We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed for only one night here, during the weekend to take some time off work and a short rest ahead of long trip overseas.

We decided to drive there ourselves as it is not that far, and when we reached there, we could not enter the parking because they blocked it. So we stopped at the main entrance and ask the staff standing outside the parking, where could we park. He mentioned that the hotel parking is full, and we will need to find some other parking lot further from the hotel. But we still can see that, some cars are still able to go into the parking, so we ignored his advice and just follow some other cars into the parking lot at the basement of the hotel. Man, they really should reserve some parking space for hotel guest. Parking for guest in the hotel is complimentary.

When we reached the check-in counter, the front desk staff took really long time to help us to check in, citing the reason that the hotel room type that we booked is full. In the end, we were upgraded to the club room, at no additional charge, which is a really nice thing to have.

The lift would require the use of the access card in order to go to the floors where we stay. I have some trouble using the lift as the 'Lobby' button is in the middle, not at the bottom. Took us a few time before we finally get used to it.

4 bottles of mineral water is given as complimentary, which is just nice. There are 2 types of rooms available, either facing the lagoon or facing the city. We took the room facing the city. Staying at the topmost floor, there's hardly any noise from the theme park, or from the traffic.

They have a bathtub in the washroom, plus some standard things like soap, shampoo and perfume! This is the first time I have seen perfume being given in the washroom. Well, probably I have never stayed in luxury hotel before, so this is something new.

The hotel is directly connected to the Pyramid shopping centre, so we do not need to walk under the sun to go there, which is a nice thing since it has been raining every now and then here. Connected to the huge shopping centre would also mean, we will not run out of basic amenities. Food, entertainment, activities are available around the location, all within walking distance, which I believe is making this hotel a bit popular over here.

Upon checking out, there's a porter offering to assist us to carry our baggage to our car in the parking lots, but we declined it because it is just a short walk there.

Room Tip: I guess facing the city would be more quiet than facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kons168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,746 - 1,752 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

We had our wedding dinner banquet at West Lake and were given a complimentary first night stay at Sunway Hotel.

The suite was decorated well and was spacious anad clean. Although we only spent one night here, the service was altogether excellent and the breakfast buffet in the morning was an impressive spread of local food. We felt pampered!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conFuSed79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

great hotel specialy to take rest after a long jerney fligt and for the great locatin facing the sunway lagoon water park

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HSN a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My overnight stay in this hotel was perfect. The room was clean, big and well prepared with all the amenities. The waterfall view by the pool was very refreshing specially after a workout at the gym. The breakfast spread was aplenty, ruined by one minor thing, some of grapes served were rotten. Good thing my eyes were still clear and I take photos of what I eat at hotels. See photo

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick_Spaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Dear Patrick_Spaniel,

Again, we would thank you for staying with us recently at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa. As mentioned in our message to you, we have taken note of your review and will investigate further based on the details provided by you to ensure that we can further improve our guest's experience in the future.

Your feedback is important to us and we value your honest feedback. We would like to wish you and your family, a wonderful festive season and a Happy New Year.

Thanks and regards,

The Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Pretty cool hotel to stay in! My brother had his Chinese Tea Ceremony in the function area. It's got massive animal statues out front, amazing pool out back and conveniently located next to the huge shopping centre and water park. I loved the water park! This place is great if you have kids, there's so many things to do to keep them entertained! We had a few issues with this place but the staff were extremely helpful and more than understanding and they were nice enough to upgrade us to the Arabian suite! Also my friend got very very sick eating the curry at breakfast time so just be careful!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteffyBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W, Manager at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2011

Dear SteffyBarnes,

We would like to say thank you for staying with Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa during your recent trip to Malaysia. We hope that your stay with us has been a good and memorable one.

As we value our guest's feedback, your review is important to us. We have read through the review and took note on some of your concerns. This will help us further improve on our quality of services for our potential/future guest and yourself, on your next stay with us.

We hope that you can spend some time to reply us through TripAdvisor so that we can follow-up with you on the concerns in your review. We hope to hear from you soon.

We would like to wish you a great festive season and a Happy New Year.

Thanks and regards

The Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I was given a room on the business floor, at no additional charge. It was very nice, although not totally clean compared to other 5 star hotels. The room was quiet, comfortably furnished and a good size.
Breakfast was served on the same floor and comprised a small but reasonable selection. Services were available for busy business people and the internet link was fairly quick.
The staff were very helpful and I noticed, well versed in dealing with stressed out visitors. I would stay here again as it seems I had a better experience at the resort hotel than my colleagues at the pyramid property next door.

Room Tip: A room at the end of the hall would help you avoid other noisy guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we were promptly greeted and congratulated warmly on our recent wedding. Since we are booked at the Honeymoon Suite, checkin is completed at The Club floor. Throughout our stay, we never have to wait for more than 5 minutes for the service staff to respond to our requests.

In our suite, we were greeted with flower petals, strawberry chocolates and designed towels...However, the suite was strongly decorated like an Arabic themed business hotel. We were expecting resort style hotels, not a business hotel. The rooms are functional, had everything you can expect from a good business hotel but abit small for suite standard. At checkout, it was only then confirmed that the hotel had checked me in to the Arabian suite instead of the Honeymoon Suite. The hotel did not inform me prior that the Honeymoon suite was closed for carpet cleaning :(. I was also disappointed that for my honeymoon suite, this hotel lacked two important touch....breakfast in bed and flower petals bubbly bath.

Anyway, since we were not provided any breakfast in bed, we have the option to have our breakfast either at The Club or Fuzion Restaurant. We chose the Fuzion for its wide variety of food. I must commend, the food choice was very good and quality is high for buffet breakfast.

Overall, its a good hotel and the staff was really efficient and friendly but I really felt that the hotel could do so much more to make our honeymoon stay a more memorable one. Checking us into the wrong suite without informing us did not help the situation. We did however gave some feedback to the hotel about our stay during checkout and they mentioned that the management will look into this.

Room Tip: Choose floors 16 and above and the one with View of the Lagoon and The Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tx5794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petaling Jaya
0 km away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,424 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
858 reviews
5 km away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
One World Hotel
One World Hotel
#5 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
1,215 reviews
0.1 km away
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Sunway
Resort Suites Hotel at Bandar Su...
#32 of 50 in Petaling Jaya
47 reviews
14.2 km away
Sunway Putra Hotel
Sunway Putra Hotel
#33 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Persiaran Lagoon | Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya 46150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Petaling Jaya
#4 Business Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price Range: $156 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa is one of Kuala Lumpur’s most iconic 5-star hotels, situated within the sprawling integrated resort of Sunway City. The Hotel is located next to Sunway Lagoon theme park and connected to the massive Sunway Pyramid shopping mall, seamlessly integrating facilities for easy, within the minute walking-access, to a multitude of leisure and business services. On arrival, the Hotel’s dramatic neo classical façade welcomes guests to superlative features and thematic architectural designs, sheltered by towering minaret glass domes and a main driveway that boasts monumental sculptures of deer being pursued by a Malayan tiger and two life-size elephants stand guard; with a profusion of fountains and captivating oasis of water features. The Hotel’s 441 guestrooms and suites are equipped with complimentary Wi-Fi and other modern conveniences. Most guestrooms have theme park views or the resort's skyline; some provide balconies with an opportunity to walk out to the lush tropical gardens. Facilities within the hotel include an expansive free-form landscaped swimming pool with cascading waterfalls, a Balinese-inspired Mandara spa, a fitness centre, an all-day dining restaurant, a lobby lounge and several independently-operated Chinese, Thai and other speciality restaurants. Located adjacent to the Hotel are Sunway Pyramid Convention Centre, 170 food and beverage outlets and over 900-retail stores in the shopping mall, and two additional hotel towers with Sunway Pyramid Hotel and Sunway Clio Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Resort Hotel And Spa
Sunway Hotel Petaling Jaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing