We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and perfectly located”
other travellers have booked this property
The Queen sized bed in the apartment space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Queen sized bed in the apartment space
Old Chinese wooden doors for the front door The backdoor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The Queen sized bed in the apartment space
Old Chinese wooden doors for the front door
The backdoor
View up the airwell
The dining table
The convertible sofa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
George Town, Penang Island, Penang

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pemakan_A...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable and perfectly located”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Shophouse had absolutely everything we needed for a week's work/holiday stay in Georgetown. Charmingly renovated, the apartment was roomy, cheerful and well-appointed, and the owner obliging in meeting our requests for bits and bobs that we needed for work.

Located in a quiet street in the heritage buffer zone, it is set a little inside from the street and this combination makes it fairly noise-proof. Yet it is walking distance to sights and the city's great eateries, which the owner was also very helpful with.

We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and local colour
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaeLim
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spacious and relaxing”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The booking process was accomplished with a minimum of fuss. Sharon answers promptly and everything went without a hitch.

The host was very warm and welcoming. She had a food map ready to show me where all the good food was. As there was no one else staying there at the time and she was flying off for work the next morning, i had the house to myself.

It was very quaint and old style, with some modern stuff thrown in. The couches on the lower floor of the loft can be folded down to accommodate more people and there was a flat screen tv, smart tv box and dvd player. There was also an ipod dock and the wifi signal was very strong.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blueisthe...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fuss free and easily accessible”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just as the other reviews have stated, the accommodation is as it is shown in the photos. It is spacious and very homely. Sharon was there personally to talk us through the accom and its nearby eateries. Very friendly and helpful with a hand-drawn map provided even. The location is situated pretty near the famous eateries, making it really easy for us to clear our must-eat food items in Penang off our food list. :D A great quiet time spent here. The road that the shophouse faces isn't a main road so it isn't as noisy as I was expecting it to be, which is perfect! A great stay that I would recommend to friends visiting Penang.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSGARTH
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Shophouse Apartment in Central Georgetown”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are currently staying here, we were first attracted to this rental when we saw the photos on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! It is a beautifully restored Shophouse, retaining original features but with modern comforts. Air conditioning, ceiling fans, lots of different lighting combinations, shower, comfortable seating and bed,wifi, large modern TV (which we did not use so cannot comment on available channels) and a hotel style digital safe.The main feature of the room is the Airwell which allows natural light into the centre of the apartment and can be beautifully lit in the evening.The kitchen area including sink, kettle and microwave is not designed for cooking but is great for "Brewing up" and preparing fresh fruit, available from the local market. Fresh bread can be bought from the next door Shophouse which is a bakery.
Sharon the owner was always very responsive from our initial enquiry,through the simple booking process and also answering our questions via email / the texts before we arrived. She met us at "The Shophouse" and after a warm welcome, she showed us around and made sure that we understood where everything was and how it worked!
The "Shophouse" is just off one of the main streets Lebuh Penang, it is simple to walk to many of the historic sites, there are local shops and many eating places of every variety. The main bus station Kompar is only a 10 minute walk away. We have had 3 really enjoyable and inexpensive meals so far during our stay.
We spent many hours researching and studying the many sites before we chose this rental, we really do feel that we made the right choice. We understand that we are the first TripAdvisor visitors, we don't understand why, but we would certainly recommend that others follow!
Thanks to Sharon for all her help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, Airwell for extra daylight and magical when lit at night
Liked least: Having to leave at end of holiday!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahng20...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“homely and comfy. Like that walking to places of interest in the old town”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

we stayed on the top floor ie 3rd of this old shop house. Place is very spick and span Airy and lots of space. Bathroom and toilet bowl are very clean.
Hostess is very friendly. Feel very much at home.
I looked at the ground floor unit and I would like to stay next time. Looks so inviting !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: within walking distance to place of interests and feel safe in the accommodation
Liked least: the noise from the streets. BUT if you are tired you dont noticed !
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing