We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to unwind”
Review of The Village House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village House
Ranked #5 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

A beautiful little hotel about 40 minutes out of Kuching centre.
The room was great, the 4 post bed was comfy( and squeaky!) The air con was a great relief. The bathroom was clean and the linen was fluffy.

The staff were very attentive and friendly. On site they have a kitchen you can order reasonably priced food and there is a bar that is also well priced. I really enjoyed the food but I didn't trying any western dishes other than a sandwich. When we left for our red-eye flight the staff gave us sandwiches for the trip.

There are some deck chairs around the pool that are shaded and the pool is clean, warm and adds to the overall relaxing vibe.
There's beautiful gardens too. The ponds and fountains also added to the relaxing nature.

I would recommend this to anyone that wants to unwind and relax.

They also run trips from the hotel to all the major touristy bits and they can book taxis and airport transfers.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank neonblue3612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

If you're at the end of your trip and want to do nothing and read a book in peace. This is for you.

In a nutshell:
Pros.
- Remote location.
- Peaceful (unless prayer time annoys you over loud speaker nearby)
- Nice setup.
- Pool.

Cons:
- 1 hour away from Kuching. Total $60 taxi ride in and back. Taking 2 hrs out of your day.
- You will wake early if light sleeper due to pray speaker. (I didn't mind it though).
- All food and drink purchased from the resort. (And was rather pricey and not as tasty as traditional street food I've had).
- No internet to plan anything. And the signal they had was limited to the restaurant. Still didn't work though. This also meant all your excursions had to be booked through the accommodations own tour business.
- Beach wasn't appealing. But I'm from Australia where beaches can be amazing.
- AND the reason for this review. No cancellation policy. So don't make the same location mistake as us ;)

We actually booked this place thinking it was in Kuching. We were surprised by an hour drive from the airport to "almost nowhere", (the first 4 taxi drivers would not take us, alarm bells started to ring).

Upon arrival, we decided to get on the net to work out exactly where we went wrong and of course, the wireless had full bars but didn't work at all. In the end I picked up a business card and noticed they had a sister accommodation in Kuching to which I negotiated swapping to after our first nights stay. Although it was quite a drop in standards and price of what we paid, due to it being a backpackers room. But better than no refund at all. I felt like we were in the twilight zone, the resort had no guests and we had to sleuth our way out :)

If you are looking for a place to do nothing, eat all your meals and drinks at your accommodation, and be an hour away from Kuching. Then this is your place to relax.

Hope this helped someone to not make the same location mistake!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

It's a small retreat place with lots of green. The workers are helpful and accommodating. Good for plain relaxing because there ain't much to do.

Those who are light sleepers might find it noisy because of the call to prayer (few times) from a nearby mosque. It's pretty loud but I was too tired to notice it. I stayed in a suite, and it was very hot despite the two air cond were blowing their maximum. But at night it gets cooler.

The food from the restaurant is okay too. Nice for a quiet get away.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
42
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

From the get go I was impressed by this place, the pool, the decor, the rooms, the cleanliness, convenience, service, food and drinks.

The Village house was perfect for our large group of 11 offering us the convenience of having almost everything in the one area. We could enjoy each others company easily and still have a basic needs met easily. Pool, cocktails, food, relaxation.

Not sure why others have given a lower review. Staff are lovely and polite. If anything the staff may not understand exactly what you are saying, but hey youre in another country and they are doing their best to understand you. Rephrase it, try again and embrace it!

Food is fine, lots of options...some western options may not live up to westerners expectations...but why are you eating that anyway? Youre in another country! Embrace the food! :) I really enjoyed sampling a bit of everything

Cocktail prices are resonable if not cheaper than other places (alcohol in malaysia is expensive) had a great time drinking by the pool

This place is great and did I mention its clean!

Stayed: July 2017
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and stayed here for two nights while attending the rainforest music festival.

We are so glad that we found the village house.

-Great and friendly service at point of entry
-owners were very kind and friendly
-Clean great hangout area with pool and hammocks in the courtyard. Perfect for mid afternoon swims before the nighttime performances at the festival
- all meals included
- fully stocked bar which made it convenient to have a drink
- transport provided to and from the cultural village

It was a little hard to find, but not impossible.

Would consider staying here again when we go back to the music festival.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexlc211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

I think this is overall a good resort for excursions. Very nice rooms, clean bathroom, beautiful garden with a large clean and well maintained pool. The food is excellent and even if more expensive than outside it is worth the money and portion are big. The resort is far away from everything but you can rent bicycles and go to the Culture Village (20 min) and Damai Beach (5km). Downsides are that the staff is not really creating a warm welcome atmosphere - they try but as often in Malaysia something is missing to come to the Indonesian and Thailand hospitality level. There is not much to do here other than laying on the pool eat and go for excursions. The beach is useless blocked by big stones and I think also dangerous due to some recent crocodile accidents. A good place for excursions but I would not stay more than 2-3 night

Stayed: June 2017
Thank AI1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Each traveller having her/his expectations, it's actually very difficult to evaluate the Village House... Now, to put it simple (according to my expectations...)
The ''+''
*A nicely and rather confortable pool area. Well lit, decorated and furnished (I question the cleanliness of the matresses though),
*Bathroom (Great natural day light and hot ''hot water'' ;-)) and bedroom were very clean
*A No-kid-under 12yo policy (what a relief....)
*Helpfull staff (we haven't seen any trace of the management/owners...Lucky them...)
The ''-'':
*Outrageous Food and beverage prices, especially considering that many of the dishes we ordered were incomplete or unavailable (No mise en place?? No manager in the whereabouts???)
*An access to the beach which is currently being blocked by the construction of a rock and concrete coastal protection wall. So much for the ''romanticism'' of the place.
*No activity/points of interest at all in the vicinity, unless one joins the activities sponsored by the hotel.*

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank capsicum0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
3.1 km away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#14 of 55 in Kuching
731 reviews
18.4 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
19.1 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
18.7 km away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
18.5 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village House

Address: Off Jalan Pantai Puteri, Kpg. | Santubong Peninsula, Kuching 93756, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $90 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden down a dusty track, just 100metres from the beach in the friendly village of Santubong, The Village House offers the tranquility and service that most travelers crave. The traditional Malay-style stilted rooms and the many chill out areas are decorated using local materials and Sarawakian handicrafts, and this together with the warm and friendly staff ensures that you too feel the welcoming hospitality for which Sarawak is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Village House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village House Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing