We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
340
159
33
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
159
33
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews standard suite elizabeth suite the river reading room main bazaar lovely boutique tour desk laksa shop houses carpenter street parliament building small hotel a wonderful place to stay breakfast was delicious easy walking distance lovely room location is fantastic
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 553 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Kuching was a nice diversion from the routine busy and fast moving Capital cities in SE Asia. Ranee boutique added to the charm. We liked the room we stayed , it was big and cozy for 3 of us. The linen and towels were fresh , the small ante room open to balcony was a nice diversion. The breakfast options to vegetarians like us was limited , but it did not bother us too much. Transport options through Uber and Grab were excellent.

Room Tip: Deluxe Family
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank seshancg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Dear seshancg,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

It is really nice to know that you liked our only Deluxe Family Suite and that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranee.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Kuching next.

Please do let our F&B team know should you wish to have vegetarian dishes for breakfast. All the Mains are cooked to order, thus it can easily be adjusted to suit our guests.

From the Ranee Team, Terima Kasih!

Kind Regards,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for 4 nights and had room 201 looking straight out onto the Parliament and the New Bridge.

The Location: the best location out of all the hotels - this hotel is up opposite the Parliament and next to where the action is in the evening. The Hilton, Majestic and all the big standard ones are clustered at the other end of town - not really an issue as it is quite a small town (well the touristy bits are) but The Ranee is nicely away from all the big “package” hotels and that is very good. There are some great restaurants all within a 5 to 10 minute walk. Another upside is that the busses coming back from out of town attractions seem to drop everyone off just round the corner from the hotel - which is very valuable after a long day wandering around a Park or similar.

The Hotel: about 20 rooms so a nice size and put together out of a few “shop-houses” put together. It is a nice laid back hotel that runs pretty efficiently behind the scenes - the evening cocktails are very nice and well worth having one (or two) before you head out of an evening; the breakfast is varied and changes daily with a selection of 4 choices for a cooked-option (usually a western one, a pancake + fruit one and two local ones - one with and one without meat) very nice. There is a sitting area on the 1st floor which was a nice place to relax and get out of the room. It also has a pretty comprehensive bookshelf with books that you can swap when you have finished the one you arrived with ...... great facility.

We paid about £55/night and I thought it was very good value.

The staff were excellent - friendly without being too intrusive. Excellent.

A couple of downsides - we were in room 201 which was in the corner and the hotel Wi-fi did not really reach the room - it was perfectly good everywhere else just not in the room ....... not really a big problem but should be easily fixed. The other downside is that the front rooms look out onto the main drag in Kuching so it can be quite noisy at night and early in the morning - in my view compensated for by the great views from the window of the Parliament ...... but if you are a light sleeper get a room at the back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Gavin J,

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review!

Please accept our apologies about the Wi-Fi. Our Wi-Fi strength is usually strong but sometimes when the service provider does some upgrading works, the strength tends to slow down considerably. Every floor has it's own modem and Wi-Fi reaches all the rooms. We will definitely look into why it did not reach your room when you were in-house.

We are really glad that both of you enjoyed your stay, the daily breakfast and our Reading Area, which is a favourite chill-out area of many of our in-house guests! :-)

We hope both of you had a great time in Kuching and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Till then, a humongous Thank You from the Ranee Team!

Kind Regards,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Very comfortable room and nice designed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was above average what we have experienced in Borneo. Value for money was definitely five star. Next time in Cuching we will absolutely be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Peter E,

Thank you for the very nice review!

We are happy to know that you liked your stay here and that you enjoyed the daily complimentary breakfast provided.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back! Do write to us when you have decided on the dates. :-)

From the Ranee Team, Terima Kasih!!

Best Wishes,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights after spending time at the Permai Rainforest resort in a tree house!

Hotel was lovely and room spacious and very smart . Only problem was a beam between the bedroom and the roof garden that meant you had to crawl on hands and knees.

Hotel lacked atmosphere - perhaps an unusually quiet period when we stayed but it was a bit sterile. We had a late checkout for an evening flight and were charged half a day rate for leaving at 5pm. All staff were very friendly and welcoming however.

Glad we didn’t stay in the Hilton but ended up walking that way to get the good restaurants. Ate at the Ranee the first night and food was good but portion size small - it’s more of a bistro

We’d stay again, perhaps at a different time of year next time - maybe it would get the 5 stars it deserves!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Dear Martin D,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranee.

We are located in 2 intermediate 19th century shop-lots. Building beams during those days were quite different from now. The area outside the suite that you stayed in was huge and we thought it was quite a waste to not utilize it. Thus, the huge balcony was constructed. However, the beam could not be taken away as it holds the building together. Most guests just bend down to go out to that balcony for fresh air and for the view. We are so sorry to know that you had to crawl on your hands and knees.

Thank you for wanting to stay with us again on your next visit. Do let us know when and we will recommend the suite to suit your preference (depending on availability).

Till then, the Ranee Team wishes you all things nice and beautiful!

Kind Regards,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and recommend it highly. The staff are helpful, the location is very central to the old town and the riverside and the decor is very attractive.
The rooms are spacious and everywhere is immaculate. It was quiet at night and our room had a airy balcony that was an ideal place to sit with a drink at the end of the day. Much prefer this kind of hotel to the bland larger hotels, easily makes up for lack of a pool.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank valerie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

Dear valerie g,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

We are really happy that The Ranee has your stamp of approval. The Ranee being in the city centre, along the Kuching Waterfront Esplanade, is just a few steps away to almost everything; souvenir shops, shopping malls, museums, restaurants, hawker centres, pubs, churches, temples... the list goes on :-)

Please do let us know when you return to Kuching for another visit. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

From The Ranee Team, Terima Kasih!

Kind Regards,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews