We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Well located in Kota Kinabalu with view on the sea and plenty of restaurants around.Service is excellent. There is a mall next door. breakfast is very varied and excellent. The city itself provides little exoticism and is quite dirty.

Room Tip: nice view from sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bruno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Bruno F,
Thank you for taking your time to give us a 5-star review regarding your recent stay. The hotel's central location provides guests with the convenience and access to various points of interest in the city. I am delighted to hear that our service provided from our staff was helpful and it reaches your expectations. Thank you for your honest review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

I had the opportunity to conduct a fitness session called Nirvana fitness for the employees of Hyatt and i must say that i am impressed by the hospitality of the staff at Hyatt. They are a bunch of happy people. If the management takes care of employees, it shows. I spoke to one staff and she said she has been working here since 4 years which is a lot of years especially in these uncertain competitive world.
I also dined in to have the buffet spread. It was really delicious! I loved their Indian tandoori Salmon fish! All the items were of high quality and really delicious. You can taste the freshness of the food. I cant wait to go back to KK once again to experince the Hyatt food! The staff took care of each guest in a special way

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank meera1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear meera1207,
On behalf of Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, we would like to give you an utmost congratulations and thank you for conducting the Nirvana fitness session for our employees. The session was exhilarating and fun to do, I am sure all of our staff feel the same about this. I am thrilled that our staffs were able to deliver an excellent service throughout your stay at our hotel. At Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, we believe that providing the best services to our guests is a top priority. I am glad to know that you enjoy the buffet spread at our award winning restaurant – Tanjung Ria Kitchen and I hope to welcome you back again in the future and we will make sure to create another wonderful moment for you.
Yours Sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

the best part is dinner buffet,tho not much choice,most foods are delicious n room shower in high standard.the public area like swimming pool,lounge n room corridor seems less invest into it.quite dated

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank terenceslk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear terenceslk,
Thank you for taking your time to give an honest review regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu. I am happy to know that you enjoyed the dinner buffet spread at our exciting show kitchen - Tanjung Ria Kitchen restaurant. As an award winning restaurant, we want to be able to provide the highest quality of food to our patrons so that they would come for more next time. However, I am most concern on your opinion regarding our public area. Nevertheless, being the town first 5 star hotel for almost 40 years in town, we are constantly upgrading the property. Thank you again for your review as we value your comments and we will take necessary actions to make improvement on these inadequacies. Do come back and visit us again in the future. We will make sure you will have another memorable stay with us again in Hyatt Regency Kinabalu.
Yours Sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

I enjoy familiarity and consistency . . . esp when establishments I stayed in are known for quality service. I would thus choose establishments which can deliver fuss-free, friendly, reliable service. Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu is one such establishment . . . clean, spacious and cosy rooms . . . good restaurant with tasty quality F&B . . . well mannered and helpful staff. A return stay is definitely on the cards.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank djain7276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear djain7276,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us throughout your stay in Hyatt Regency Kinabalu. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the quality services provided by our hotel staff satisfied your expectations. At Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, we believe that providing the best services to our guests is our top priority. I am also delighted to know that you are comfortable with the overall room condition and our tasty quality of Food and Beverage. Thank you once again for recommending Hyatt Regency Kinabalu and we hope to see you again very soon in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Tan H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed over the weekend for an event nearby the hotel, service was amazing reliable and polite staff. Rooms were newly refurbished from the last time i came Breakfast buffet was top class many to choose from and the sunset view from the pool was stunning

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tengku H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Tengku H,
Thank you for your 5-star reviews on Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, I am delighted to know that you are having a great time at our hotel. I am also pleased to know the facilities and services provided by our staff fulfilled your expectations. I am glad to hear that our breakfast buffet spread was a delight for you. I hope you enjoyed watching the chefs live in action at the show kitchen in the restaurant. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and courteous. Enjoyed a drink at the bar. Wine selection was good and enjoyed the atmosphere. The hotel room was spacious and comfortable. My room reservation wss handled efficiently.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Richard T,
Thank you for giving us an amazing 5-star review on your recent stay with. I am very thrilled to know that you enjoy your moment here at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu. At Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, we truly value our guest as we try to provide excellent hospitality to meet guest’s expectation. Thank you for highlighting the courteous service you received from the staff. Do come back and visit us again on your next travel to Kota Kinabalu and we will make sure you have another delightful stay.

Yours Sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,270 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
368 reviews
2.7 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,457 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
760 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kinabalu

Address: Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Jalan Datuk Salleh Sulong, Kota Kinabalu 88991, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: C$156 - C$391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience five-star Sabahan hospitality at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, the premier choice for business and leisure travellers to Sabah, the Land Below the Wind. This luxury hotel in Sabah is a mere 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, offering a central location in the heart of the city close to tourist attractions and stunning views of the famed sunsets in Kota Kinabalu. Unwind in one of our 288 spacious rooms and suites all exquisitely designed with sophisticated comfort in mind plus some of the best views in Kota Kinabalu including those of the sparkling South China Sea or the Kinabalu city surroundings. Dining options at our three Kinabalu restaurants and bars are a food aficionado's delight with some of the best food the city has to offer. Be it a dip in the blue waters of the outdoor pool, a relaxing massage at the Avantang Spa and fitness centre or a party at our Shenanigan's Fun Pub, our Kota Kinabalu hotel in Sabah has it all for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Kota Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing