We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow With a capital W!!!!!!!”
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow With a capital W!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Being in the Travel Industry for 20 years I am lucky to get to stay in some of the best hotels in the world but at the same time am very critical.I have just returned from a stay at The Lux Belle Mare and am lost for words at the high standards and wow factor of this beautiful hotel.The food quality,service,standard of rooms and staff are outstanding and I will definately be sending as many of my customers as possible to experience this perfect hotel.Nothing is too much trouble and it is very rare to find a hotel that ticks all boxes twice.The room catagories cater for everyone from a Deluxe Suite to the amaizing 2 Bedroom villas with private pools and beach access.The re branding of this hotel is a great success.Thank You LUX for a slice of Paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but not all have been re furnished so if possible request one of these.Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for the wonderful review of yours for us on this forum. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and may I thank you for mentioning all the various aspects of the resort including the features, the service aspects, the quality and variety of our food and beverage offerings and the team of ours; all of which together ensure a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday experience for all of our guests. A yet another sincere thank you for the beautiful phrase for us - A slice of paradise!

We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another amazing stay with us;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,322
    440
    98
    35
    14
See reviews for
1,542
2,543
63
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

From the minute we arrived at the Lux Belle Mare we were treated superbly well and at first I thought it was because we were travel agents but the more time we spent there it became patently obvious that this was not the case and that everyone is treated the same which makes it even more impressive.

The Indo-China restaurant is amazing and a must for a special occassion but all the restaurants are equally good.

The service, the staff, the hotel décor, general ambience and the fact that all the management were accessible and nothing was too much trouble is a credit to everyone concerned as it’s not down to one person but a team effort and what an effort they put in on a daily basis.

I will be judging all future hotel stays against the service levels at the LUX Belle Mare

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a very high standard and the the villa's are just WOW, with their own plung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Greetings of the day! Thank you for your wonderfully worded feedback for us on this forum. The entire team here is glad that you enjoyed your stay immensely and we as a resort stood up to your expectations. Like described by you, the various features and facilities at the resort combined with the passion, simplicity and genuinity of our team members provide a complete holiday experience to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you for a yet another magical experience with us;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curepipe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had a memorable honeymoon at lux belle mare, despite our wedding held during a cyclone in Mauritius , however all our stress vanished when we arrived at the hotel,we were greeted with a warm welcome and were send to the hotel's new room. The hotel was so peaceful and splendid that we enjoyed every moment spend there.we went to the spa where we had a body massage to relax ourselves. All it's staff were very welcoming and nice where we feel very at ease. During our stay, we were invited for dinner to one of the most prestigious restaurant "the indochine" at the hotel. No doubt we had exceptional menus there even we receive a personal print menus with our name on it, wonderful ! Our stay there is an unforgettable one and hope to visit it again for our first anniversary.

Room Tip: Our room was at the ground floors and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Satch A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare, Mauritius! Thank you for your wonderful feedback for us on this forum. The entire team here is glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you liked the resort as a whole as also the special touches and features of ours.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your wedding anniversary;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Lux Belle Mare for 10 nights and arrived mid May, we also chose to get married at this hotel and stayed on an all inclusive affinity basis. We stayed in a newly refurbished junior suite which was big, bright and immaculately clean. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and the grounds are truly amazing. The beach for this hotel is excellent, it is cleaned daily and coral swept twice per day. The hotel exceeded my expectations and the images provided by the tour operator do not do it justice!
I have looked through the poor reviews on trip advisor and as you can imagine I was concerned about the more recent ones as I had chosen to get married there and guests were also staying, I can honestly say that I questioned whether they had stayed at this hotel at all.
Staff are very polite, if they saw us walking towards steps with the pram, they followed to help us, staff were very attentive but they did not make too much of a fuss (nor annoy us whilst dining). Our rooms were cleaned every day, towels replaced twice per day if needed, the hotel also provides a turndown service for the beds every evening and this includes the children's cot (where they had also placed a children's toiletries hamper). The food at this hotel (especially the beach restaurant) was fantastic, in the main restaurant they had themed menus but they also had other foods such as roast beef, pizzas (freshly baked) and the children's menu which consisted of all meats, pastas, pizza, fresh vegetables- this is great for us because my daughter does not eat nuggets and chips on a regular basis. There were no restrictions on the all inclusive package- you can eat steak or seafood as much as you like (no limited number of visits per stay rubbish). What I would advise is that people think about the half broad basis- drinks and foods (even ice creams) are expensive and I don't think you will make a saving by going half board.
In terms of our wedding, we already had in mind what we wanted, I took decorations for the table and chairs with me plus the music we wanted, the hotel are very accommodating and Jessica the wedding coordinator was fantastic, she could arrange everything for you. But if there is something you have in mind- email the hotel in advance so you know if its possible. The solo musician was a guitarist and played some amazing songs and also sung. I thought I would find it annoying but I was pleasantly surprised and all my guests were tearful. After the wedding there was a sega dance and this really lifted the atmosphere, our room was decorated beautifully when we returned. Some of my guests stayed at other hotels and the staff made them very welcome- in particular Ramess who I would like to thank. The staff at this hotel make the hotel, I was irritated by a large family group who had booked (a junior suite as I did) and expected to be waited on even at the buffet restaurant, where they would order the staff to bring the food to them (they wanted a champagne lifestyle on beer money, the villas in this hotel provide a 24 butler service at a price), again the staff obliged them although we did feel very uncomfortable watching this, we believe everyone is equal and the staff should be treated with respect. One thing I would mention is that there is some mould on several sun loungers, again the hotel provide thick white beach towels but some still insist on laying on the lounger whilst soaking wet without a towel.

Thank you to all the staff at the Lux Belle Mare for making our special day and our holiday perfect, we plan to revisit in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room, there is no noise from the sea as the tide breaks very far out at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for the wonderful review of yours for us on this forum. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and may I thank you for detailing all the various aspects of the resort including the features, the service aspects, the quality and variety of our food and beverage offerings and the team of ours; all of which together ensure a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday experience for all of our guests.

We are glad that you are planning a stay again with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another amazing stay with us;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We travelled to Mauritius in May 2012 to get married.

We paid for the All Inclusive "Pure Discovery" package, and I would highly recommend this to make for a carefree holiday and allow you to make the most that is on offer. It may seem a stretch when you book, but to have your choice of watersports, food and drink and consistently sign a 0.00 bill is something you will rarely experience in life!

Accommodation

Arriving on the driveway of Lux Belle Mare suggests you 'have arrived'.
Escorted to our room, and soon realising we had been upgraded to a luxury suite, we stepped inside to find an apartment I would be proud to own and live in, let alone holiday in for two weeks.

The spacious expanse was tastefully decorated and kept cool by unobtrusive air conditioning. The white interior was minimalistic yet welcoming and immaculately clean. This did not change throughout our time, with two cleans a day during am and pm.

The hotel itself, as can be seen in the pictures, is an elegantly designed wooden and thatch affair that allows you to remain outside whilst inside and really enhances the natural beauty of palms and greenery whilst ensuring the white sand and turquoise sea is still an ever presence.

Pool

The pool is divided in to two and is a lovely space surrounded by lush greenery. There are sunbeds right next to or further back but there was a lovely sense of never feeling crowded.

There are also sunbeds provided on the beach too with their own thatched umbrellas to relax under and watch the boats go by.

Staff are constantly available and so you will never find your mouth dry!

Restaurants

You have the choice of four restaurants here.

The Kitchen

The Kitchen is where breakfast takes place and is the 'main' restaurant at the hotel. Breakfast is continental and indeed comprehensive. Whether you want pancakes, omelettes, cereals, breads, fruits or cooked, there is a good selection, albeit don't expect bacon and sausages to be what you're used to at home, these are perhaps not their specialities.
Dinner at the Kitchen is Buffett. Our first night was disappointing, the selection appeared slender and what was there was cold and not of a particularly high standard. However, it is fair to say this was a one off experience and the available selections and quality did improve, indeed the themed nights often provided a nice variation of cuisines.
Service in the Kitchen is typical of the hotel in that it is of a high standard. Again, staff are attentive and only too happy to serve. It is however adapted to its environment; the Kitchen is a Buffett restaurant and therefore service is expectantly less intense than one of the a la carte restaurants.

Indouchine

In our view the best restaurant at the hotel. The food is of a very high standard, the menu a good selection of the type of dish the restaurant likes to produce. Some items on this menu are amongst the best food I have experienced at any hotel in the world, the puddings in particular!
However, despite the quality of the food, it is most definitely service that makes you come back to Indouchine again and again during your stay.
The Waiter staff at Indouchine are some of the best I have found in any restaurant let alone hotel anywhere in the World.

The Beach

As the name would suggest, a beach setting hard to rival means this restaurant immediately has the upper hand in enticing you to enjoy its wonders.
Set on the beach itself, the food here is light and in keeping with what it is. Somewhere many enjoy for lunch, you can be served fresh salads and well cooked pizzas while watching the Indian Ocean sparkle in the sunlight.

Langoustier

A restaurant that offers another take on a la carte, we found the service here more stretched, perhaps in part due to its popularity, but unfortunately meant we did not return a second time. A nice option though to keep things varied.

The only point of note is my wife is allergic to fish and three times during our stay had a mild reaction, suggesting contamination of the food enough for her to be affected. If this was a more life threatening reaction clearly this could have been much more serious.

Customer Service

Lux Belle Mare is a beautiful hotel in idyllic surroundings. But that is a side note in why you should experience this hotel. Service is what it prides itself on and service is what it does as good as any hotel the world over.

Mauritians are known for their attentive, passionate and helpful service. That here is only a few of the things the staff do that make you feel that way. Whether it be the concierge desk where nothing is too much trouble, the friendly bar staff who always make you feel welcome, the excellence of all the waiter staff, or any of the white linen clad staff that have a sixth sense when to approach and offer your their assistance and when to blend seemlessly in to the background, whether its that you are greeted by name wherever you go, the service by ALL is second to none.

It is also remarkably easy to get answers, the concierge desk always has a solution, even when I had to request some medication from the Dr it was in my room within 20mins!

It is not the mistakes that you make, but the way you rectify them, I believe, that marks out quality.
Part of our package included breakfast on the beach. We organised this for a day that was clearly not communicated with the restaurant. Having arrived but been unable to experience it, J.Paul who appeared to manage this restaurant sought us out. He could not apologise enough and rescheduled for a time that suited us. He seemed genuinely dismayed that this had happened and we felt as though we were a personal crusade of his to improve our experience of his restaurant. This was enforced when, having attended the Beach for dinner and not being able to find something we would like (we are both fussy and my wife allergic to fish), J.Paul again sought us out and organised for us a special and unique meal for us in the Kitchen. It is attentiveness and a want to ensure you are happy that makes the service at the Lux Belle Mare better than anything else we have experienced and J.Paul is largely responsible for this.

There are others too that made our stay that extra special. Amar embodies the epitome of what a Waiter should be. Serving in the beautiful surrounds of Indouchine, he serves with a warming smile and quiet understated understanding of what you would want from a waiter. His knowledge is offered only when requested and his professionalism and expertise combined with his compassion and pleasure to serve mark him as, in our view, at the top of his trade and a standout member of a great team. He is supported at Indouchine by Poonam who also exerts a quiet professionalism that has attention to detail at its core that reinforces that the staff in this restaurant are experts in their field.

In the main restaurants you will continue to find staff who are only too willing to serve you and do so with a smile. Indeed if it is a smile you are looking for then Natasha is sure to brighten your day, her genuine warmth and contented service will make you appreciate those finer things all the more. Law also stood out with his attentive but personal service.

In the bar, the team are always willing, whatever the time, day or night, to make you whatever concoction your imagination can think up. Exemplified by Vicky, friendly service with a smile and a barman to share his local wisdom when invited to is what you will find in this stunning setting where life can pass by and you need not move a muscle.

Kevin would clean our room everyday. If we would return whilst he was there, he would always offer to leave but never leave you feeling like you were in his way. He was always smiling and would always enquire if everything was suitable and whether he could do any more for us.

But of course we came to Mauritius for one very specific purpose. To get married. Jessica is the wedding coordinator and is very good at her role. She met with us early and easily allayed any fears or concerns we had. She was always approachable with a wide smile and willingness to do anything we requested. Importantly for someone in this position, she did everything of her we asked; not a small feat as there were various random requests! We can not thank her enough.

My wife was also very worried about having her hair done etc but Asha did a great job for her for which I know she was so relieved and very grateful.


Activities

The Boat House is within the hotel complex and is staffed by a group of welcoming and knowledgable locals, who offer a whole range of activities from snorkelling and glass bottom boat sailing, to cayaking, peddle boats and water skiing.
I learnt to dive and within an hour was 3m under the sea, exploring the coral reef surrounded by a whole host of tropical fish. One of my best experiences to date.
And I didn't pay a penny for any of it.

Extra touches

There are some fantastic extra touches that really complete your stay here. Hidden drinks cabinets in the gardens, constant refreshing of towels by the pool or cold hand towels before dinner all pale in to insignificance next to some of the more personal service.

On our last evening at the hotel, we booked in to Indouchine. On arrival we were escorted to the best table and presented with a personalised menu that was printed with our names on and a unique and personal menu of fine dining. We were treated to a fantastic dinner complete with wine pairing and a level of service that was so personal and unique I saw at least a few tears form in my wife's eyes.

We can't thank those responsible enough.

There were some great things organised like a small market on the beach, an astronomer one night to point out the southern hemisphere constellations and little cocktail bars set up outside of the bar setting. It all added to the overall experience.

Wedding

If you're thinking of getting married here we would definitely recommend it.
You have the option of a beautiful gazebo on its own island in a handmade lagoon complete with waterfall, accessed by a bridge and surrounded by a rainbow mix of carpe, or a marquee on the beach.
We had a table decoration organised by Jessica that incorporated the flowers we wanted and everything is tended to so there really is little to worry about.
There are legal steps to complete but our tour operator Maurtourco organised all this for us and made it very easy.
Jessica organised a photographer from Time Capture photography who were excellent, guided by you but full of ideas and who provided a beautiful album of wedding shots nicely edited and ensured we had a timeless reminder of our day.
If you want an easy, stress free wedding in the most beautiful of settings, this is a good choice.

Summary

Everyday I went for dinner, wanted a drink, simply walked through the grounds, I can honestly use the old cliche: I felt like I was the most important guest there.

If you want to enjoy paradise and the very best of service, look no further. You've found it.

Room Tip: Even the basic rooms here are beautifully done. We paid the extra because it was a special occasion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsabigplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare - your home here in Mauritius!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review posted by you on Trip Advisor for us. The entire team joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Weddings are special moments in life and we thank you for choosing us to celebrate this special occasion with us. You have detailed all the areas of the resort from the Pure Discovery experience to the various dining options and the features of the resort, which I am sure will be of great assistance for all our future guests who may be planning their holidays with us. Guest Service is of paramount importance to our team and I thank you for detailing this facet of our resort offerings so well.

Like Jean Paul, Amar, Jessica, Kevin and Asha - we believe all of our team members are truly our biggest strength and I shall be passing on your compliments to the team members mentioned by you.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was our 7th visit to this resort. We had enjoyed all our previous visits and were slightly concerned as to whether the rebranding of the hotel might have been detrimental, but we were not disappointed.
The interior is lightened overall and the introduction of Cafe Lux where the reception used to be is a big improvement and also reception now being a little more private is a good feature.
The refurbished rooms are lovely - the decor and furnishings previously were rather dark and needed updating. The bed and linen was brilliant and we loved the updated bathroom with the oval bathtub and great shower. One good feature that obviously is unchanged is the good size of the rooms and bathrooms.
The restaurants and food remain very good. As previous, our favourite is Indochine for fine dining, although as mentioned by another guest there at the same time as us, children and babies should not really be allowed in this restaurant. Having said this we had a special menu cooked for my husband there on three evenings, as he cannot eat spicy food, arranged by Roopesh, which was great. They really went out of their way to make it special each time.
We also enjoyed lunches and some dinners at The Beach restaurant, which is now larger and with a great menu and extremely well managed by Vick. "The Kitchen" buffet restaurant where you also have breakfast was good - sorry we don't like the new name - and perhaps the only criticism here is that the breakfasts do become rather "samey" after 14 days.
The all inclusive was a great plus as we had no worries about accumulating extra costs.
This is a fabulous resort in a great location - we have always liked the Mauritian thatched roofing and the great beach and pool.
However, the best feature of all remains the staff. All the staff are extremely helpful, always smiling, always address you by name and go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. They genuinely enjoy their work and there is a very good team spirit.
We would specially like to mention, Sheila (Guest Relations Manager) and Ravin (Restaurants Manager.)

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! First of all a sincere thank you from the entire team at the resort for your continued trust in us and for a wonderful review for us on this forum. We are glad that you liked the changes in the place and the small touches on offer in the resort. The biggest strength of ours - Our team is practically the same and this brings about continuity in our service standards, thereby enabling all our guests - repeaters and new guests alike to relax and rejuvenate through their holiday with us. We have taken on board your comment on the breakfast offerings and we are working on it. A sincere thank you for mentioning our STARS in your comment. Infact like Sheila, Roopesh, Vick and Ravin; each of our team members reflects genuinity and passion in their interactions with all our guests and are responsible for turning a very good holiday in to a great experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your home here in mauritius;

Warm island regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Cannot sat perfect as it would then be unable to give better resrts a higher rating, but the Belle Mar is a really great resort that would be a 4 star plus hotel. the staff are superb and no staff member should be nmamed as they all exceeded our expectations of service manners often missing in 5 star hotels 100/100.
My wife is a coeliac and was catered for admirably the head chef was there to meet us when we arrived and all of the staff waiters and waitresses knew her dietary requirements, brilliant sweets, fresh bread wonderful. 100/100
Our 14 night stay began during French school holidays, French children very well behaved no issues with them at all, but the resort can appear busy when its not. The dining rooms are all really nice, food is great and varied but if you want fine dining you dont expect crying children being fed by their parents bringing food into the Indochine and lagoustier fine dining restaurants from the Kitchen restaurant. mainly our Eastern European guests I would add. Lux you really need an adult only restauarant.
Rooms are ebing updated, we were there for 14 nights and hoped that we may have been given an updated Junior Suite in a bright sunny beachside view as requested. No such luck although the rooms are all of a good standard. We had a sea view from our balcony room 3110, but it was dark and you needed the lights on at all times the rather dismal colours dont help and the dark mahogony furniture is depressing after 14 days. The furniture and fittings are getting a bit worn to say the least, but the beds are comfy and well dressed and room service is very good. We asked if we could be moved to a brighter room after a few days but were told the hotel was full and as we were there for a long time a room could not be made available as it would overlap other bookings, nonsense really! We did ask to see the other rooms at the resort. We looked at a lagoon suite next to the beach front villas but this was not available so we were told even though we would have paid the extra. We also looked at a senior suite, wow. We asked the price and was astounded at being asked to pay 500 euros a night extra, as being non lottery winners we had to decline. We would have chosen a honeymoon suite as the additional cost is very little and good value for money, but were not affered one of these, maybe they are reserved for young couples who knows. would we stay there again, yes, but not in a room that has not been refurbished as they are all the same price but certainly of a different standard, maybe we did not complian loudly enough reading some of the other reports. Did it spoil our overall holiday yes probably it did. Room 70/100
Extras we were on all inclusive so you believe that simple things like smoothies (fruit juices) would be included, not by the pool. Until I checked my account aftrer a few days I noticed 2 smoothies 550 rupees (£13), I complained at the reception and was told even though we were all inclusive smoothies were not part of the deal. This happened twice so beware these are the most expensive drinks at the resort. All inclusive hidden charges 90/100.
Dress code can be ignored as many do. The code is supposedly trousers/slacks and no flip flops to dinner for men, many came to dinner in knee length shorts and flip flops, I am no snob but when you try to apply a standard make sure its followed or dont request it in your hotel guide. either impose the standard or watch your overall standards drop.
Overall super resort very well run and great for all ages, groups, individuals, families alike, wonderful setting, beach fabuluos, beautiful island and wonderful people.

Room Tip: only accept a refurbished room, the rooms are all the same size, but the old ones are dismal and dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanLincolnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare! A sincere thank you for your detailed comment for us on Trip Advisor. You have rated us a great resort for all ages and for families and couples alike; something which believe it honestly is. The spacious and comfortable rooms, the beautifully landscaped gardens and variety and quality of food and beverage offerings on offer combine to make a great holiday experience for all our guests. You have at the very beginning of your comment highlighted the biggest asset of ours - our team! Indeed, we believe that our team members have the ability to ensure each guest of ours is able to relax and unwind completely by their unobtrusive, gentle and genuine service style. This feature alone is one of the biggest reasons for the faith and trust imposed by many a guests in us. We have taken your comments on the rooms, the dress code and an adults only restaurant on board and we are working on these presently. Unfortunately, we were unable to offer you a renovated room through your stay due to high occupancies. I do hope you do visit us again and can assure you we will try our utmost to ensure a wonderful room for you during your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future to showcase to you the changes brought about based on your suggestions and more importantly to offer you a yet another relaxing and rejuvenating experience with us;

Warm island regards,
Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
57.0 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,554 reviews
31.0 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,429 reviews
6.7 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,434 reviews
10.5 km away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.3 km away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing