We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$59
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Kuching(Kuching)
US$68
US$48
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$64
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$40
US$36
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$24
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$92
US$64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abell Hotel(Kuching)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$27/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$48
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kuching Waterfront Lodge(Kuching)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
294
167
39
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
167
39
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showercourtyard roombig treesswimming poola short taxi ridekuching city centrenice poollocal foodfamily roomlaksabako national parktop spotbrandonwilfredlimpoolsidesarawak
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 513 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2017

We enjoyed our comfortable and spacious room, the appealing pool and we found the leafy terrace an ideal place to relax in the evening. We used Uber to ride in and out of the city, so Basaga's location was perfectly convenient. Breakfast was basic (we would have enjoyed the addition of fresh fruit), but overall we felt our stay at Basaga represented very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have access to the veranda
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JerryBTW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2017

The rooms are very basic but beds are OK and room clean enough. The restaurant and bar are set in really nice greenery, which was great since there was heavy rain daily during our visit. Instead of being stuck in the room, we could have dinner and drinks in the garden while still sheltered. Especially great not being stuck all day in a room with a 3-year-old!

Breakfast was not great but lunch and dinner was good.
Friendly staff and they can organize guided tours or a rental car as well.
There is a shuttle-bus into town twice daily and easy to take a taxi back.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms/Family Room are on the ground floor which means you occasionally hear a lot of stomping and talking from above.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2017

When we checked in, there is a friendly staff at the reception. When we got to the room, we found the door open wide but no one was there. It looked like it is in the middle of housekeeping but the housekeeper was not there. So i went to the bar area and told the staff there. We went back to check to the room and the housekeeper was there. Apparently she went to have lunch. Left the door open. I do not mind if the staffs wanted to have lunch but the very least clean up the room first.

The walkway needs more cleaning including the pool.

The room we had was poolside room. The room require a better lighting so it wont looked so gloomy.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Felicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2017

I am a female European in my late 60s independent solo traveller for several years and many countries. This is the friendliest place I have stayed. Brendan is an absolute gem...he works so hard to please everyone, he has an excellent network of well respected and very knowledgeable guides and contacts ensuring any tour he plans is perfectly stress free and gives exactly what it promises. And only 2 or3 people in a group.
I saw loads of orang utangs on my first day and at Bako managed to see proboscis monkeys, bearded pigs, silver leaf monkey , a snake and of course Macaques. Our boatman took us also to see the famous rock stacks too.
All of the hotel staff are also friendly and so helpful, everyone seems happy in their work Which creates a lovely relaxing atmosphere about the place, which the other guests seem to engage with too.
The hotel itself is a retreat away from the city, plenty of places to relax , surrounded by lush greenery, a great bar and decking area where breakfast is taken. Breakfast is lovely..not a vast array of things but freshly cooked eggs, omelette and pancakes, beans and non pork sausages, also noodles.
I ate at the hotel a couple of nights and the food was really good.
I stayed in a verandah room over looking the pool, it was huge , the bathroom could have done with a makeover but it added to the rustic charm of the place. The water was hot and the towels were clean! The bed was very comfortable.
I loved that I could sit on the verandah outside my room and read.
The wifi was good in parts and we did have a couple of power cuts but it is still monsoon season in Sarawak so to be expected.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a peaceful relaxing time amongst new friends.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 345JuneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

Great staff, Excellent silence and a good size pool for after walks and tours. Good place to make it your base to explore Sarawak. They have outdoor bar, restaurant and a lounger area. Uber comes here easy. Walking distance to main Kuching sights. Although locals gasped that I walked everywhere.
People of Kuching are truly magical people. Too friendly so welcoming. Brendon who runs the place also does all day and various other tours of Sarawak. Will suit travellers looking to just rest in one place that is not expensive and is very quiet. Most off the people there were foreigners who were quiet type so which was good.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank JetSetter380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews