We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,405)
Filter reviews
1,405 results
Traveller rating
230
676
354
105
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
676
354
105
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolving restaurant rooftop bar red garden deluxe room walking distance sea view taxi stand blue mansion buffet breakfast is rooms are big pleasant stay bus stop food court little india heritage area gurney drive georgetown
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,405 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

This is a lovely hotel - spacious comfortable rooms with lovely views, nice bathrooms and space to work. The hotel staff were friendly and we really enjoyed our time here. I don't think it is as shabby as previous reviewers have made out but maybe i was lucky with my room. HOWEVER, please please change your check in and especially your check out procedure! In this day and age with the luxury of computers, surely it does not have to be so complicated to work out how much we owe you! Such a shame!

Room Tip: High up rooms facing the sea are best
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne_Choong, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alex K,

Thank you for your valuable time to write this review and chosen Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang as your preferred choice of accommodation during your recent trip to Penang. We greatly appreciate your good comments on all mentioned. It is our passion to strive in offering satisfactory service to our valued guests. However, we will strive harder to improve on the check in & check out procedures for our guests. We look forward to delighting you again on your next trip to Penang.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

The room and bathroom were very spacious for asian standards. Hotel was also conveniently located and it was easy to walk to main attractions. Grab taxi from the airport to the hotel was RM26 and takes about 20min.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors might find the roof bar noisy. For those that are sensitive, you might want to request for a lower floor.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oolongmilktea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne_Choong, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Dear oolongmilktea,

Thanks for your positive review.
We are glad that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and we
look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Lynne Choong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

I was on a business trip and rushing for a meeting and it was very disappointing when you got to queue for almost 30 minutes to check-in into the hotel. There was only 2 counters for registration (check-in and check-out) and the queue was very long. It was Duty Manager's responsible to look into the long queue and sort it out moreover it was a Public holiday and the Manager should have anticipated more guess to check-in but instead the Manager was not bothered. Even when I was about to check-out the queue was too long and guess got to wait at least 30 minutes. Location, staff, room was good but the Hotel should look into Express registration for check-in and check-out rather than waiting for 30 minutes and wasting our time.

Room Tip: I don't find problem with the rooms but the registration for check-in and check-out is very sickening.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MsJRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne_Choong, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MsJRaj,

Thank you for staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and hearing we have fallen below that standard is something we like to address immediately. I am very sorry to learn that your experience with our service was less than adequate. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the unseemly incident as we value our guests and understand how important it is to offer exceptional service. I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We sincerely wish for an opportunity to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. We look forward to delighting you again on your next trip to Penang. 


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

It's sad but this could be a much, much better hotel. It's in a prime location, has a great view and pool, a revolving restaurant on top, and with some refurbishing this could be a fantastic place. Alas, we can only judge it for what it is - which is very mediocre.

For one, the check-in process was less than informative - no idea what the wifi password is, no mention of breakfast times. Then the room itself, while big, is...very spare and old (you can see from the photos). The bed is hard. There are ants. But the worst is the sound proofing, which is barely there. I was there when some kind of big government official was also in town, and the whole police/guard brigade was there as well. At 7AM, they decided to do some kind of training for 2 days straight, and I could hear them for over an hour. Needless to say, I slept badly.

It's not the worst place, and push comes to shove I wouldn't say no to staying here if there are no other options, but well, there are definitely other options in town.....

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Werckmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne_Choong, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Werckmeister,

Thank you for staying with us. We are sincerely sorry that we have fallen so far short of the highest standards you expected. We hope that you will accept our humble apologies for any inadequacies you suffered during your stay. We value our guests and strive to provide the best experience that we can every time so it is our sincere assurance that the necessary action will be taken regarding the matters you mentioned. Once again, we thank you for having brought our shortcomings to our attention and hope that you will very kindly provide us with an opportunity to delight you with our efforts to provide consistently caring and excellent services when you come back to Penang again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Don’t let the hotel booking sites deceive you, think hotel is definitely not as grand as it looks from the pictures. It was just a very mediocre place. The guy at check-in wasn’t the most helpful, didn’t tell us where breakfast was or what time check-out was at, didn’t come accross overly friendly or chatty. The room itself was pretty underwhelming, bed was hard as a brick but the room itself was lovely and spacious - although some weird looking stains on the carpet which were clearly trying to be hidden by the coffee table!! Bathroom a little run down. The main advantage of the room was the stunning view we got from our window which was a nice treat!

The best part of this hotel was the pool area.... lovely big, deep pool with plenty of seating and even a sun deck around the corner which is the only place you could really catch the sun as the pool area itself is quite sheltered which was nice. This was definitely the most enjoyable part about this hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne_Choong, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Dear Amy B,

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that you had not fully enjoyed your stay with us. Your
comments are well noted and thanks for the positive feedback on our pool setting.
We hope to welcome you back again!

Best regards,
Lynne Choong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews