We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
154
48
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
48
6
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormowners are super friendlyfree breakfastvery nice place to stayprivate roomlocation is greattoast and jamlittle indiachulia streetfantastic stayheritage housecoffee teastreet artwater pressurestreet foodlove lanehostel
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 216 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2017

I really enjoyed staying there. Some things could be improved but overall it's a very nice place to stay. The owners are super-friendly and very knowledgeable about their hometown Georgetown. They will help you with anything you ask them. Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L0ic89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017

The House of Journey is a heritage house with boutique-style interior in Georgetown. I booked a bed in 6-bed dorm for 3 nights and i couldn't have asked for a better location. The hostel is in 2 min walking distance from Lebuh Chulia where you can find lots of local restaurants, cafes and pubs nearby - but still quiet at night so no problems sleeping.

The beds were super comfy, the dorm i stayed in was spacious enough and clean. The lockers are small but still helpful. During the day the room got quite warm but the ceiling fan was relatively good. WiFi is strong. Breakfast is basic but i see it as an extra on top of the value what you get for money. Two nice shower-cells and the toilets are located downstairs and were always clean during my stay.

Staff was really friendly and humorous and also extremely helpful in organising me bus tickets to my next destination. Have recommended this place to many people on my travels and would recommend to anyone looking for comfort and socialising.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Favo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in house of journey in a double room with a/c. The location is great and within walking distance of the George Town street art, the blue mansion etc.

Our room was in a building across the road from the main reception. The a/c didn't work in our first room and the staff were super helpful and moved us to another room. Both rooms in that building were pretty noisy, we could hear the people in other rooms even when they were only having normal conversations. The walls are quite thin wood/plywood. In addition the lighting in the rooms was really dark, there were a couple of lamps with low wattage bulbs and it didn't really provide very good light even for reading.

The beds were comfy and the bathrooms clean with good water pressure. The staff were friendly! We star breakfast out everyday so can't comment on the food.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank katrina155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2017

Attention, travelers: House of Journey is the kind of place where you come as a guest and may leave as a friend or a family member! We spent one week in this fabulous hostel and had a great experience overall. Clean and functional dorms and bathrooms, social vibe, nice location (2 min away from Love Lane and tons of cheap eats), simple but tasty breakfast and AMAZING staff! James, the manager, does a great job at making sure every guest has a smooth stay. Would recommend HoJ to friends and anybody up for having a great time and a comfortable stay in Georgetown!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariZanini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

Lovely little place with a really great feel to it. In the perfect location, friendly staff and has everything you need or should expect at that great price! Maybe a little suggestion is that they could have brown bread for breakfast too, but that's just me being petty :)

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank TarrynK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews