We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 night stay at Basga residences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 83 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2017

My wife and I arrived at Basaga at Midday on 19th March, having already stayed in Sabah the previous two weeks. Our room was still being cleaned and prepared for us, so we were going to leave our luggage and go out exploring, when Brandon Lim, part owner of the hotel appeared on the scene, and offered to take us into Kuching. This was the start of an amazing week, and this was all down to the kindness of Brandon. We have never had a service like this and we have done a lot of travelling over the years. Brandon took us to the local Sunday market, and then on to the lovely orchid gardens. He did this free of charge, and this service continued for the whole week, to such a degree that we class him as a true friend. We did four amazing trips with Brandon, and his fellow guide Tanty. They were both very knowledgeable and worked so hard. We did the following trips and every one of them was very good. We saw the orangutans at Semengogh. The boat trip on the Kuching wetlands where we saw the irrawaddy dolphins, the proboscis monkeys, crocodiles and the fireflies in the darkness. We went to Bako national park, which was also truly amazing with a guide Istmus that Brandon uses and saw the proboscis monkeys up close. Also saw silver leaf monkeys and the bearded pigs as well as many other animals. Then finally we went to the Saturday Indonesian market and on the way visited many caves and different villages. On top of this Brandon introduced to a whole plethora of lovely locall foods. We can recommend the top spot seafood on the sixth floor of the ITC buliding in Kuching, and also the premier 101 streethawkers food market. Both of these are excellent value for money. When you do tours with Brandon these are very special as he only does small groups. We did one tour with a very nice German couple and the others were just the two of us. Food I can recommend you try the Kolo Mee and the Laksa and Brandon will recommend the best places to sample these foods. We were very lucky as Brandon had the time to accompany us to these places. He never stops trying to help you and it is far more than we could have ever expected. Now for the place it self. We stayed in a deluxe veranda, overlooking the swimming pool. The rooms are big, the beds are very comfortable, and the shower room although slightly dated is more than adequate. It is very good value for money, and the swimming pool is a great way to cool down after a hot day's outing. Food is very good, as is the bar, and is very reasonably priced. The dining area is sheltered by the lovely gardens. The hotel is away from the main road and hence there is very little noise during the night. Just 15MR into town in a taxi, or a 20 minute walk if are up to it in the heat. If you have Uber it is 5MR. There is also a free shuttle service twice day. I can not emphasise how much fun we had, and it was down to Brandon. The first night we was there, he told us there was a Chinse festival procession, and he dropped us off in town. That was very special, and the local people are so friendly. All the staff are so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The poolside veranda rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mziton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

We enjoyed our comfortable and spacious room, the appealing pool and we found the leafy terrace an ideal place to relax in the evening. We used Uber to ride in and out of the city, so Basaga's location was perfectly convenient. Breakfast was basic (we would have enjoyed the addition of fresh fruit), but overall we felt our stay at Basaga represented very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have access to the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JerryBTW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The rooms are very basic but beds are OK and room clean enough. The restaurant and bar are set in really nice greenery, which was great since there was heavy rain daily during our visit. Instead of being stuck in the room, we could have dinner and drinks in the garden while still sheltered. Especially great not being stuck all day in a room with a 3-year-old!

Breakfast was not great but lunch and dinner was good.
Friendly staff and they can organize guided tours or a rental car as well.
There is a shuttle-bus into town twice daily and easy to take a taxi back.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms/Family Room are on the ground floor which means you occasionally hear a lot of stomp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

When we checked in, there is a friendly staff at the reception. When we got to the room, we found the door open wide but no one was there. It looked like it is in the middle of housekeeping but the housekeeper was not there. So i went to the bar area and told the staff there. We went back to check to the room and the housekeeper was there. Apparently she went to have lunch. Left the door open. I do not mind if the staffs wanted to have lunch but the very least clean up the room first.

The walkway needs more cleaning including the pool.

The room we had was poolside room. The room require a better lighting so it wont looked so gloomy.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Felicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

I am a female European in my late 60s independent solo traveller for several years and many countries. This is the friendliest place I have stayed. Brendan is an absolute gem...he works so hard to please everyone, he has an excellent network of well respected and very knowledgeable guides and contacts ensuring any tour he plans is perfectly stress free and gives exactly what it promises. And only 2 or3 people in a group.
I saw loads of orang utangs on my first day and at Bako managed to see proboscis monkeys, bearded pigs, silver leaf monkey , a snake and of course Macaques. Our boatman took us also to see the famous rock stacks too.
All of the hotel staff are also friendly and so helpful, everyone seems happy in their work Which creates a lovely relaxing atmosphere about the place, which the other guests seem to engage with too.
The hotel itself is a retreat away from the city, plenty of places to relax , surrounded by lush greenery, a great bar and decking area where breakfast is taken. Breakfast is lovely..not a vast array of things but freshly cooked eggs, omelette and pancakes, beans and non pork sausages, also noodles.
I ate at the hotel a couple of nights and the food was really good.
I stayed in a verandah room over looking the pool, it was huge , the bathroom could have done with a makeover but it added to the rustic charm of the place. The water was hot and the towels were clean! The bed was very comfortable.
I loved that I could sit on the verandah outside my room and read.
The wifi was good in parts and we did have a couple of power cuts but it is still monsoon season in Sarawak so to be expected.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a peaceful relaxing time amongst new friends.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 345JuneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Great staff, Excellent silence and a good size pool for after walks and tours. Good place to make it your base to explore Sarawak. They have outdoor bar, restaurant and a lounger area. Uber comes here easy. Walking distance to main Kuching sights. Although locals gasped that I walked everywhere.
People of Kuching are truly magical people. Too friendly so welcoming. Brendon who runs the place also does all day and various other tours of Sarawak. Will suit travellers looking to just rest in one place that is not expensive and is very quiet. Most off the people there were foreigners who were quiet type so which was good.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank JetSetter380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

First of all we would like to thank Brandon Lim and the rest of the staff at Basaga for making our stay a very enjoyable and pleasant one.
We had a mold problem with the first room we stayed in and when we made it known to the staff they immediately moved us to a much better room that had no problems whatsoever.
Brandon is the tour coordinator and part owner of Basaga and is now one of our friends for his honest work in keeping us occupied in a very wet period during our stay. It rained cats and dogs almost every day but this didn't stop us or the forethought and planning of Brandon. We were able to have a memorable trip to see the Orangutans at the Semenggok, the Sarawak Cultural Village, a river cruise to see the Irrawaddy Dolphins and Proboscis Monkey's.
The only thing that needs improving are the breakfasts and the menu options for lunch and dinner.
Highly recommend this pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: The bottom rooms on the back side have a mold problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Photodude45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.2 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,718 reviews
1.3 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,012 reviews
2 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
1.3 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
265 reviews
1.7 km away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Address: Lot 69-70 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $25 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing