We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good good good”
Review of Yu Kee Bak Kut Teh

Yu Kee Bak Kut Teh
Ranked #28 of 722 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Very busy restaurant but serves the food really fast

You can order different parts of pork with the soup, all are in small portion, love them all

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank joanneHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 303 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2018

I am a Local and was a 15years loyal customer of this restaurant until 2 years ago.

During my last 2 visits at night, the soup was tasteless (maybe they added too much water to the soup) and they charge for extra soup (which was originally free). I was feeling ashamed because I brought my Japanese friends and Australian friends to this shop and both the groups complained about the food. And it ruined the name of "Kota Kinabalu Bah Kut Teh".

This place is always crowded with tourists, but you hardly see any LOCALs, this explains everything.

The boss should improve the quality & quantity of the food served, rather than just selling to the tourists as a one-time-profit.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TommyKo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

Everything is served in a modular form. The herbal soup was nice and strong, the meatballs were good and the pork ribs were alright.

Everything else is pretty basic, nothing pops up at you. The serving size is really small.
But the staff is friendly, service is efficient. Easy menu to decipher and order.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynnL1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2017 via mobile

This restaurant just below Borneo Gaya Lodge and had been served for 3 generations based on my parent knowledge. Genuine ceramics on each bowl of Bah Kut Teh had really rise up the Hong Kong restaurant sensation. The meals are tasty and very good for elders. The mixed of spices is mild to me but my parents love it. Any edible pork parts, as long you can named them, they are available. Cha Kuai and Tauhu also available upon order. Recommend one mixed pork parts for individual and three bowls for two persons, it is sure that the meal will fill your stomach. Few bucks and you are good to stay until tomorrow morning.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Kira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

A very traditional taste of Bak Kut Teh. You can taste strong herbal soup and perfect combination with pork.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Euglyn_7706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yu Kee Bak Kut Teh also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Yu Kee Bak Kut Teh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing