We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,865)
Filter reviews
1,865 results
Traveller rating
831
734
189
55
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
734
189
55
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive floor welcome ice cream shopping mall sea view kit kat free mini bar food centre big shopping modern hotel batu ferringhi local food business hotel checking in extra bed upon check night market spacious rooms
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 1,865 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

As we travel often, so we prefers somewhere near to malls or eateries so that the children have food choices (being picky eaters).

From map, I located Gurney area as near to sea, also nearby to 2 shopping malls. From friends' recommendations, we opted for G Hotel Gurney (though G Hotel Kelawai is also nearby).

Location - Gurney Plaza is few steps away and Gurney Paragon is 1 block away after The Regency condo. Perfect for families.

Hotel - We had booked 2 rooms; one with a sea view for ourselves and it's really awesome. Besides finding a dead cockroach and missing complimentary drinkable bottled water, the hotel was clean and neat. However, a sliding door for the shower and a flexible hose with shower head would make it family friendly. The hotel staff is approachable, professional and helpful.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mabkhiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. The hotel works with an international third party company for pest control and regular treatments are frequently done to keep those disturbances at a minimum and in fact this is a very rare occurrence. Please accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort.

We hope to welcome you back to Penang for your 2nd visit and for us to show our commitment to service excellence.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

I can hardly find anything to complain of! Nice staff, all over, warm welcome, open mind at restaurant, nice food, late check out, great swimming pool, perfect location in between 2 malls, facing sea. Good Japanese restaurant, Saturday lunch buffet there.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank virginieb958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay very much.

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Stayed 3d2n for a company trip. The location, right next to the sea, gives it a lovely view over the ocean if you are fortunate enough to get a room with a view. Otherwise, it's also located right by 2 shopping centres which is enough to keep most people occupied.
Georgetown is just a short taxi ride away, if you use Grab it isn't even expensive, just about 5RM or so.
The rooms are spacious, well-appointed, and very comfortable. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are proud to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, namely the spacious room and our prime location.

We look forward to the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2016

G Hotel is a local-brand hotel, I like the hotel for a couple of reasons.

(1) Location - It has a nice sea view, but you do need to request for room that can give you the sea view. But if you do go to gym often, it has a 180 degree seaview, where you can jog on the threadmill and enjoy the view. And the hotel is just next to 2 shopping malls, where you can do a bit of shopping, get food, buy light grocerry and more.

(2) It is easy to get transport like Taxi (which is not that cheap in local currency term, but if you're using USD, SGD, AUD or Pounds, it is reasonable). But Uber is common in Malaysia, and you can get the same ride for 50% less sometimes via Uber.

(3) One pleasant surprise that I find is - All the drinks and snacks in the room, it is free and complementary from the hotel. I must say - I been to enough hotels in the past few years, and it is a rare occassion that I get "freebies" with no string attached.

(4) Price wise - I find the hotel to be easily qualified for a 5-star hotel for its ammenities (a decent gym, big pool, cosy room, good spread of restaurants), and the price is reasonable. If you can afford to pay a bit more - get the room with a living room next to it - where you get more space, and can afford to have a living room there for kids to linger around and watch TV (if you're there with your family).

(5) There is a band playing at night at the lobby - the last time I was there, the singer can sing pretty well, and it never hurts to have a couple of drink to un-wind in the evening, after a long day of work, and chill out over some decent music and a nice environment.

Room tip: Good to book the hotel on Agoda.com (I did mine a few times at a reasonable price).
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ericlhlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that you found many aspects of your stay were positive, namely the prime location, convenient transportation, our in house band and the complimentary minibar.

We look forward to the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2016

This hotel requires no further embellishment. For starters, it is located in close proximity to prominent shopping centers and famous gurney hawker street food. It is also endowed with a breathtaking view of the sea in the timeless and ever charming Penang. Staffs are affable and guest centric; room is contemporary and unusually spacious whilst amenities are well provisioned and toiletries are luxurious.

The mini bar is complimentary and wifi is free and fast very much to our delight. Guests are spoiled for food choices and the drinks are generous. Live band in the evening is enchanting as well. Service recovery is almost immediate and swift.

The lobby is well festooned with Christmas lights and the Christmas Tree Lighting Ceremony also blesses a festive flair to the hotel guests. I applauded the worthy charity program held during ‘A Time To Give’ for the Children’s Home. It succinctly gave us food for thought and soothes the frayed edges on the harsh realities of life to the less privilege. Thumbs up for engaging such a noble event.

Perhaps on a side note management can look into the provision of a clock as a timekeeper for swimmers in the pool area. The television program also lack of an English movie entertainment channel.
Other than that, it is almost too good to be true.

G hotel, a groovy place to be, a gem in the making.

Date of stay: November 2016
Thank Hsinmei81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and we are glad that your overall stay was an enjoyable one.

We will be reviewing the TV channels early next year however I would like to highlight that in every guest room, we do provide a 55” Smart LED TV which give our guest of the added bonus of internet, screen mirroring and numerous options to watch their own content.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to the opportunity to be of service.


Kind regards,

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews