We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveller rating
707
657
188
67
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
657
188
67
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewpedasoxtailrasamclub roomwithin walking distancebreakfast buffetgaya islandseafoodcentral locationshopping mallfilipino marketsuria sabahsunday marketjesselton pointle meridienkota
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2017

again, Hyatt did not disappoint my family and me.. our 3 nights stay was really great. great location and easy access to food and connected shopping mall.the food also nice.

high recommended to stay here if you are coming for business / holiday

Room Tip: high floor and sea view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shahrin_haron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Dear sharin_haron,
Thank you for taking your time to give us a 5-star review regarding your recent stay. The hotel's central location provides guests with the convenience and access to various points of interest in the city. Thank you for your honest review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another wonderful experience.

Yours sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2017

Our family stayed 3 nights in Hyatt. It has most central location, right next to Wisma Merdeka shopping mall. 500m to the Gaya Street and 500m to Suri Sabah . 1 min to the water front.
We had 2 city view connecting room and found the room most spacious. the room temperature cannot be controlled, we have to ask the maintenance team to adjust. No complaint but it can be very cold during night time 22degree
We skip the buffet breakfast cost 90 riggit per person. We had our breakfast at nearby coffee shop , which is opposite street . The coffee shop sell traditional noodle , porridge and bao at local prices. There is also 7 eleven and laudry shop ( 1 kg @ 3.8 riggit).Collection is 1 day. We found it very convenient and cheap.During our stay, it is raining every evening. The hotel provided umbrellas for guests to run across the street for KFC and little Italy and Fatty Kee. Very good location. The pool is small by my standard
The bed mattress is old and springy. The standard cannot be compared to Hilton or Le Meridien . But it is a good solid hotel in Town.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank WYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Dear WYL,
Thank you for taking your time to review and shared you experience during your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu. I agree that our hotel has the best in terms of location as we allowed our guest to explore local attractions with ease such as the shopping malls, convenient shops, restaurants and the Sunday market. However, I am most concerned to learn about your disappointment regarding the bed mattress. I can assure you that this is not the standard that the hotel generally adheres to. Nevertheless, being the town first 5 star hotel for almost 40 years, we are constantly upgrading the property. Thus, we will take the necessary actions to ensure that these incident do not happen again. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Kinabalu and we hope to see you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

We booked the suite room which is very large. Even the bathroom is as large as a bedroom. The breakfast at the hotel is the main attraction with varieties of delicious foods, western, oriental, japanese and local. 5 minutes walk to the seafood bazaar.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank MusKamalDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Dear MusKamalDiary,
Thank you for giving us your wonderful personal review regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu. I am very happy that you gave a 5 star review on our hotel. I am utmost pleased to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast at our exciting show kitchen – Tanjung Ria Kitchen and our facilities of our hotel. I could not agree further that our hotel is indeed strategically located that it makes it easier for our guests to explore what the city has to offer. Once again, thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Kinabalu as your preferred hotel in Kota Kinabalu and we hope to see you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2017

The refurbished rooms at this Hotel resembles the comforts of home. The decor is warm and comfortable. Room size seems to be bigger with the sliding bathroom door. The breakfast spread is fantastic. The sea view is simply breath-taking.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank 77ismaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2018

Dear 77ismaili,
Thank you for your astounding 5-star review on our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the overall condition of your room. I have to agree that the view we have facing the glorious South China Sea is breath-taking, especially during the sunset views. I am very happy that you enjoyed our service and please do come visit us again in the near future as we will be glad to welcome you back here.

Yours sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

The last time I stayed here was 7 years ago it was a tired old hotel then. A partial refurbishment has been taken place . I was in a club Rome. Very nicely job done . Large room and bed. Small but adequate breakfast and snacks in the evening at the CLUB lounge on the 13th floor. Full range of facilities and services. Information with pictures on hotel Web site . Ground floor completed with new layout and furniture . Same in lobby. Now a really good hotel located at the NE end of town. With MANY new Malls all over town and assorted god dining venues. Highly recommended .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank silverfox69brentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRKinabalu, Assistant Director of Rooms at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2017

Dear silverfox69brentford,
Thank you very much for spending your time to give us a 5-star review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am thrilled that you found that the room condition is comfortable and large for you. I am also glad that the breakfast and snacks provided in the club lounge are adequate for your appetite. Thank you for highlighting the changes you had seen since the last time you came to our hotel. Being the town’s first 5-star international hotel for almost 40 years, we are constantly upgrading the property to keep up with trends. Over the years, the city has developed and it makes our guest the convenient to explore what the city has to offer. Thank you once again for your honest review and I hope to see you once again at Hyatt Regency Kinabalu in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Olivia Cho
Assistant Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews