We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed for six nights at this hotel in two interconnecting rooms with a sea view. The rooms are spacious and well appointed - it was ideally located in the heart of town with respect to banks, shopping and restaurants. The service was excellent with welcoming staff who couldn't do enough for you. Request a sea view room as it is really interesting.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    570
    163
    51
    19
See reviews for
304
457
112
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

it's a dated Hyatt hotel without in room WIFI (February, 2012). Seafront location is great, next to the night market and walking distance to the ferry. Rooms and service is Hyatt standard, but you can find better hotels in KK for this price level or similar hotels cheaper.

Room Tip: choose a seafront room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed for four nights holiday with the family and booked a club room. The hotel has just been renovated and the rooms are very nice. Plenty of space, clean, and with all facilities, i.e., swimming pool and fitness centre. The staff were overall friendly and service minded and made our stay even more enjoyable. The Club Lounge is also very nice with a good selection on the drink side, although the snack selection should be increased to match that of other Hyatt Regency hotels.

On the negative side some things don't work as well as they should. The internet connection was slow, and below what should be expected in a Hyatt hotel. The day I came out of the shower and the housekeeper had forgot to replace my towel I was also a little annoyed...

Overall I would stay again next time in KK.

NB: if you're looking for a beach resort this is not the hotel for you. You're then better of with Tanjung Aru or Rasa Ria, as the Hyatt only has a pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msh060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights after my horrible experiences in the Nexus Resort. Hyatt Regnecy Kinabalu is a truly four to five star hotel, which provide excellent facility and services. It is located in the downtown area and VERY close to several shopping malls. You can get everything you need in minutes. The only problem is that it does not provide free wifi in the lobby or internet connection in rooms. However, you can get online in the Coffee Bean, which is inside the closest shopping mall right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu is rated locally as a 5-star hotel. This is definitely not the case in reality. The rooms are indeed large and reasonably well decorated, but there are several flaws in this hotel that make it at best a 4-star one. The employee at the tour and car rental counter (in the lobby) hardly knows what he is talking about - telling you for example "sorry I have no map" when you can point a stack of maps right on his desk. The car we rented from Europcar at this counter showed up late with no apologies, just to tell us they did not accept cash (one advice: avoid paying with credit cards in tourist places in Malaysia: I had 3 frauds, including one clearly identified at the Marriott Kuala Lumpur). Rooms do not have wifi and internet costs a fortune. The room was noisy from the hotel live band (stops at 10pm, week-ends only) and from music in the street (more distant but til 11pm+, apparently everyday), eventhough we were on the 9th floor. The lobby, buffet restaurant and small swimming pool are noisy, look dated and are poorly decorated. The employees' English is substandard. On the positive side, the seaview rooms have a stunning view, the beds and linen are comfortable, the gym is quite OK and the 2 ladies who were Duty Managers were very nice and helpful to solve our issues (noise and car).

Room Tip: Sea view, 9th floor and above. Below the 9th floor, seaview rooms are closer to the street and suffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We expected a top-class hotel, but it was a little ordinary. Our 'non-smoking' room smelled of smoke, so we were moved (without fuss), but into a much smaller room. There's no wi-fi in the rooms, and the plug-in internet was charged at an expensive rate. The room was designed so that by opening the bathroom door the light from the bathroom spread across the bed - a problem at night. The food and drinks were expensive and ordinary. There was no useful information in the rooms about local services, sights etc.The decor was a little drab. The changing rooms in the gym were so small, if there were two of you there you got in each others' way.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly and accommodating. It was clean. And it's well-placed in the town centre (which is grotty btw). The gym was well-equipped.

We went as a couple for a luxury break, and were disappointed. It's fine as a business hotel: functional without being special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batu Caves
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel is next to a shopping complex and restaurants. The market is only a five mins walk from the hotel. The room is very clean, spacious and comfortable. I would stay there again if I go to Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCYim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
2.6 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,061 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
661 reviews
14.9 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Property: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing