We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-18
Hotels.com
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-18
Trip.com
US$586
US$88
View deal
SAVE US$498
Free cancellation until 21-06-19
Expedia.comUS$105
CheapTicketsUS$105
ZenHotels.comUS$586
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,997)
Filter reviews
1,997 results
Traveller rating
925
757
196
58
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
925
757
196
58
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive floor shopping mall sea view kit kat complimentary ice cream free mini bar local food hotel lobby spacious room f b food court street food gurney gym xl minibar penang
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 1,997 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

Very clean and classy lobby, with a shopping mall and McDonalds beside the hotel. Spacious 1 kingsize bedroom, staff is friendly and responsive to needs. Minibar drinks and snacks are all complimentary. Located quite centrally to Gurney Drive food street as well.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank markgor_1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2017

Location is great. Next to 2 major shopping malls which has everything you need to eat, play or waste time at.

Hotel itself looks grand and i think it was renovated as the interior looks clean and relatively new.

We got the room facing the mall carpark which was bad and the aircon control doesnt seemed to work. Even though we off the aircon, the room was still very cold at night. The shower area could really do with a shower door so as to block out the cold air coming in through the toilet door vent.

Space was really great and plenty. Small packets of milo were provided on top of the usual coffee and tea which was great but the milo was rather tasteless compared to the norm.

Bed and pillows provided were very comfortable.

Buffet breakfast was so-so only, the standard usual spread, nothing out of the unusual worth mentioning.

Lift security is tight as you need the room card to choose your floor, so travelling in a big group may be an issue especially since we were allocated different floors. Getting things to another floor meant that we had to meet at the ground floor before going up again.

Overall, quite a good stay but you pay more for the location than luxury.

Room tip: room number 08 is facing the muddy beach being reclaimed and room 04 is facing the carpark
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehtsegn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at G Hotel Gurney.

We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the buffet breakfast and the air conditioning in your room as it would allow us to make improvements and take corrective measures. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and we do hope you will return to the hotel so we may show you the true G experience.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2017

The hotel is convenient and is attached to a mall (Gurney Plaza). Hotel has a warm ambience and staffs are great and friendly. Rooms are newly refurbished, clean and bright. Great bathroom amenities as they uses Appelles Apocatherapies.
Overall, stay is good and would consider staying back at G Hotel Gurney, Penang.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Nash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very modern and in an excellent location on the seafront and connected to an excellent shopping centre. Great breakfasts, friendly staff - nothing to fault. Would stay in this hotel again.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank JonathanRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights while visiting family. It is not in the old area of George Town, but close to two modern, upmarket shopping malls. It has a large modern foyer and good restaurant area which we used for breakfast most days. Our room looked out to the ocean, where reclamation work is currently underway to establish additional beachfront land. Unsure of what is planned here. The tide goes in and out a long way leaving exposed mudflats at low tide.
The room itself was comfortable and a reasonable size, furnished in a modern decor.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank davidhV2488SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews