We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveller rating
601
196
30
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
196
30
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour daily tours food court next door indigo restaurant original owner blue walls piece of history central courtyard homemade jams steeped in history restored to its former glory free tour red garden unique hotel guest rooms historical building step back in time
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 848 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

I have been looking forward to revisiting George Town after my first trip there many years ago. This stay we decided to book into The Blue Mansion. It really is a wonderful building and has been lovingly restored. The other reviews pay homage to this - some making mention of the twice daily tours being intrusive. We didn't find it that bad to be honest. The guides were interesting to listen to as we sipped G&T's in the beautiful interior space of the mansion. As the house is not supported by the Government the tours (and accommodation business) raise much needed funds to keep the building maintenance possible. The rooms were lovely. Comfortable. Quiet. The staff are efficient. The location is good for exploring the city and there is a fabulous food court right next door which also boasts local singers - it's a very entertaining place to while away many hours. My only criticism or issue with the accommodation was the permitting of smoking in the (otherwise divine) bar - it's a closed in space so as soon as someone decides to light up it becomes unbearable. And guests sitting and smoking outside their and our room also meant we could not open our windows nor enjoy sitting outside in the guest only areas. I would think it could be avoided by establishing designated smoking areas away from guest rooms and the bar. Nevertheless, if this doesn't bother you - all good.

Room Tip: If other guests smoking bothers you ask for rooms which open out to the pool or have their own entrance.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xen_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Xen_Paul,

Thank you for alerting us to your concerns during your recent stay with us. These will be immediately rectified. We trust the rest of your visit more than made up for it. Looking forward in welcoming you in the near future.

The Blue Mansion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

All staff is absolutely friendly. The room was impressive, high walls, old furniture... it really feels like living in a museum what it really is. Breakfast is yummy and staff made us feel welcome, always very helpful! The tour they offer every day was so interesting. It is very central.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Michael,

The Blue Mansion team is delighted that you loved the house and your time with us. The beauty of the architecture and the cultural value do leave very special memories in everyone’s heart.

The Blue Manison Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

The Blue house easy to be spot in town & full with historical story, the house had been silence for few decade in Georgetown Penang. Until Georgetown received UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Blue Mension come back to life.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Old M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Dear Old M,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the house. We think it’s a very special place too and it’s a privilege to take care of it. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

The Blue Mansion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We have stayed in many hotels, but nearly all of them were quite forgettable. This one is not. The whole place exudes history and beauty. We had a beautiful, huge and comfortable room, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Just the place to unwind after the hot and busy streets of Geargetown

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Dear Peter J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay experience at The Blue Mansion

We are exceptionally delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that standards and services of our hotel met with your expectations. We are glad to know that you find the hotel easy accessible to many tourist attractions and you managed to explore around.

We'll be sure to share your kind words with our team members and to encourage them to continuously deliver our service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay in the not too distant future!

The Blue Mansion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the Blue Mansion in early August. We absolutely loved it. The rooms are spacious and have all the mod cons while still keeping their traditional character. In fact the whole hotel oozes character.
However the staff are really fantastic and welcoming. They make you feel welcome and special!
Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank NorthStar384584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CFT-TBM-Mgr, Manager at Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a heart-warming feedback.

We are thrilled to know that you have had such a good time at The Blue Mansion. It was our pleasure to be part of your memorable experience to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The Blue Mansion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews