We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
159
24
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
24
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kubah national park loved the freedom long house boat ride stayed nights olivia bungalow garmin accommodation bako sarawak mozzies jungle washing homestay treks
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 187 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We loved our stay at The Kebun. Like they say "this is not a hotel or resort" - in reality it is a small piece of heaven! You are in the jungle so there will be bugs and weak internet connection, however, the mosquito coils work wonders and it is the perfect escape from the chaos of life.

The entire staff is *amazing*!!! I miss the daily chats with Janet. Wonderful homemade bread delivered in the morning, tasty lunches and dinners if you are onsite. The cars each have their own personality and the GPS and cell phone provided helps so much when navagating to all the wonderful destinations around Kuching...with destinations already programmed into the GPS.

My only wish is that we would have had more time at The Kebun. The land is beautiful - gardens are plentiful. Miss it there dearly and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Headhunter Lodge - wonderful large room with in room bathroom. The open air kitchen area is so relaxing - mornings are wonderful with the stream, warm bread, and coffee.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubavagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at "The Kebun" I really wish we could've stayed much longer. Such a wonderful staff. With rental car included in price made exploring the local areas very easy! Staff was very accommodating and prepared excellent meals for us! Centrally located between all the major attractions in Kuching.

Room Tip: The longhouse is perfect for families with children as it has two bedrooms and its own bathroom/shower.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadsIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is not a hotel or a resort. The place is great for what it is; pure and honest. For me this place was like a warm blanket, so homely. The owners are wonderful people. Thanks again for the birthday cake! Janet is a great host! Thanks Janet for the crocodile hunting! We planned 7 but stayed 11 nights. Dinner is simple, but healthy. Lunch is noodles or fried rice or so. Breakfast is the best for us European with homemade bread and all the things provided in the fridge like sausage,milk, eggs and cheese. With the provided car you can explore the area. Most activities are within 1 hour driving. Be aware that the Internet signal is very weak, mosquitoes are there but no malaria. Thanks, all of you at the Kebun!

Room Tip: In the longhouse you have most contact with other travellers. That can be very good or not at all. For us; we loved having talks around us.
Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Miekecamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We booked initially for 4 nights at "The Kebun" and ended up staying 10. This alone should be evidence enough that we loved this place. It is ideally situated for all the trips suggested in the booklet provided by Adrian. We would advice you read this well when you arrive as it proves to be extremely helpful. Adrian, his wife Olivia and all the staff are extremely helpful and if there is anything you need they will help you straight away. We suggested it might be a good idea to have more 3 pin plugs (was not that important) yet the next day they appeared out of nowhere. If you like nature, fantastic service, good food, enjoy a car for exploring and want to meet other travellers...this is the place to go. We are definitely going back to "The Kebun"
The gardeners are doing a great job too and the grounds including the fish ponds are in an immaculate condition and is really inviting for strolling around or try your hand at some fishing. There are many things provided complimentary which other places might charge for: Special Soaps, home made Rice wine, free post cards, fishing rods and a packed lunch if you go on a day trip. The cooking classes can be arranged and proved a real success. All in all:
Thanks to everybody at the Kebun for making this one of our nicest trips so far in S-E Asia.
Hope to see you guys in our home in Langkawi soon. PS.: Lime trees have survived

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank www2expatscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Upon our arrival, we were so shocked to see the wonderful farm because it is even more beautiful than on the website. Me and my kids, stayed over Olivia's bungalow for 5 nights and the last night we stayed at Kebun Residences because we had an early flight the next day. This was so convenient for us because the the place is only around 10-15 minutes away from the airport.

In the Kebun, the staff there were so nice and friendly. Unexpectedly for a farm, it was maintained very well.This probably explains why there weren't a lot of mosquitoes around our area as well. We were recommended by Adrian to go for the mangrove cruise which me and my boys had so much fun doing! We were even lucky to see some dolphins and the beautiful fireflies at night. It was the peak of our whole experience especially for my boys. Some places I really recommend to visit is the Bako national park and the Semenggoh wildlife centre, it was such an amazing experience for me and my boys to see an orang utan up close in front of us. We also visited the Chinese temple that is very nearby Bako national park and had one of the best seafood I've tasted! And honestly, I was quite nervous navigating around Kuching for the first time but it was all good because the car was wired with a Garmin and also comfortable plus easy to drive with.

Now that we're back home, my boys could not stop talking about the amazing food and especially the goreng pisang that one of the staff, Lela, made for us everyday during the evening time. The boys really enjoyed the BBQ night that we had, they had a chance to BBQ their own chicken wings and it was all good fun.

Thank you so much Adrian, Lela and the other staffs for making our stay comfortable and memorable, we will definitely recommend you.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yanti_Diandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews