We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
137
305
205
89
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
305
205
89
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilltop pool hill top sarawak cultural village superior poolside chalet rooms upper pool the south china sea shuttle bus mount santubong poolside room seafood egg station rainforest world music festival connecting rooms local food national park kuching city
Filter
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 802 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Damai Beach Resort is no spring chicken. It's been here since the 80s and while in regular people years being 40 isn't old at all, it can be in beach resort years!

Happily enough, the Resort does not show too much of its age. Responsible management has resulted in good maintenance and regular upgrades of its physical appearance. There are of course some signs of wear and tear around the Resort but not in the rooms.

Our favourite has always been the Poolside Rooms closest to the pool (duh?) and restaurants. Incidentally, they're also the oldest. However, you wouldn't be able to tell its age. The a/c worked well, the bathroom was clean and stayed dry, the television worked well - but who would want to watch TV at Damai??? The king-sized bed (with four pillows!) was comfortable and extremely inviting each time we entered the room! There's also a two seater couch which could easily fit a sleepy small child, a working fridge, iron and ironing board.

The beach has and is one of the nicest and safest around this part of Borneo. Currents in the water were pretty significant when the tide's receding but Civil Defence lifeguards do keep an eye out for swimmers in trouble. We even saw them intervening before trouble happened and that's a good sign.

Breakfast was provided for and while the food was satisfactory, service could have been better upon guests arriving at the entrance & waiting to be seated. Having only one member of staff doing that caused a line to form when there were clearly more staff available to step in on a "as needed" basis.

We checked-in after work and thus, there were no lines but, it still took at least 10 minutes to check each guest in. And, even longer checking-out. Again, the problem was similar to that faced at the restaurant. The line at the check-in was zero, while check-out had 7 guest standing in a queue. The hotel should allow their staff to multi-task between checking-in and out as and when it is needed. Clearly, 7 levels deep isn't a good thing for tired guests waiting to leave! However, staff was courteous and apologetic so that made up for the wait.

Damai Beach Resort used to be a quiet getaway but with the opening of a public area next door, things have changed. So if you're looking for a quiet place to enjoy the sun and sea, Damai's no longer first choice. However, it is still a nice family resort - screaming kids friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andeeyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A week away with my wife. We were allocated a cliff top room with excellent views of the entire area from our balcony. The resort is clean, well maintained, the staff very friendly and helpful, restaurants and bars presented a good variety of local and western food and drinks. A problem with our aircon was fixed promptly, as were a couple of issues we had with internet connections. Weekends were busy, with many locals using the resort for beach access (not a problem though), week days relatively quiet. Overall, a wonderful, relaxing week away at an excellent resort in a beautiful area. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Cliff top rooms have excellent views from the balcony, and are quieter than those near the main building
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jetjock51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This hotel was so great the staff were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble. We had a problem with the first bungalow as aircond didnt work. So let them know and we were moved to a even better bungalow(chalet) almost on the water and it was amazing looking out the window over the bay the window was so big it was like it wasnt there.The restaruants were so good we tried all 3 and couldnt fault them, other than we were alot of the time the only ones or 2 of the 6 in them. The food for a hotel was so well priced even the drinks. The Damai Cocktail was sooo good. The hotel is away out but the ride has great scenery to look at along the way. The shuttle driver also was great he gave us local info and stopped for us to take photos. Walking around the hotel you see how big it is they even shuttle you up to the top pool.Great view. If you really need time out and time to think you will get it here. Will stay again and recomend highly even if abit tired its still great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arvburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Went to Damai beach resort with my family and friends, a total of 8 person on march 2012. Had a great time staying in the Chalet facing the sea. We stayed in the chalet, near to the beach which have 3 rooms connected to one another. Great for family or even if going with your friends. Facility over at the resort is still ok, not fantastic but not too bad as well. Indeed, if you like peace and quiet, you should probably stay there during the weekdays because during the weekend, the whole place comes to life with tons of guests and staff running around, seems like that are a little short handed during weekends though.

Room Tip: If traveling in a big group, you can try the chalet as it has 3 room which are connected to one another. 2 of which is facing the sea with king size bed and the other room with 2 queen size bed.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andytanmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Booked thru from agent with great deal!My booking was chalet type facing the seaview!I notice this hotel was good for relaxing.Having dinner at cafe satang,the service there provided to the guest was slow.Staff was chatting to each other without given service to the guest.I need to go to cashier counter to ask my bill.Mango tree bar was great, thank to CHALIE for the cocktail.He do extra miles to provided good service.Next morning housekeeping maid clean my room without knocking my door,she just enter my room.Never said sorry to the guest.Even asking me if I don't need room to be clean, offer change towel only.I also ex housekeeping staff before, but I know the procedure. Overall I think,there need more training to provided costumer services!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews