We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$64
US$51
Citadines.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Kuching(Kuching)
US$61
US$49
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$72
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$24
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$48
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abell Hotel(Kuching)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kuching Waterfront Lodge(Kuching)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$25
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse(Kuching)(Great Value!)
US$17
US$13
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
294
166
39
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
166
39
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showercourtyard roombig treesswimming poola short taxi ridekuching city centrenice poollocal foodfamily roomlaksabako national parktop spotbrandonwilfredlimpoolsidesarawak
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 512 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2017

Thankyou to the amazing guide Brendan for sharing your knowledge and passion for Kuching and Sarawak with us. It was one of the huge highlights of our 11 week Asian adventure. We stayed with our 3 kids in a connecting room by the pool which was in great repair each day. The accommodation was like a little oasis in the city being hidden away. Restaurant food was great quality and choose a meal for breakfast Malaysian dishes were the best.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 3kidswheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

We first stayed at Basaga in October 2015 and had a truly relaxing and wonderful time so it was an easy decision to book Basaga again when we (Wifey, Mr 15, Mr 13, Mother in Law and I) travelled back to Kuching this year.
The relaxed charm remains even though it appears there may have been a management change during the intervening two years. During our 2015 visit we booked into one of the poolside family rooms which turned out to be an excellent and practical choice. The family rooms comprise adjoining poolside and courtyard rooms which allows the kids to head out for an early morning/late evening swim without disturbing Wifey and I.
The poolside room, which as the name suggests opens right onto the pool, has two single beds, TV, small bar fridge, split system air-conditioning and a small bathroom with toilet and shower. The courtyard room has, as the name suggests, a courtyard with an outdoor shower (one of the things that Wifey really likes). The room has a queen-size bed (and a really comfy bed at that furnished with sufficient large fluffy pillows to accommodate a large mammal…I like to think I have my priorities right and a great night’s sleep is right up there when travelling), bar fridge, aircon, indoor toilet…pretty standard facilities but clean and comfortable.
This year we once again booked a family room for Wifey, the two boys and I, along with an additional poolside room for the Mother in Law. The rooms are the same as remembered…basic but comfortable and clean.
The restaurant at Basaga is one of the hotels many plusses (the pool, complimentary wifi, laundry service and complimentary daily shuttle service into the Kuching waterfront at 1015h and 1415h being some of the others). A large open air courtyard surrounded by a deck with tables and chairs for eating and lounges for, well, drinking and lounging. The menu is varied, the food is good, and the bar well stocked. They play a down tempo cruisy soundtrack and as the sun sets, the citronella candles are lit, and the mood lighting takes effect it really is a very easy place to unwind and chill after a day of sightseeing and bazaar walking.
If you’re looking for an alternative to a mainstream high rise hotel, but don’t quite fancy the B&B or home-stay vibe, then Basaga is an excellent compromise that we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Haus_Reverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

My 5th visit to Basaga!! Absolutely love the place. Always clean, always friendly. Pool is amazing, with magnificent trees overhanging, which provide some shade from the baking Sarawak sun. Very easy to get around from here with public transport aplenty. Eat at Top Spot (at least once). Go play indoor golf at The Swing Factory just next door ;)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

The room was great with amazing view and ambience. Great value for money. Food was amazing too. The hotel is 5 mins drive from city centre and is located in a peaceful neighborhood. The hotel also takes you back to the colonial times with its tasteful decor, and that's a bonus indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SamreenBhatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. The hotel itself is really nice, but what made the trip for us was Brandon. We went to Semenggoh with him (and saw 7 Orang Utans!) and he took us to Bako National Park too. He drove us to restaurants, and dropped us off and picked us up from a food festival that was on in Kuching. We can't thank him enough for making our trip, we tried to give him a small tip to show our gratitude but he wouldn't take it. Can't recommend staying here enough. Our room was basic, but comfortable and everything we needed. The restaurant has a good selection of tasty food, and breakfast was good too. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryellenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews