We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$592
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$641
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nika Island Resort & Spa(Kudafolhudhoo Island)
US$489
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Holiday Cottage Maldives(Thoddoo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Island Resort(Mushimasgali Island)
US$1,000
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$485
US$470
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Gangehi Island Resort(Gangehi Island)
US$166
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

W Maldives(Fesdhoo Island)
US$644
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Constance Halaveli(Halaveli Island)
US$601
US$551
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveller rating
646
38
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
38
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cruiseour honeymoonsmall islandfisheagle rayspool villaour favouriteoctopusindian oceana la cartesea planespecial thanksmini barsushiall inclusive packageblown awaybeautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 693 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

A big thank you to the Kandolhu team for an amazing stay. Everything was just perfect and faultless. Service and ambiance was wonderful. It is a great place for relaxation combined with amazing food.
We look forward to staying with you again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank TAMeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2018

We enjoyed every aspect of our holiday at Kandolhu. Our arrival by seaplane to a pontoon, to be greeted by the hotel motor boat, with ice cold towels. Our welcome at the jetty with cool fruit smoothies. And to be shown immediately to our accommodation, a duplex villa. We faced due west, with nothing interrupting our ocean view. The weather was changeable (all part of being in the Maldives) although always warm.

We particularly enjoyed snorkelling the reef and encountering all the sealife, including octopus, turtles, reef shark and a huge array of colourful tropical fish.

The crowning glory of this island is the staff. All seem particularly happy in their jobs and, as a guest, this in itself creates a wonderful atmosphere. The plentiful and varied food was absolutely delicious. It is difficult to name members of staff as they are all exceptional, but here goes.... our welcome and further help by Elena and Mae, both delightful and in the right job. Ahmed, we hope Eva arrived safely! Nihad, who always kept us amused. Vivek in the bar where all the staff were attentive and anticipated our every need.

We booked a manta ray trip the success of which, we know, depends on whether there is plankton to entice them to appear at known feeding areas. We were particularly lucky to see many of them swimming in tandem feeding amongst us as we swam in the ocean. This was a wonderful and memorable trip and something we have wanted to experience for a long time. Particular mention to the captain Rashid and our guide Saaif who really looked after us, even filming our GoPro record. The trip was fun and light hearted.

It is rare to visit a destination where all is better than expected, from accommodation, to food and general quality. Well done to Mark and Laura for putting such a great team together.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dorrob2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018

Twenty years ago my husband and I spent our honeymoon in the Maldives. We wanted to return for our wedding anniversary and after much research we decided to book a week at Kandolhu. Our priorities were restricted to.. a great house reef, distance from airport not too far, variety of delicious food, an all inclusive rate that is good value and customer service of a high standard. We chose well. This place suited our needs perfectly.

Kandolhu is special. As I write this I feel truly blessed to have experienced this unforgettable island.

We were well looked after. On arrival at the transit lounge, Mae called to inform us of our sea plane schedule and to check how we were. Our seaplane flew us to a pontoon where a speedboat awaited with Mae ready to greet us. On the way, they stopped for us to watch a school of dolphins nearby. Once on the jetty, we were again greeted by other people including Marc, the manager. The island took my breath away! A welcome drink and we were escorted to our Duplex Villa.

We shared our time between the Duplex Pool Villa and the Overwater Pool Villa. Both villas were extremely comfortable. Subtle luxury done well. We loved the space in the DPV. The outdoor bathroom was great and the private pool was enjoyed. Our villa was 118, closer to the jetty of the overwater villas thus partially obscuring our sea view but we did not mind as we found it to be more private than the others.

The Overwater Pool Villa was breathtaking! The bathroom allows you to take in the views but you can use the roller blinds if you prefer privacy. On many occasions we would sunbathe on our deck enjoying a drink prepared in our room with the music roaring from the amazing playlist they provided. The sunset views are beautiful! We found the pool at times too cold unlike the DPV where it was always warm. Everday they would leave us treats which we would eat with our coffee early morning. On our anniversary night, they decorated our bed with lovehearts made out of leaves. Our villas were always cleaned well. With our rate we had our clothes laundered free once during our stay.

The all inclusive rate allows you to sample all there is on offer. In our room we had a wine fridge, spirits and a fridge full of snacks and more drinks. Packets of crisps, peanuts, muesli bar, basically if there was anything you wanted they would source it for you. I won't go into great detail about the restaurants but with this rate you can eat at any of them and believe me they are all exceptional. Banzai is very entertaining.
Even the snacks at the Vilu Bar are scrumptious. Olive is fine dining, mix of French and Italian food. Ata Roa is a great addition, fresh mexican food at its best. Our favourite was the Sea Grill, highlight were the lamb cutlets! I wish we could have stayed a few more days to sample more food. My only regret was not meeting Chef Mickael. Many times we wanted to thank him for the well presented delicious meals. He has a great team behind him. Just supurb! We looked forward to each and every meal. All inclusive rate made our stay carefree. We had many different drinks at the bar and they were all well made.

Laura (manager) introduced herself during breakfast one morning making sure we had all that we needed. From a glance, Marc and Laura have a dedicated team working alongside them and they themselves are great hosts. The staff are always happy. We took the time to get to know some staff and they made our time there enjoyable. Thank you Udaya and Deshan for looking after us at the bar, Nihad and Riyax for making us laugh and your surpurb service at meal times, Krisna and Kae always serving us with a smile and informing us of special food nights. So many other staff who went out of their way for us. Girls at Varu Spa too, especially Desy and Yuong. Treatments were awesome.

Unfortunately, the house reef is bleached. The abundance of sea life though makes you forget this. We saw friendly turtles, octopus, reef sharks, stingrays, moray eel and many different coloured fish. Each day we couldn't wait to snorkel. My husband dives but I only snorkel. It was more than enough for the both of us. Was convenient not having to go far to snorkel. The added benefit of the Go Pro in the room was much appreciated!

I hope one day we can return to Kandolhu. From reading other reviews I notice many people do return and having been myself I too feel an urgency to revisit. If you want peace, a place to get away from it all for a while, to eat delicious meals and to be treated well then look no further than this special island. Thank you all at Kandolhu. I missed you from the moment you disappeared from my view.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank JPel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2018

The island.......WOW! Absolutely beautiful!! The ocean villa was gorgeous. The staff were AMAZING. The Japanese food DEVINE! Went there on our honeymoon and this place just blew us away. We will not forget Kandolhu

Room Tip: They're all great!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018

This is a beautiful island, with brilliant staff.

None of the fuss about booking restaurants like on bigger islands, and everything you could want in abundance included.

Mark and Laura are excellent hosts, and the diving was great and Chiara and Mike were very professional, and a pleasure to spend time with.

You have your own personal space, sun beds and shade, and it’s a truly wonderful place to unwind from life stresses.

The. tranquility offered by the Maldives is why it’s our favourite place in the world, and Kandolhu is at the top of the pile.

We will be going back, my wife told everybody at least twice!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jbeadle301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews