We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for families”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed at the Tanjung Aru for 10 nights in March 12, and had a awesome time. My 3 kids were entertained by the fantastic pool area including waterslide and of course the Ice-Cream bar. The kids club also was great. They asked to go in themselves such was the fun they had. The service we received was excellent. No request was too small, and everything we asked for was met with a smile and prompt delivery.

One of the best Breakfast buffets I've seen, and the restaurants in the resort all seemed quite good, but we chose to eat out in KK city most nights, just to get a bit of variety and a fair bit cheaper.

Overall, if you are planning on staying at this resort, they do cater for families, so those on a "couples" only stay be advised that there are kids abound. However the pool and resort is big enough you can escape the action if wanted.

Never had a issue securing shade around the pool, and even when the wife & I wanted "quiet" time, never found the kids pool area noisy enough to be distracting.

I'd definitely stay here again if going back to KK.

Room Tip: The rooms stayed cool throughout the day, and the interconnecting rooms in the Kinabalu wings were f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,106
    1,069
    341
    120
    81
See reviews for
1,295
1,402
92
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Loved every minute of our Christmas stay at ShangrilaTanjung Aru. The kids absolutely enjoyed the water park right in the middle of the resort. Staff were all accomodating. We booked a suite for our family with 3 children and had a very comfortable stay. Will certainly recommend this resort for families!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This used to be our favourite of all the Shangri La hotels in Asia. Unfortunately, this is to be changed after our last stay with them this week.

They have upgraded the facilities with a fun new water feature with slides which is great for kids and new gym. But there's currently no jetty in the hotel (as it's under reconstruction) where you can hop on a boat to the beautiful islands offshore. The hotel ferries you to the Sutera Harbour for boat outings. Besides swimming, there's no other water sports available .

We went to the hotel's taxi counter Wednesday morning to take a taxi to the North Borneo Railway. The guy at the taxi counter asked us to pay MR35 one way to the North Borneo Railway which turn out to be about 5 minutes drive from the hotel. I tried to negotiate a better rate but was told they charge flat rate for city area. We were not told that there's an option to call a "local taxi". Since we were in a hurry, we took the hotel taxi. Upon return, I checked with their guest relation's manager. I was told the taxi counter was out sourced to a separate taxi firm and the hotel has no say over their fares.... The normal fare if we take the "local taxi" would be no more than MR15.

Breakfast is another sore point. The buffet was very busy - too crowded really - for the 6 days we stayed with them. Restaurant Tatu has good food but the service is so reactive and almost nothing was done proactively. We have to specifically ask for anything from getting a pot of tea, to a missing knife or spoon, changing a dirty cup or even getting anyone to collect the plates until you absolutely can't put another one on the table. This happens both for the breakfast and not so busy time at dinner as well. This is definitely not what we expect from a 5 star hotel.

It's a beautiful hotel but they really need to catch up on service.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pebbles_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

my wife, friend and i stayed for 4 nights in april. the sunset bar was definitely the highlight and spectacular, and the gym was great, in addition it is only 10 min from airport and direct flight fromm hk. the oher plus is the resort has a fantastic view of the isialnds and water. the rooms were fine and the new wing has great views of the water. unfortunately the service, while friendly, was a showstopper. food was late or unavilable, and often people smiled and said 'yes' but they would not be able to provide what was needed. this made it difficult to accept the stuff in the resort that was just 'ok', such as the quality of the food, the beach (not good), the pools (one infested with kids and the other never had chairs available), the lack of cool music or variety of restaurants. finally, a hotel in malaysia should have local massage option, not just he crazy prices of the hotel spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norbertghz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just spent Easter 5 days/4 nights: 2 adults, 2 boys 16 yrs & 1 x 13yr old girl. Absolutely no faults. Fantastic experience: staff, rooms, resort, food, manicured grounds, facilities. So clean and uber-friendly staff. We didn't bother upgrading to the Club 6th Floor as our breakfast was included (super diverse buffet); so much so that we ate there 2 x dinner buffet also. Sumptious and good value. Make sure you check out Happy Hour in different bars around resort as beer is RM28 each! All round faultless. Went to Rasa Ria Shangri-La Resort to do the Orang-Utan visit. Really good time had by all. Some might say expensive, but what price Conservation? Only downside comment would be that we would reserve judgement to stay at Rasa Ria until after their copious renovation building works are completed. Meanwhile, we were given 'Mountain-View Rooms'.... which meant no problem. Airport quiet. Changing weather conditions over mountains so great lightening storms! plus views over 2 x bays & floating KK village. Absolutely scenic view and certainly not your "brick wall" experience! AB FAB. We are definitely going to visit again.

Room Tip: 7th floor. Quiet AirCon and great views even though some may be put off by 'MountainView'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blairabroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Good location outside KK with great views of the islands, city waterfront & sunsets over the sea. Large hotel with good rooms & everything u could want, however due to its size, service was inconsistent & restaurants were a little expensive. However it offered everything a family could want esp. a water park area for young kids.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberleyadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We up graded to the club floor, well worth the extra, yoiu get breakfast, tea, coffee all day, afternoon tea, and between 5pm - 7pm free drinks and snacks that are so good you can make a meal of them.
The staff are wonderful, so caring and polite, you would be hard pressed to find a better hotel then this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
2.5 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
25.0 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
4.3 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,440 reviews
19.2 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,345 reviews
4.2 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing