We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad.....”
Review of Angsana Velavaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angsana Velavaru
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Xiamen, China
12
Reviewed 9 October 2011

we stay in AKV for 3 days then transfer to Angsana becuase when we check online they said here is the best place for diving, maybe it is but the beach villa is really small, and too many bugs.....i was very very baddly bitten by the mosgital.this makes this trip very hard for me, also ,we paid 390 dollar for morning fishing with private boat but nothing catched,we checked with other staff and they said most people didn't get anything, then pls change the name to: sight view, night fishing is also very poor compare with other hotels. food is really bad but cheaper than other islands.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent holiday at Angsana Velavaru.


It is indeed disheartening to read that you found our Beach Front Villas to be small in size and that you were unable to catch any fish during the Morning fishing trip (dawn fishing). I have also taken note of your concerns related to the size of the beach.


Velavaru is located in Dhaalu Atoll, far away from the crowded areas of Maldives. We only have two resorts in this part of Maldives and therefore, our guests enjoy total privacy on diving, snorkeling and fishing expeditions to the reefs nearby. We offer 8 categories of rooms starting from Beach Front Villas to Sanctuary InOcean Villas (double bed room water villas).


Our Night fishing trips and morning fishing trips have been very successful as we catch large red snappers and groupers on almost every trip. However, it is sad that you were unable to catch any on your excursion trip.


Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I hope despite the shortfalls, you had a relaxing stay at our beautiful resort.


We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Angsana Velavaru or to any of our other resorts in the Maldives; allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable Angsana experience.


Kind Regards,


Andrew Langston,
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 988 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Athens
13
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We were married on the 24th of September and after the encouragement of our travel agent we decided to spend our honeymoon in Maldives, in Angsana Velavaru Resort. From the first time we saw the resort we loved it. We were excited with the fact that there was everywhere white sand (reception, restaurant, the ways to the rooms). The people in the reception were very helpful and willing to show us around.
Our room was excellent. We really liked the backyard where we could shower private under the trees and sun. In the front of our villa we could relax behind the trees, away from strange eyes, just listening the sound of the waves. In general although we usually don’t like stay indoors, our villa in Velavaru was the place we loved the most.
As for the activities we enjoyed as much as we could. Every day we were relaxed with a spa. We went snorkeling with the guys from the marine center who were great and helped us in everything we asked them. We went fishing and we were excited to catch fish. Generally we enjoyed every activity we took.
Closing we had the best honeymoon a couple could ever have. We loved the place and met really nice people. Now we look at the pictures and it seems that we were in paradise.
Lefteris Papastathis and Maria Filiopoulou.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My husband and I spent 7 nights here in a Premier Inn Ocena Villa for our honeymoon - All we can say is superb! The upgrade to the Premier Inn Ocean Villa was well worth the money, upgrading not just your accomodation but also the chance to eat each night in the exclusive ocean villas restaurant.
The villa itself was truly amazing and believe me, we are not easily pleased. The villa was huge, so much space for two people. The decor was very tasteful - Freshly painted and everything in 'tip top working order.' There is a second floor to these villas with sofas and lounge beds. As you can imagine they provide an excellent view across the lagoon and you can also opt to eat your meals on this deck; perfect for a honeymoon. The outside of the villa was what truly made the honeymoon - we had searched for a long time and this really was the most perfect ocean villa in the Maldives, with exceptional outdoor space. There is a sturdy hammock over the ocean, your own private infinity pool, sun beds, tables and chairs and a four poster bed located just above the ocean! Wow! There are steps down to the lagoon, which is great for snorkelling. The sea is so compelling; you really are drawn in. Our villa faced the sunset side which I would also recommend, providing an uninterrupted view - we saw dolphins swimming by on two occasions! Our room was kept spotless by Khalid - such a cheerful cleaner, always taking time to chat and ask if there was anything we needed.
On to the food - Big WOW! Seriously the best food we have eaten. A five course meal each evening, from an extensive menu. Our waiter, Solah always took time to chat to us. I was surprised to read negative reviews on here about the waiting staff as we had always found them so pleasant. The same waiter will look after you throughout the stay, which we really liked; a nice personal touch.
We also had a couple of treatments at both the ocean villa and land spa. Again, amazing!
One last thing to mention - sorry such a lengthy report, but cant speak highly enough of this place - the assistant front office manager (amjad) was so helpful to us. We had one a slight issue and he dealt with this quickly, effectively and met us personally to discuss an outcome. Again, I was surprised to read some negative comments about peoples stay here. I feel if people had actually addressed this when they were there, an appropriate outcome would have been reached to the satisfaction of all.
All in all, highly recommended - we will definately be returning

Room Tip: Room 351 - Sunset Side - Uninterrupted view out to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Beach Villa and 2 nights at the In-Ocean to get the best of the two different experience. Great rooms with tip-top amenities and perfect view of the beach/sea. It was really nice to wake up to a beautiful day overlooking a marvellous view. Water was always refilled for us without us having to ask for it. We didn't mind the travelling between ocean villas and land villas as we were always updated with the latest boat schedule. We simply arranged our activities around the timetable.

Spa was amazing, we went back a few times. This is a MUST-DO activity.

Staff were generally friendly and would always assured us that they'd be there if we needed anything. We experienced some slow service in the restaurant on some days because capacity peaked at the certain time but the staff were quick to apologize. We also had a great time talking to them about the resort's marine conservation initiatives and getting to know a bit about Maldives. If there was only one thing we'd like them to improve would be coordination of front desks between land and ocean villas. I reckon calls from the ocean villas are routed to the land villa's front desk if they are busy. Messages can get lost sometimes and we needed to call them again to double check.

If you're looking for the ultimate pampering experience with your loved one, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
2  Thank jasminesew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Describe the service you experienced: excellent~ place
Tell us how you liked the room: clean and confortable
Talk about the location & amenities:: you can see different fishes everywhere
Say what you liked best & least::Amazing view, totally relax, lovely creatures, and friendly people there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
1  Thank Jinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

What a wonderful island and the snorkeling is great. Also, don't miss the spa. A few things though, that could well be improved.
In the buffet restaurant, the waiters aren't too keen on people ordering from the menu and they are not hiding it from you. The service level dropped and one night the waiter showed up with the bill immediately after main course, leaving us no time to order a dessert. Not very nice towards us and not good for turnover either..
also they ask your name , but never use it again (why bother asking?) and make you write down food allergies, in our case nuts, but serving up cake filled with Pecan nuts without further notice just as well.

The luxurous Azurro restaurant was even more dissapointing. The waiter was really in a hurry, leaving no time at all between courses, when we mentioned it, he smiled but made no change, even brought the coffee when I hadn't finished my desert yet! We were not very late or something but they started preparing tables for breakfast the following day, it was really weared, since it was not even close to closing time.We stepped outside with aching stomaches from eating so fast and did not feel very welcome there, It costed us fare over 200 dollar though.
Conclusion: With F&B improved, there could not be a better hotel. We would certainly visit again, but hopefully we would see some changes here and there,

Room Tip: Beachfront villa 129 is a good one: your own beach acces (who needs a pool when you have the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Rondreis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Angsana Velavaru, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Dear Rondreis2008,


Thank you for the valuable feedback regarding your recent visit to Angsana Velavaru.


We have taken note of your comments related to the improvements needed in our F&B service. It is indeed disheartening to read that the service at Restaurants was not up to your expectations. These concerns have been raised to our F&B Manager & Training Manager for them to review and look into staff re-training in order to eliminate such incidents from future occurrences.


I would like to thank you for bringing your experience to our attention as it is feedback such as yours that would enable us to improve our service standards. I do hope that despite these, you had a relaxing stay with us.



We also hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Angsana Velavaru, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and a memorable Angsana experience.


Kind Regards,


Andrew Langston
Area General Manager - Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

An amazing holiday. Sunny skies, clear waters, great food and service. Difficult to fault. The spa was incredible. Would we go again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHolbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haa Dhaalu Atoll
26 km away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,096 reviews
3.1 km away
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
#3 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
874 reviews
34.6 km away
Niyama Private Islands Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Kandima Maldives
Kandima Maldives
#4 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
173 reviews
16.2 km away
aaaVeee Nature's Paradise
aaaVeee Nature's Paradise
#5 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
151 reviews
2.3 km away
Beach Stay Maldives
Beach Stay Maldives
#1 of 3 in Meedhoo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Velavaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Velavaru

Address: South Nilandhe Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Price Range: $487 - $2,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Velavaru 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Angsana Velavaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Velavaru Hotel Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Maldives Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru Maldives/Haa Dhaalu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing