We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Its awesome to come back and received the same standard of warmth. The Club floor staff are friendly and amazing. View from the lounge is memorable and picturesque - it's more happening as compared to 3 years ago. Room remains fantastic and clean.
Location - walking distance to the mosque, markets especially the street seafood market.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zarinamir71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear zarinamir71,


Thank you for the review and kind words. It is a great pleasure to have you back and I am pleased to know that my team has served you well. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.



Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Rooms & bathrooms nice and clean. The room turn-down staff very friendly and professional. The air conditioning in the room could not be set - consequently the room was always uncomfortably warm. The buffets are over-priced and ordinary, with dirty napkins (they come with lipstick stains! Everyday!). Restraunt staff frequently directed us to sit in the outside area insteading of the dedicated dining area, even though tables were available. In the Club room, most staff are friendly and professional. However, there was an incident with a female staff during the afternoon tea-service where he refused to allow me to get the food laid out at 5.27PM, pointed to her watch and demanded I wait until exaxtly 5.30PM (by her personal watch) until eating. This was rude and embarassing to their guests, who have paid extra to access the Club. If the Club is so pedantic with their timing then they should provide a clock and clear signage (or perhaps a bell) in the Club room to inform their guests of the EXACT time they can access the food.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Bblack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Bblack O,


Thank you for taking the time to write your personal experience during your reccent stay with us. However I am most concerned to know about your disappointment in regards of our services were not up to your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. I can assure you that this is not the standard that we normally adhere to as our team members are encouraged to make every effort to exceed our customer’s expectations. We wish to engage with you in order to find out the root cause of your inconveniences. Please contact us at Kinabalu.regency@hyatt.com and we really wish to see how we can ensure your next stay is a much better one.


Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

First you got there, you will see the just so-so hotel building in the center town.

But once you check in, everything will be so perfect!

The staff at the reception with warm greetings.
Room is fantastic. Seaview will make you so much satisfied.

You can not miss the chance to have an wonderful hotel

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Camilla M,


Thank you for your feedback Camilla! It is our pleasure to be able to serve you. We are glad to learn that you are generally satisfied with our facilities and services. Our sea view room is the most popular room and I am pleased to know you are enjoying the view as much as we do. We hope to see you again on your next to Kota Kinabalu and Hyatt Regency Kinabalu.



Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

While the original hotel was opened in 1977 by Dr Mahathir the rooms especially have had a good modern refurbishment. They are also large. While only have basic Hyatt status both times I stayed I was upgraded to lounge access.

Would recommend this as a very cheap 4 to 5 star in KK.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank TheFurryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear TheFurryGuy,


Thank you for your kind words and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us – the first International hotel in Kota Kinabalu. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to see you in the near future.



Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Locality has its advantages; and was very close to Gaya Market (sunday market). This area / locality of the hotel has numerous places for good affordable local food and restaurants . Stone throw away from the esplanade and sea front just across the street.

Lovely guest room, spacious and comfortable.

What I felt, was the front line service ie Check - in was rather slow. At that current time of check in counter was just manned by one staff. Looking behind me there were already more guest checking out.
To better improve, I felt the bell hops (young ladies in black suit) where not very articulate in answering info pertaining query such as locality, place of worship unlike the concierge (male counter part).

All said, Hyatt KK, is a good choice for travels to lovely Kota Kinabalu

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nativity_6759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Fabiandoh,



Thank you for your review! I am glad to know that you enjoyed our strategic location as much as everyone else. However I am most concerned to learn about your disappointment in regarding of the slow check-in issue. Please accept my sincere apologies. We truly appreciated your comment as it will assist us to continue to improve our level of service. We look forward for your next visit in the near future.


Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The hotel could be classified as dated but not run down. It is well managed . Its location is and convenient to all shopping and personal needs. All western style amenities are available and the service although not exceptional is attentive and genuine.The breakfast ,lunch and dinner buffets is very satisfying and not to be missed. The rooms are large and very comfortable.

Room Tip: choose with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Apothecary84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Apothecary84,



Thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad to know that you are generally satisfied with the overall hotel facilities and services. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience at out buffet show kitchen restaurant - Tanjung Ria Kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Only arrived yesterday but are here for a week. We have a city view room and when we got to our room after 24 hours travelling we were not happy. The carpet appeared filthy, on the desk was a bowl of fruit swarming with ants and the glass panel in the bathroom I thought was dirty but in retrospect believe it was paint. We telephoned reception to complain and a person from reception came up with the bellboy. He showed us another room a few doors away whose carpet was exactly the same state as the previous room. He said was we could pay the difference and move to a club room. I asked if all the city view rooms had dirty carpets and he said yes!! Also the carpet in the main lobby is really dirty. Apart from the issue with the carpets and on the plus side;
the staff in all departments are lovely; very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is perfectly situated right in the centre of everything
Reading other people's comments though it would appear that this is the norm for Malaysia 5 star hotels. In my opinion it is not a 5 star hotel

Room Tip: Book a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 734Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Anna,


Thank you for providing feedback on your personal experience during your recent stay with us. However I am most concerned to know about your disappointment in regards of your allocated room was not up to your expectation. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. I can assure you that this is not the standard that we normally adhere to as our team members are encouraged to make every effort to exceed our customer’s expectations. We wish to engage with you in order to find out the root cause of your inconveniences. Please contact us at Kinabalu.regency@hyatt.com and we really wish to see how we can ensure your next stay is a much better one.



Warm regards,
Arifin Darmawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,265 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
365 reviews
2.7 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,455 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $153 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing