We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,116)
Filter reviews
1,116 results
Traveller rating
827
188
62
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
188
62
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean villasmain islandbanyan treepool villafishdeluxe beachfrontsea planeoutdoor showerhalf boardhouse reef snorkellingdive centreour honeymoonour waiterkids clubmarine lifeindian oceanmale airport
Filter
Updating list...
595 - 600 of 1,116 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We were married on the 24th of September and after the encouragement of our travel agent we decided to spend our honeymoon in Maldives, in Angsana Velavaru Resort. From the first time we saw the resort we loved it. We were excited with the fact that there was everywhere white sand (reception, restaurant, the ways to the rooms). The people in the reception were very helpful and willing to show us around.
Our room was excellent. We really liked the backyard where we could shower private under the trees and sun. In the front of our villa we could relax behind the trees, away from strange eyes, just listening the sound of the waves. In general although we usually don’t like stay indoors, our villa in Velavaru was the place we loved the most.
As for the activities we enjoyed as much as we could. Every day we were relaxed with a spa. We went snorkeling with the guys from the marine center who were great and helped us in everything we asked them. We went fishing and we were excited to catch fish. Generally we enjoyed every activity we took.
Closing we had the best honeymoon a couple could ever have. We loved the place and met really nice people. Now we look at the pictures and it seems that we were in paradise.
Lefteris Papastathis and Maria Filiopoulou.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
3  Thank Meander306277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I spent 7 nights here in a Premier Inn Ocena Villa for our honeymoon - All we can say is superb! The upgrade to the Premier Inn Ocean Villa was well worth the money, upgrading not just your accomodation but also the chance to eat each night in the exclusive ocean villas restaurant.
The villa itself was truly amazing and believe me, we are not easily pleased. The villa was huge, so much space for two people. The decor was very tasteful - Freshly painted and everything in 'tip top working order.' There is a second floor to these villas with sofas and lounge beds. As you can imagine they provide an excellent view across the lagoon and you can also opt to eat your meals on this deck; perfect for a honeymoon. The outside of the villa was what truly made the honeymoon - we had searched for a long time and this really was the most perfect ocean villa in the Maldives, with exceptional outdoor space. There is a sturdy hammock over the ocean, your own private infinity pool, sun beds, tables and chairs and a four poster bed located just above the ocean! Wow! There are steps down to the lagoon, which is great for snorkelling. The sea is so compelling; you really are drawn in. Our villa faced the sunset side which I would also recommend, providing an uninterrupted view - we saw dolphins swimming by on two occasions! Our room was kept spotless by Khalid - such a cheerful cleaner, always taking time to chat and ask if there was anything we needed.
On to the food - Big WOW! Seriously the best food we have eaten. A five course meal each evening, from an extensive menu. Our waiter, Solah always took time to chat to us. I was surprised to read negative reviews on here about the waiting staff as we had always found them so pleasant. The same waiter will look after you throughout the stay, which we really liked; a nice personal touch.
We also had a couple of treatments at both the ocean villa and land spa. Again, amazing!
One last thing to mention - sorry such a lengthy report, but cant speak highly enough of this place - the assistant front office manager (amjad) was so helpful to us. We had one a slight issue and he dealt with this quickly, effectively and met us personally to discuss an outcome. Again, I was surprised to read some negative comments about peoples stay here. I feel if people had actually addressed this when they were there, an appropriate outcome would have been reached to the satisfaction of all.
All in all, highly recommended - we will definately be returning

Room Tip: Room 351 - Sunset Side - Uninterrupted view out to the ocean
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Beach Villa and 2 nights at the In-Ocean to get the best of the two different experience. Great rooms with tip-top amenities and perfect view of the beach/sea. It was really nice to wake up to a beautiful day overlooking a marvellous view. Water was always refilled for us without us having to ask for it. We didn't mind the travelling between ocean villas and land villas as we were always updated with the latest boat schedule. We simply arranged our activities around the timetable.

Spa was amazing, we went back a few times. This is a MUST-DO activity.

Staff were generally friendly and would always assured us that they'd be there if we needed anything. We experienced some slow service in the restaurant on some days because capacity peaked at the certain time but the staff were quick to apologize. We also had a great time talking to them about the resort's marine conservation initiatives and getting to know a bit about Maldives. If there was only one thing we'd like them to improve would be coordination of front desks between land and ocean villas. I reckon calls from the ocean villas are routed to the land villa's front desk if they are busy. Messages can get lost sometimes and we needed to call them again to double check.

If you're looking for the ultimate pampering experience with your loved one, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
2  Thank jasminesew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Describe the service you experienced: excellent~ place
Tell us how you liked the room: clean and confortable
Talk about the location & amenities:: you can see different fishes everywhere
Say what you liked best & least::Amazing view, totally relax, lovely creatures, and friendly people there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
1  Thank Jinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2011

What a wonderful island and the snorkeling is great. Also, don't miss the spa. A few things though, that could well be improved.
In the buffet restaurant, the waiters aren't too keen on people ordering from the menu and they are not hiding it from you. The service level dropped and one night the waiter showed up with the bill immediately after main course, leaving us no time to order a dessert. Not very nice towards us and not good for turnover either..
also they ask your name , but never use it again (why bother asking?) and make you write down food allergies, in our case nuts, but serving up cake filled with Pecan nuts without further notice just as well.

The luxurous Azurro restaurant was even more dissapointing. The waiter was really in a hurry, leaving no time at all between courses, when we mentioned it, he smiled but made no change, even brought the coffee when I hadn't finished my desert yet! We were not very late or something but they started preparing tables for breakfast the following day, it was really weared, since it was not even close to closing time.We stepped outside with aching stomaches from eating so fast and did not feel very welcome there, It costed us fare over 200 dollar though.
Conclusion: With F&B improved, there could not be a better hotel. We would certainly visit again, but hopefully we would see some changes here and there,

Room Tip: Beachfront villa 129 is a good one: your own beach acces (who needs a pool when you have the ocean?) and good snorkeling in front of "your strech of beach".
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Rondreis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Dear Rondreis2008,


Thank you for the valuable feedback regarding your recent visit to Angsana Velavaru.


We have taken note of your comments related to the improvements needed in our F&B service. It is indeed disheartening to read that the service at Restaurants was not up to your expectations. These concerns have been raised to our F&B Manager & Training Manager for them to review and look into staff re-training in order to eliminate such incidents from future occurrences.


I would like to thank you for bringing your experience to our attention as it is feedback such as yours that would enable us to improve our service standards. I do hope that despite these, you had a relaxing stay with us.



We also hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Angsana Velavaru, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and a memorable Angsana experience.


Kind Regards,


Andrew Langston
Area General Manager - Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews