We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
159
24
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
24
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kubah national park loved the freedom long house boat ride stayed nights olivia bungalow garmin accommodation bako sarawak mozzies jungle washing homestay treks
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 187 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here with our 2 boys, aged 10 and 13, for 5 nights in August 2011. All of it was wonderful - Adrian had lots of suggestions for things to do and still allowed us time to just relax. Loved the day trip to the island on the boat (and the lovely satay lunch cooked for us on the beach), the evening trip to the frog pond, the trip to the border market (complete with crocodile penises for sale) and bat caves. Highlights were the dogs, Eddie's cooking, snakes at sunset and use of the boat to go crocodile spotting in the mangrove swamps (one spotted at great distance!). We stayed in Adrian's bungalow and particularly enjoyed sitting outside just listening to the jungle. This is an experience that allows you a glimpse of farmstead life and the jungle so be prepared for heat (the fans are fine), biting insects and jungle noises at night. We would all love to return. Thank you again Adrian. The Malin family

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 669JoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in Olivia's bungalow with grandparents and 2 small children. As others here have noted, the hospitality on the farm is first class.

Food is lovely and Adrian and his family accommodate all your requests. Adrian's daughter spent a lot of time just giving us lifts to nearby places, and for trips further out Adrian organised a car & driver who turned out to be a knowledgeable guide.

Traveling with young kids the drive to Semenggoh and Cultural village were a bit much, but definitely worth the trip.

As farm stays go, the Kebun is up there with the best.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PolarBear00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed in Olivia's bunkhouse for 2 nights in April this year. After reading so many positive descriptions about Kebun. I honestly expected people had been exaggerating, however was amazed to discover not only was it true some aspects were even better. Hosts like Adrian and his family really understand what hospitality is all about. Whilst staying at Kebun we were able to enjoy some brilliant bush walks in national parks and swims in waterfalls which we would not have known about without their inside knowledge. Adrian really helps you stretch your travel dollar further with some great tours and stopping at local eateries where his wisdom in ordering meant we enjoyed many foods we would otherwise not have tried. The river cruise he recommended was brilliant! Irrawaddy dolphins, fireflies, crocodiles, proboscis monkeys and a guide who was happy to answer our many questions. We were also very fortunate in being able to see a rafflesia flower (the largest flower in the world - only flowers for 7 days and takes 9 months to bloom) whilst there. Again this opportunity may not have presented itself without Adrian's inside knowledge. If your looking for a great place to stay and hosts who will feed you well whilst ensuring you get the most out of this brilliant area in the world then Kebun is for you. I can't guarantee you'll see a Rafflesia , however, I can say you will take away very cherished memories. Thanks again Adrian and all the staff at Kebun. We hope our paths cross again someday. PS forgot to mention Adrian's excellent sense of humour! He really put a smile on our faces.

Stayed: April 2012
6  Thank Jenny Kingsclif... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed in Adrian's bungalow for 4 nights with a friend and then stayed on after she went home.
Adrian and his family are generous, good humoured and friendly hosts. They went out of their way to make sure we got the best out of Kuching without having to go through the tour companies. Being guided by locals with inside knowledge (and foodie tips) was so much better than a one size fits all package deal and a lot less damaging to my bank balance. Staying 40 mins drive out of town was not an issue as there was always somebody needing to go somewhere and it was easy to just jump in the car and go along for the ride. Perhaps to see Orangutans, or Proboscis monkeys at Bako or just to wander around town.
This is a working farm homestay and not a resort so come with realistic expectations and you will have a fantastic time in Kuching.
The bungalow was regularly cleaned and serviced, with food restocked and clothes collected for washing as often as needed. Adrian's bungalow is open to the insects. Mosquito nets and coils are provided. There is no air conditioning but the fans were perfectly adequate.
Meals were either delivered to the bungalow set down by the river or at the main table with the family +/- other guests. There was a selection of popular books, dvd's and a comfy hammock on the deck for taking it easy. Plenty of time was spent here just unwinding as my holiday drew to a close, while other days were packed wth activities.
Don't expect a quiet night of sleep though. This is a working farm with turkeys, roosters, geese, etc.
The longhouse is charmingly fitted out and I was fortunate enough to be there for a blessing ceremony.
The other guests who came through were all social and it was great to meet people with similar interests from different backgrounds, especially when I reverted to a solo guest.
It is worth visiting the orangutans on multiple days as each day is different.

Room Tip: Choose Adrian's for seclusion, Olivia's for air conditioning and less insects, or the long house for something more novel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eatingtravellingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My son and I spent 3 nights at the Kebun in one of the longhouse rooms and loved it. It was just how you imagine a Longhouse would be with loads of authentic artifacts,a relaxing hammock and a log fire which was lit each evening to deter the bugs and smoke the heads hanging above it! Our room was clean and comfortable with mosquito nets over the beds and a small washbasin. The shared showers and toilets, again kept very clean, were just a few steps away. Breakfast was served every morning at low tables on the veranda whilst lunch and dinner were taken at a large communal table near the main house. The food was delicious with generous portions and plenty of choice. Adrian, Olivia and their daughter were charming hosts who made us most welcome. Adrian has an amazing store of anecdotes and stories which he is happy to share. He personally picked us up from Bako, dropped us at the airport and also took us to the hot springs (slightly disappointing, the creek at the Kebun is just as nice) and Annah Rais longhouse, he also arranged a driver to take us the Orang Utans nearby, the cost of which we able to share with other guests. There is plenty to do in the area but do check on the driving times/distances as some attractions would be better visited from Kuching.

Room Tip: Go for the longhouse if you enjoy glamping, if you need more facilities check out the bungalows
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews