We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 83 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I heard many things about this place, some good, some bad. I, therefore, wanted to try Basaga myself and booked a room for a night. What a pleasant experience. Very friendly staff, efficient check-in, nice food, pleasant bar, clean room, overall a very cozy place that makes you feel welcome.
OK, the place is not one of these five-star international cold concrete hotel bunkers, it is more like a warm family run hotel at very modest prices. The rooms are basic but everything is functional and clean.
The reasonably sized pool is set in between some large trees and when the wind is blowing, the pool gets a shower of leaves. However, early in the morning, the pool was cleaned in time for me to have an early morning swim. The hotel was situated some distance from the town center but a 30 min walk or a short Taxi ride can get you there. There are a number of interesting restaurants and eating places nearby."Spring", a very nice and modern Shopping Mall as well as a large Chinese Market can be reached on foot in 10 Minutes. For travelers wanting to explore attractions further away, the hotel even offers a small car for hire at very competitive rates.
Overall, a very pleasant experience for a budget price. I would highly recommend this place for everybody seeking a warm and cosy stay even when not traveling on a small budget.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017

Thankyou to the amazing guide Brendan for sharing your knowledge and passion for Kuching and Sarawak with us. It was one of the huge highlights of our 11 week Asian adventure. We stayed with our 3 kids in a connecting room by the pool which was in great repair each day. The accommodation was like a little oasis in the city being hidden away. Restaurant food was great quality and choose a meal for breakfast Malaysian dishes were the best.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 3kidswheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We first stayed at Basaga in October 2015 and had a truly relaxing and wonderful time so it was an easy decision to book Basaga again when we (Wifey, Mr 15, Mr 13, Mother in Law and I) travelled back to Kuching this year.
The relaxed charm remains even though it appears there may have been a management change during the intervening two years. During our 2015 visit we booked into one of the poolside family rooms which turned out to be an excellent and practical choice. The family rooms comprise adjoining poolside and courtyard rooms which allows the kids to head out for an early morning/late evening swim without disturbing Wifey and I.
The poolside room, which as the name suggests opens right onto the pool, has two single beds, TV, small bar fridge, split system air-conditioning and a small bathroom with toilet and shower. The courtyard room has, as the name suggests, a courtyard with an outdoor shower (one of the things that Wifey really likes). The room has a queen-size bed (and a really comfy bed at that furnished with sufficient large fluffy pillows to accommodate a large mammal…I like to think I have my priorities right and a great night’s sleep is right up there when travelling), bar fridge, aircon, indoor toilet…pretty standard facilities but clean and comfortable.
This year we once again booked a family room for Wifey, the two boys and I, along with an additional poolside room for the Mother in Law. The rooms are the same as remembered…basic but comfortable and clean.
The restaurant at Basaga is one of the hotels many plusses (the pool, complimentary wifi, laundry service and complimentary daily shuttle service into the Kuching waterfront at 1015h and 1415h being some of the others). A large open air courtyard surrounded by a deck with tables and chairs for eating and lounges for, well, drinking and lounging. The menu is varied, the food is good, and the bar well stocked. They play a down tempo cruisy soundtrack and as the sun sets, the citronella candles are lit, and the mood lighting takes effect it really is a very easy place to unwind and chill after a day of sightseeing and bazaar walking.
If you’re looking for an alternative to a mainstream high rise hotel, but don’t quite fancy the B&B or home-stay vibe, then Basaga is an excellent compromise that we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Haus_Reverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

My 5th visit to Basaga!! Absolutely love the place. Always clean, always friendly. Pool is amazing, with magnificent trees overhanging, which provide some shade from the baking Sarawak sun. Very easy to get around from here with public transport aplenty. Eat at Top Spot (at least once). Go play indoor golf at The Swing Factory just next door ;)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The room was great with amazing view and ambience. Great value for money. Food was amazing too. The hotel is 5 mins drive from city centre and is located in a peaceful neighborhood. The hotel also takes you back to the colonial times with its tasteful decor, and that's a bonus indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SamreenBhatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July. The hotel itself is really nice, but what made the trip for us was Brandon. We went to Semenggoh with him (and saw 7 Orang Utans!) and he took us to Bako National Park too. He drove us to restaurants, and dropped us off and picked us up from a food festival that was on in Kuching. We can't thank him enough for making our trip, we tried to give him a small tip to show our gratitude but he wouldn't take it. Can't recommend staying here enough. Our room was basic, but comfortable and everything we needed. The restaurant has a good selection of tasty food, and breakfast was good too. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryellenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Just occasionaly we met brandon in a cafe. Thanks for that. Because without him we wouldnt have found that top spot in Kuching. It s like an oasis in the town. Nice pool. And they help you to plan some tours around.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Andreas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.2 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,719 reviews
1.3 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,012 reviews
2 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
1.3 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
265 reviews
1.7 km away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Address: Lot 69-70 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $25 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing