We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveller rating
820
415
120
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
415
120
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoco barpomelo restaurantall inclusive packagedeluxe roommini clubglass bottom boatour honeymoonsea facingevery eveningdifferent themefour stara wonderful staya la carte restaurantmain restaurantfree activitieskids clubspent a week
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2017

First let me start by saying that the location of this resort is superb. All rooms are sea facing and one can walk to the beach. The outside balcony area is lovely - unfortunately we were not smokers and I was pregnant - so we could not enjoy the outside balcony area. Our neighbours smoked continuously and had late parties inside and outside their room with friends. so we rarely sat outside. In fact smoking is allowed everywhere on this resort - at the pool, outside the rooms, bar, outside dining areas - EVERYWHERE. Parents smoke with their children sitting next to them. So if you are a smoker - you'll surely be in paradise. The indoor dining area is the only place one cannot smoke.

Good points though - staff are all friendly and try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Unfortunately the bathroom in our room reached of urine. After a couple of failed 'deep cleans' - I asked to be moved to another room. staff accommodated this request - thankfully the neighbours were not smokers and we could get some sleep at night! After all Mauritius is supposed to be a relaxing retreat, right?

The buffet breakfasts and dinners are wonderful - my kids can't stop talking about the evening themes and variety of food served. For lunches we went to the local mall - the cost of the taxi and food was way cheaper than the cost of the lunches at the hotel for a family of four.

The kids club mostly caters for younger children but my children enjoyed it any way. The staff went out of their way to make activities fun and entertaining. They have a variety of activities and the staff are quite friendly.

All in all this would have been a wonderful holiday if not for the smoking. If I had known the smoking upfront - I would have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 110Traveller700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear 110Traveller700,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy to know that you had a wonderful time during your stay at Solana Beach.

My team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon for another memorable experience.

With kind regards

Fabio Meo
Resort Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile

A wonderful week at a beautiful relaxing place. The staff were all smiles and cheery especially our favorite lady at the restaurant, Aarti, who always greeted and helped with a smile and her personal touch. The beach and activities were great. Will not recommend an all inclusive or full board package as the meals were def. not even at a mediocre standard. In fact, was inedible. We found the street food so much better.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank tashiem2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear tashiem2015,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Solana Beach for your holidays. It is very rewarding to learn that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us.

Here at Solana Beach, our goal is to make something memorable for every guest and your kind words will be shared to the whole team to assure them of the excellent job that they are providing to our guests.

We have taken on board your comments with regards to culinary experience.

We look forward to welcome you back soon for another memorable experience.

With kind regards

Fabio Meo
Resort Manager



(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2017

We've just returned from 10 nights at solana beach and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a superior room which was plenty enough space for the two of us - room was clean and today and house keeping were excellent.
Food at the cinamone buffet restaurant was great, fab selection and a wide variety of food. We had a meal in secrets corner which was way below average, poor service and food fell short of expectations . (2+ hrs for a 3 course meal isnt great) Unfortunately this put us off eating in pomelo in favour of sticking with the buffet!
We booked a car to have many days out which was great and everywhere was in easy reach of the hotel
We did the glass bottom boat tour which we really enjoyed
Weather was good but the east side of the island is very windy - didn't spoil things for us but we did speak to a few couples who were disappointed with the lack of heat/ sunshine.

Overall there could be improvements to the hotel such as organising meal times - still not sure what the system is to be seated and fed. More than once we came back from getting food to our table being cleared of drinks etc! We had a great time, the bar staff are excellent and there's something for everyone. Theres a diverse mix of people/ family situations so I don't think anyone would feel in a minority regardless !

The main issue I had was with inappropriate music. We don't have kids but as a resort with a kids club which advertises being family friendly there was an awful lot of expletives in songs on a lunch time which I would find in keeping in a bar on a night time but not around the pool around midday. Was quite disappointing.

I would recommend the hotel for people wanting a reasonably priced getaway in Mauritius.

Room Tip: Bottom floor leads straight to beach
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear Sarah T,

Thank you for having chosen Solana Beach for your holidays and also for sharing your recent experience on Trip advisor. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the various activities on offer at our resort.

In our ongoing effort to exceed our guests’ expectations, please rest assured that your feedback on music has been passed on to our Leisure Manager.

We hope to welcome you back to Solana Beach soon for another memorable experience.

With kind regards

Fabio Meo
Resort Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2017

Just returned from a trip to Mauritius and stay at Solana Beach. I am glad that whilst i read other reviews - i booked anyway. Location is great - good access to beach - pls get beach shoes/slippers - theres a lot of coral. This seems to be for beaches all along the north east side. Definitely upgrade to Deluxe room - spacious, easy access to beach and located close to water sports section. There was a lot of bad reviews for the food - complaints of the same food every day etc. I didnt mind the selection of food - it all depends what you come here for... i was here for the beach and some sight-seeing... requiring a comfortable room and access to some food. So i was happy - yes the breakfast is the same every-day - but so is every other business hotel that i have been too! The pasta is great, the pizza is great and those are available every night. The resort tries hard with different themed nights and these were hits for most people there - naturally there were those that complained!

Sunny- one of the restaurant managers was great. We had our little 3yr old with us - and he enjoyed spoiling her and also looking out for her - when she tried to get away from us... its a kid friendly resort and they didnt mind that our little one and some other guests' kids ran around the restaurant... every quite enjoyed the excitement!

Again i'd strongly recommend the deluxe rooms and wont mind going to Solana again - if i go to Mauritius anytime in near future....

Drinks are expensive at the resort - take a taxi to Flacq centre - costs around Rs800 - for the driver to wait for you - we booked via the hotel - however the taxi stand is immediately outside the gate of Solana - so you can also try there. Theres a Super-U in Flacq centre - this is where we stocked up on drinks and snacks - reasonably priced. The market is around the corner and we bought fruits there - limited variety though... i can imagine summer fruits!

We rented a car for half of our stay as we wanted to relax the rest of the time... as with most resorts - they tend to be isolated - so getting around without a car is difficult and you will have to contend with fixed tours. Driving is an experience in Mauritius - roads are narrow and cars just stop on the road - requiring traffic to go around... happens quite a lot and it does not seem to be an issue with locals... island life! overtaking is dangerous and be on the lookout for crazy drivers taking chances overtaking around bends...

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank gonaszn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Dear gonaszn,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that you had a perfect relaxing holidays and you appreciated the efforts that our team put in to satisfy our guests needs.

Your kind comments have been forwarded to the whole team as we do pride ourselves on our high level of service and we are very dedicated in making each and every guest stay as special as possible.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
With kind regards

Fabio Meo
Resort Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2017

Wonderful location with the beach at a walk able distance. nicely maintained around and the cleanliness is ensured around the resort location. Food - Nice Buffet and daily themes make sure that you are not bored. Staff went out of the way to ensure our vegetarian needs were taken care of. Glass bottom boat activity - thoroughly enjoyed. Activities purely depend on the weather though - Couldn't manage snorkeling for example.

Distance from the airport - Quite a drive! The price at the inhouse restaurants is pretty high - If you are looking for just a casual eat-out, consider the restaurants nearby as well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pranesh313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... P, Guest Relations Manager at Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Dear pranesh313,

Thank you for sparing some time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Solana Beach.
We are pleased to hear that our team members were able to provide you with an excellent service throughout your stay, and that you enjoyed staying in our picturesque part of the island.

We sincerely look forward to your next stay with us soon.
Kind regards

Fabio Meo
Resort Manager


(jjeanmore@southerncrosshotels.mu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews