We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complimentary dinner”
Review of Five Sails

Five Sails
Ranked #44 of 664 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Five Sails restaurant offers a daily selection of international and Malaysian favourites for breakfast and dinner buffets. The elaborate spread for Sunday Brunch is particularly popular for late-risers and those seeking a perfect weekend treat.Buffet Breakfast - 6:00am to 10:30amBuffet Dinner - 6:30pm to 10:00pmSunday Brunch - 12:00pm to 3:00pm
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for two nights and got one free buffet dinner

Very ok food with enough choices, stafss are very helpful

Thank joanneHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2017

We ate breakfast almost every day at Five Sails, and we dined there on a couple of occasions. The food was always good and the service excellent.

Thank maryfry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Lots of selection & something for most but like most buffet's the quality can suffer. The staff are great & at the end of a big sight seeing day it is easy.

Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear Rick S,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable dining experience. Your valuable feedback has been duly noted and shared with the team for further improvement where necessary.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Adrian De Rozario
Hotel Manager
The Magellan Sutera Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We decided to explore the buffet that was put on for the Saturday night, all local street type food which we were looking forward to. We had small tastings of a wide range of dishes but most disappointed us. We had tried several eating places in KK and we enjoyed them immensely - we both like the local food but this buffet fell short of our expectations.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear DAVID M,

Thank you for this valuable feedback. We apologise for the experience that did not meet your expectation. Please be assured that this incident is not reflective of the usual service standards that we pride ourselves on.

We are dedicated to customer care and your constructive feedback has been channeled to our team for further improvement as it is only through caring guests such as yourself that we are able to continually monitor and improve our standard of services provided.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for a more positive dining experience.

Best regards,

Adrian De Rozario
Hotel Manager
The Magellan Sutera Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

The morning we arrived for breakfast it was raining. The staff were busy running all furniture from out in the open to under the roof. It was chaos and the poor lady on the front desk was so frazzled that she asked us to find our own seats. There were no dry seats just a jumbled mess of wet seats and tables and a sea of chinese people all jostling for food that was not being replenished fast enough. We managed to find a wet table that staff were nice enough to let is use. The staff dried off everthing before we settled down to what seemed a frenetic breakfast. The food that was warm was great. Omelette's and some type of pancakes cooked to your liking. The cold milk that was being used for the coffee machine had fruitflies in it... eek. We decided to eat at the Magellan lounge from this day on. The kids ate though and were fairly happy.

Thank Reg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Manager at Five Sails, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Dear Reg G,

Thank you for this valuable feedback. We apologise for the experience that did not meet your expectation. Please be assured that this incident is not reflective of the usual service standards that we pride ourselves on.

We are dedicated to customer care and your constructive feedback has been channeled to our team for further improvement as it is only through caring guests such as yourself that we are able to continually monitor and improve our standard of services provided.

We look forward to seeing you again soon for a more positive dining experience.

Best regards,

Adrian De Rozario
Hotel Manager
The Magellan Sutera Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Sails also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Five Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing