dear Thunderrave,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn of your experience at Sunway Hotel Georgetown with our warm and friendly staff. We do appreciate your feedback on our breakfast and will look into the matter.

Our teams work very hard to ensure our guests are content and we are glad to read you experienced of good standards from our team at Sunway. We are delighted to learn of your experience and glad you got to enjoy everything within the vicinity of the hotel. Once again, we do appreciate your valuable comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

Mr. P. Nagaswaran
SUNWAY HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews