We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
158
24
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
24
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskubah national parkloved the freedomlong houseboat ridestayed nightsoliviabungalowgarminaccommodationbakosarawakmozziesjunglewashinghomestaytreks
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 186 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

My family (5 and 7) and I visited Kuching for 5 days for the first time and stayed in Kebun for 3 nights after spending 2 nights in the city. Adrian was an excellent host who was very generous and genuine from the start.

We had wonderful and delicious home cooked meals, fruits and snacks prepared by Janelle every evening and there is always more than enough! Our favourites dishes are the mutton stew and fried quails ! The dishes were so delicious we even invited Janelle to come visit with us in Singapore.

My girls are thrilled with the many dogs in the farm that are adopted by Adrian. Both girls have a favourite dog by the end of our stay. Adrian brought the two girls to pluck cucumbers and see fishes which was new and interesting for them.

As the Kebun is a working farm, there are poultry at the other end that have strong smell and mosquitoes. However, these did not affect us from our Olivia bungalow.

Adrian even went around searching for durians after knowing it’s my husbands favourite. He was also very kind to provide Panadol from his first aid box when I was down with headache on the first day.

All in all it was a great experience living as country folks and we came back to Singapore with Adrian and Janelle as our new friends.

P.s bring mosquitoes repellent and plastic /rubber slippers for use in the bathroom

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jacqueline_Wil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Our time at the Kebun was the highlight of our Sarawak experience. I chose it after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and checking out Adrian's website as we were looking for something a little bit different and authentic for our 2 girls aged 10 and 15. Rooms in big hotels are not our style! We could not have been happier with our choice. The Kebun is a gem. From start to finish Adrian and Janelle treating us like kings and queens. The accommodation is out of this world unique, peaceful, surrounded by plants/wildlife and full of interesting collectables. The gardens and grounds are a delight. We had a 2 roomed long house over a stream with every amenity. We were comfy, no mossies, had wifi, powerful, hot water showers, it was totally relaxing. In the quaint kitchen end we had all the tea/coffee/cereal/toasts/snacks/beers we could possibly need. Fresh fruit was put in our fridge everyday with extra local sweet treats from Adrian's trip to the local market. Adrian even went to the trouble to get a cake for my husband's birthday and a Kek Lapis too when he told Adrian how much he loved those.The freshly cooked, delivered evening meals were authentic and delicious and Janelle looked after our every need from setting our sat nav/Garmin to doing our washing. The car was a great bonus and we had no trouble finding our way around. We loved the freedom to explore and Adrian has prepared a guide for visitors with local places you can easily drive to. He pre arranged to meet us at the Santubong peninsula, took us to a great local place to eat (and treated us!), booked local trips for us like the frogging expedition at Kubah National Park (amazing). We only wish we had longer. This was an unforgettable and unique experience for us and we will definitely be back. Adrian and Janelle are the warmest, kindest and most genuine hosts you will ever meet. Thank you both for so many memories in Sarawak.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairewigley2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

Only four hours after leaving Singapore, we were settled into our lodge, eating local fresh fruit and enjoying a delicious home cooked meal.
The service we received from Adrian and his team was perfectly balanced, always there when we needed them, but leaving us with plenty of space.
The location and facilities are amazing, scenery, space, a meandering river, plenty of room for the kids to play, plus things for the kids to play with. the only thing we would change is to put a shower unit into the wetroom, to contain the splashing and spray to keep the floor dry.
Adrian provides a detailed giude to all of the local activities, and having a car provided as part of the deal enabled us to have loads of epic adventures.
For anyone wanting a family farmstay adventure in Asia, I think this is perfect!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2016 via mobile

As four brothers and sisters who live in different parts of the world we came to meet at the Kabun.
It was the most meaningful holiday we have ever had. We loved the generosity, simple care and and we long to return. We can't imagine a better way to experience Sarawak.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Adventurer654307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Highly recommend the Kebun as a base to explore the region. The accommodation is great and includes a lovely garden and farm setting which is great to explore. We stayed in both bungalows, adrian's creates an amazing other world feeling, beautifully decorated and built from gorgeous timber. Oliviias like stepping into a purposely constructed 80's movies set. Great hosts who will ensure you are looked after. Food was a delight, lots of lovely fruit, and lovely dinners with great variety. and catered for vegos as well.

The Kebun provides you with a car (and for us kiddies seats) as well as everything you need to get around (garmin) easily. we really enjoyed having the car to drive where we wanted and enjoyed driving around sarawak. driving was surprisingly easy, very polite driving culture - and no dramas at all.

Wifi not so great at the kebun itself, but if you are on holidays enjoy the break from the wifi and if you need it you can get it on the phone (provided by the kebun) when you are out and about during the day if you really need it.

easy to do laundry too.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews