We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Grand Dame” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Grand Subang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Subang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Grand Dame”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here in early December 2011 and this hotel has changed from Sheraton to Grand Dorsett (from the looks of it in name only as the semblance of Sheraton still remains)

Rooms are old but well kept & clean. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and gave me a very good night's sleep which is important for me due to having to travel frequently.

Bathtub and fittings all old and did not work as well as it should as mixing the water temperature to the required temperature took some time. Hotel in need of major refurbishment to maintain the expected standards for a 5-star property.

Cost of normal room RM371.20nett (room only), still worth it due to the great sleep that I had

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FplusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    318
    149
    67
    36
See reviews for
144
81
55
420
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I made a call from Thailand to the this Motel in KL, Malaysia, to confirm the transfer arrangements from the LCCT Airport, on our flight the next morning. The staff member on the phone call, assured me (2) times the pick up & transfer was complimentary free of any charges. The second confirmation came from my repeated questioning of the costs involved. On this advice I booked the hotel transfer. When we booked into the the motel on the morning, I also booked our return tranfer for the next day to KLIA airport, no problems. Problem occured when we booked out at 0600, to be told by the front desk I had to pay $100 AUSD for transfer, as vrey tired from early start and comleting our 3 weeks travel around Asia & returning home, this was very disturbing. At no time were we advised of payment costs, & to be hit by the news on the checkout this early in the morning was quite ugly to take !, so wor of advice, when taking phone confirmations, please take as many details of the staff member as possible to verify all discussions, all poor reception counter services at front desk..... safe travels all :)

Room Tip: Florr5 is a smoking floor, smoke can seep up to higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Previously I have stayed at Sunway resort which is located about 5km from Grand Dorsett and these two hotels are not even comparable. If Sunway is 5-star then Grand Dorsett can impossibly be 5-star, anyway since the rates at Grand Dorsett is a bit lower than other "5-star" hotels in KL/PJ i think this is a perfect example of "you get what you pay for".

And what do you get for your money?

No thrills standard 3-star hotel feeling, room felt a bit old but definitely clean and not in desperate need of renovation. TV (old small 4:3 CRT at 5-star hotel?!) got some of the standard Astro(?) channels (sport, movie, chinese). There was no balcony but it didn't matter much since the view from my room was terrible anyway.

The bathroom was clean but the bathtub had seen better days. The room was not equipped with enough of the "one time disposables" such as flip-flop, toothbrush, etc, they had only catered for 1 person even though the booking was made for 2 person with breakfast. I think you should be able to expect more than that from a 5-star hotel.

The pool area was quiet nice and the restaurants had many choices on the menu. The breakfast was good and well worth the money. Check in and check out was fast.

Not much within walking distance to the hotel except some restaurant on the opposite side of the road, better opt for a taxi to Sunway pyramid mall which is a great place for shopping/eating/entertainment. The taxi there from Grand dorsett is only just above RM5.

Conclusion for me is that I'll pick Sunway resort any day of the week even though the rates are a bit higher. At least it feels like 5-star and the location makes it worth the extra bucks.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghoulies_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

If you're looking for an excellent hotel in a quiet neighbourhood, this is it. Feeling in suburb? Not really, shopping malls are just around 2km away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradipta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Just my luck to arrive when all 3 counters were dealing with multiple check-ins by tour leaders for a convention. They should have allocated one counter for other guests. ( I had just driven 300km and braved KL traffic)
One key card did not work after midnight and I had to go to the reception to recode.. the excuse was the card had been placed too near to my handphone. Next morning the other card did not work and this card was not near any phone!!
Never seen any reception staff smile!
The room was recently renovated (new block) and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good and this was the only place where the staff was helpful and smiling.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Like what other travellers said, this hotel is quite old, but comfortable.
Stayed in the corner room (room ended with xx1, e.g 401, 501, 601 etc).
The room is huge! It can fits one whole family without much trouble.

The room has a walkway, that leads to the living hall, with kitchen at the back and the room at the other end. Toilet is also spacious, it has got both standing and sleeping bath tub.

Breakfast is great, it offers both western and chinese style of food. However the staffs are less friendly and lack of smiles on their face.

The room I stayed in has got no view, but I doubt the others would have any, as this hotel is situated in Subang area, an old and matured township. If you are planning to have KLCC view, this hotel is probably not a good choice.

There are plenty of shopslot around, if you are driving, you can park for free, just exchange a complimentary ticket from the concierge at the lobby. The hotel is just next to the Sime Darby Hospital and also the residential & commercial area of SS15, so no problem of getting some night life at the busy SS15 area.

Overall, if you are staying for business trip, it should be an enjoyable stay. But if you travel for leisure, I wouldn't recommend this.

Room Tip: Huge rooms are at the corner, but not sure on the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kah Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel used to be the Sheraton many moons ago and one can still see the infrastructure is well designed and the offering (originally) luxurious. However the building and its facilities are seriously in need to repair and refurbishment. I know some of the rooms are being refurbished but it goes beyond that - even the uniforms of the staff are threadbare! The cutlery is worn thin, the table cloths are holey. I was in a non-refurbished room which was an absolute disgrace. I travel internationally every month and if this hotel is deserving of 5 stars then I'm Barack Obama's mother. I would give it 3 at a push. The wall paper was peeling off and was patchy. The bed was fine but the carpet was beyond cleaning. It has so many stains and areas of damage acquired over many years that no vacuum cleaner could help it anymore. The bathroom fittings were old (with which I have no problem) and the plug mechanism in the bath/shower has been repaired so frequently that it is now stripped and the plug does not open anymore. They repaired it (one more time). Electrical outlets in the room itself were loose in their wall mountings. The iron in the room leaked all over my clothes and I had to ask for a replacement. There is a strong musty odour in the room which none of the staff noticed. When I complained they gave me a can of air freshener. One could just open the windows and let fresh air in - but this is Malaysia and within 10 minutes the room was full of mosquitos. I used the gym and related facilities every day. The staff was friendly but the equipment was dated and neglected. The sauna was a disgrace - broken benches, gaping holes in the wall etc. Again, long ago when this was a Sheraton one could imagine this being splendid, now it was utterly decrepit and sleazy. I was not brave enough to venture into the communal spa bath. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would question its star rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uncleknop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
1.4 km away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 10 in Subang Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
1.7 km away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#3 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.9 km away
Ruemz Hotel
Ruemz Hotel
#3 of 10 in Subang Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.7 km away
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
Sunway Pyramid Hotel
#6 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang

Property: Dorsett Grand Subang
Address: Jalan SS12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Grand Subang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing