We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,690)
Filter reviews
1,690 results
Traveller rating
720
676
196
67
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
676
196
67
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view pedas oxtail rasam within walking distance club floor breakfast buffet gaya island seafood central location the executive lounge rain shower shopping mall suria sabah sunday market jesselton point spacious room
Filter
Updating list...
511 - 516 of 1,690 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

Rooms & bathrooms nice and clean. The room turn-down staff very friendly and professional. The air conditioning in the room could not be set - consequently the room was always uncomfortably warm. The buffets are over-priced and ordinary, with dirty napkins (they come with lipstick stains! Everyday!). Restraunt staff frequently directed us to sit in the outside area insteading of the dedicated dining area, even though tables were available. In the Club room, most staff are friendly and professional. However, there was an incident with a female staff during the afternoon tea-service where he refused to allow me to get the food laid out at 5.27PM, pointed to her watch and demanded I wait until exaxtly 5.30PM (by her personal watch) until eating. This was rude and embarassing to their guests, who have paid extra to access the Club. If the Club is so pedantic with their timing then they should provide a clock and clear signage (or perhaps a bell) in the Club room to inform their guests of the EXACT time they can access the food.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Bblack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2016

Dear Bblack O,


Thank you for taking the time to write your personal experience during your reccent stay with us. However I am most concerned to know about your disappointment in regards of our services were not up to your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. I can assure you that this is not the standard that we normally adhere to as our team members are encouraged to make every effort to exceed our customer’s expectations. We wish to engage with you in order to find out the root cause of your inconveniences. Please contact us at Kinabalu.regency@hyatt.com and we really wish to see how we can ensure your next stay is a much better one.


Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2016

First you got there, you will see the just so-so hotel building in the center town.

But once you check in, everything will be so perfect!

The staff at the reception with warm greetings.
Room is fantastic. Seaview will make you so much satisfied.

You can not miss the chance to have an wonderful hotel

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2016

Dear Camilla M,


Thank you for your feedback Camilla! It is our pleasure to be able to serve you. We are glad to learn that you are generally satisfied with our facilities and services. Our sea view room is the most popular room and I am pleased to know you are enjoying the view as much as we do. We hope to see you again on your next to Kota Kinabalu and Hyatt Regency Kinabalu.



Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

While the original hotel was opened in 1977 by Dr Mahathir the rooms especially have had a good modern refurbishment. They are also large. While only have basic Hyatt status both times I stayed I was upgraded to lounge access.

Would recommend this as a very cheap 4 to 5 star in KK.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TheFurryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2016

Dear TheFurryGuy,


Thank you for your kind words and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us – the first International hotel in Kota Kinabalu. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to see you in the near future.



Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2016

Locality has its advantages; and was very close to Gaya Market (sunday market). This area / locality of the hotel has numerous places for good affordable local food and restaurants . Stone throw away from the esplanade and sea front just across the street.

Lovely guest room, spacious and comfortable.

What I felt, was the front line service ie Check - in was rather slow. At that current time of check in counter was just manned by one staff. Looking behind me there were already more guest checking out.
To better improve, I felt the bell hops (young ladies in black suit) where not very articulate in answering info pertaining query such as locality, place of worship unlike the concierge (male counter part).

All said, Hyatt KK, is a good choice for travels to lovely Kota Kinabalu

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nativity_6759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2016

Dear Fabiandoh,



Thank you for your review! I am glad to know that you enjoyed our strategic location as much as everyone else. However I am most concerned to learn about your disappointment in regarding of the slow check-in issue. Please accept my sincere apologies. We truly appreciated your comment as it will assist us to continue to improve our level of service. We look forward for your next visit in the near future.


Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2016

The hotel could be classified as dated but not run down. It is well managed . Its location is and convenient to all shopping and personal needs. All western style amenities are available and the service although not exceptional is attentive and genuine.The breakfast ,lunch and dinner buffets is very satisfying and not to be missed. The rooms are large and very comfortable.

Room tip: choose with the sea view
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Apothecary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2016

Dear Apothecary84,



Thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad to know that you are generally satisfied with the overall hotel facilities and services. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience at out buffet show kitchen restaurant - Tanjung Ria Kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews