We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Firstly the rooms are great, luxurious, spacious and very well designed with a private lovely outdoor area with a plunge pool. The housekeeping was also excellent and the Spa was wonderful.

Now for the downside. We stayed early in January which is apparently a very busy time. There are only 2 restaurants and both were full of families with young (and when we were there, very rowdy and badly behaved) children. We spoke to the food and beverage manager who said that it was a busy time and that there was nothing that he could do to control the children. We therefore had the remaining meals in our villa.

We were very disappointed as we chose this hotel on the basis of their marketing as a romantic couples destination.
We really did not want to have all of our dinners in our room and in addition had to pay a hefty surcharge for this privilege.
We were actually quite disappointed in the quality of the food in general. For a high end hotel, the food was pretty average.

Finally, we had a problem with the drainage in our shower which meant that the area flooded every time we had a shower. We complained constantly and were assured that it would be sorted out. It never was and we received no feedback at all. Again, it's not the sort of service that you expect In a quality hotel.

We made a formal complaint as we were leaving and then later wrote a letter to the General Manager. He responded by telling us that they were having some problems with tree roots in this villa. They were obviously aware of this the first time that we complained and indeed, the discoloration on the tiles suggested that it had been occurring for quite some time. The most annoying thing was that we received absolutely no communication or feedback.

Thus, despite the lovely rooms, I would definitely not recommend this hotel. It certainly compared very poorly to other high end (and similarly priced) hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Sydneygirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

The only problem that I have with Maradiva Villas is - whichever hotel we go to next we will probably compare badly against the Maradiva villas. Service was exemplary, Villas comfortable and private, beach lovely, and the staff were superb.

When we arrived at the Maradiva villas, we had no idea what to expect. To be fair it took a couple of days to realise the philiosophy of the hotel. If you want disco's and night life don't book Maradiva, if however you want a really special relaxing hotel then go to Maradiva. The service was exceptional, the beach was stunning with 10 - 20 metres between sun loungers. The staff couldn't do enough for you. All in all we were totally relaxed and happy. What a brilliant holiday

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smileyjohn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

It is my pleasure to know that our hotel stands out the most among the properties you have visited worldwide. The exemplarity of our service combined with the confort and privacy of our villas create the perfect environment for forgetting the outside world and simply relaxing.

On behalf of all at Maradiva Mauritius, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am glad you were able to take home wonderful memories from the time spent us. Your comments are a valuable tool for us to continue to improve our services for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is really a first class resort.
The villas with private pool, huge outdoor terrace / living area area are lovely. There is also a very large bathroom, walk in wardrobe, small private garden with an outdoor shower.
The bathroom has a large bath, full size walk in shower that is glass and over looks the private garden.
The bedroom is very well furnished, comfortable and opens out on to the outdoor living area and plunge pool
The terrace is furnished with chairs and a sofa, this is also where you have your tea and coffee making facilities and mini fridge.
There is also an iPod docking station.
The pool has steps into it and is big enough to swim a few strokes. At the side of the pool is a huge day bed with loads of cushions.
We used the outdoor terrace and the pool constantly, we had a beachfront villa and still found it to be very private.
The steps into the pool were brilliant for sitting on during the day for reading, it enabled me to get the sun yet stay cool.
At night the outdoor terrace was a lovely place to relax, play music and just enjoy yourself.
We spent two weeks here in January and loved every minute of it.
The in house dining service was second to none, we had breakfast delivered to the terrace most days we also had some lunches and an evening meal there too. The service was impeccable and discreet.
There are 2 restaurants Cilantro, where we ate most evenings, the food is first class as is the service.
Coast 2 Coast is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food here is also good.
If there was one fault with the resort it was the breakfast service at coast 2 coast, however, the lunch and dinner service was good.
We just avoided the breakfast there by having it delivered to our terrace.
All of the staff are polite, helpful and discreet. Most remember your name and villa number.
The front of house staff reception and porters were also extremely good.
We had one item of lost luggage and they did everything they could to track it and have it delivered to us.
I cannot recommend this resort highly enough if you want a private luxury holiday

Room Tip: We loved our beachfront villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appleacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled that your holiday was both wonderful and memorable for you. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for offering your comments on our property.

Be sure that we took notes of your remarks concerning breakfast at Coast to Coast. We continually work hard to give our guests only the best and it is with feedback such as yours that we are given reassurance that we are meeting the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us .We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a go out there in one or should i say actually two villas one next to each other... Awesome... Small pool in front of it... However the pool and the door we open air and it was not a private like villa as expected! However the service was great... No difference whatsoever between locals and tourist.. All treated fear and square... I personally hate buffet meal but we opted to have the food in room and was awesome... Nice deco and very spacy rooms and all wood... Awesome the cracking sound when you walk around just like the old colonial house

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enigmaticvampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

To hear of your experience while staying with us is a pleasure. Your comments concerning the privacy is very important and allow us to improve our service and exceed your expectations for future visits.

I am delighted to know that you felt at home throughout your stay and were pleased with the various aspects of our resort including the décor and the craking sound of the villas, restaurants and the service.

On behalf of the entire team, I wish to thank you for choosing Maradiva Mauritius for your holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back to Maradiva for your next holiday.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We were travelling in November 2011 with my husband and our 16 moths old baby. I had quite high expetations with this hotel and some it fullfilled some not.
Beach was amazing, beautifull, private and quite long. Service In beach Bar was fast and good.
Villas were spacious, decorated nicely. Have to remember that in Mauritius or Seychelles interior decoration dos not come very high level... According to this, villas were nicely decorated. Inside area had nice earthly colors, bed was good and huge sized. Cealing was high witch gave more feeling of space. And I loved, loved, loved this airconditioner! It didn't make any sound at all!
Villa had good baby equipments, luxurious crib, nappy trash, box for used baby bottles ( witch they sterilaized for us). Meaby best was still that they bild a fence around our pool, for safety of our baby. It really made our holiday easier.
Out door living area was really nice, althought we had some mosquitoes every evening. But ok they are every where.
Privete pool was amazing! And huge sun bed! And hole private yard was so nicely covered with plants and trees. So You could go swimming or sunbathing with out wearing anything. And still You had gorgeus sea view.
It was so luxurios.
Hotel area were so beautifull! And so well maintained! It was also very private, there were 50 villas or little over and the hotel area was huge. So You really could have your own space, this was maybe main thing that we were looking at our holiday.
It was well guarded, You couldnt get In on hotel area with normal taxi. They only let hotel own taxis in.
Hotel had plenty of activities with sea and on land but with baby on board we didn't have
possibility to try so many.
Ok then the food. Well I'm so dissapointed to tell that the food was afwull. In hole 2 weeks I had only one ok starter and everything else were really really awfull. I cant understand how can they go so wrong. With so good material, fresh fruits and everything. Everywhere they didnt use salt or any spaices, and every food was swimming In oil witch had funny side taste. But this wasnt problem only In Maradiva, it was totally same food In hole island. Have to remember that this is only my opinion and I really hope that somebody enjoys these dishes.
Athmosphere In restaraunts were nice and elegant. Especially In this Asian restaurants they had soothing live music every evening. And always presentation of dishes were perfect, I couldnt do better even my self. But pity it didn't effect the taste.
Service was one of the best that I have ever had. And I could say that great staff really but one
extra star on this hotel!
Room service really filled our every wish, and with small baby we really used they services.
Also housekeeping was amazing! They came as an army and worked fast and effect.
So over all I could say maybe second best hotel that I have had privileged to stay. But still worth 6*! Elegant luxury hotel!
I could go again, if I could take my own food with me...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlbusAngelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

It is my pleasure to know that our hotel stands out the most among the properties you have visited worldwide.

We are continually finding ways to ensure your stay is as luxurious as possible and meet the needs for your ideal getaway.

We regret that you were disappointed with your food experience and hope that this will not tarnish your overall impression of our property. Since your stay, we have unveiled a variety of options for dining throughout the resort.

On behalf of all at Maradiva Mauritius, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am glad you were able to take home wonderful memories from the time spent with us.
Your comments are a valuable tool for us to continue to improve our services for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went for a family vacation and got just that and more! The villas are very comfortable in size and each villa has a private pool with a beautiful under-cover terrace. The bathroom has a view on a private garden with an inside and outside shower. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and there are plenty of activities to do in and around the hotel. Most of the activities are included in the room rates - we went for a dolphin trip, swimming with about a 100 dolphins which was amazing!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Greetings from Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa!

On behalf of all at Maradiva Mauritius, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and I am glad you were able to take home wonderful memories from the time spent with your family. Your comments are a valuable tool for us to continue to improve our services for future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to Maradiva again for your next holiday.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It's a bit late, went on honeymoon in sept, the place is amazing! The maradiva staff are so polite and helpful, the room we stayed in was brilliant! The staff made our honeymoon very special. I would Defo recommend to any honeymoon makers to visit and stat here

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kuli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Resident Manager at Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted to hear were blown away by our resort and were able to take memories of a honeymoon in paradise that you can cherish forever, we are thrilled to receive feedback such as yours. Your comments will be shared with all the staff.

we are continually finding ways to ensure your stay is as luxurious as possible and meet the needs for your ideal romantic getaway.

Thank you once again for your stay with us. Congratulations to you both and we truly hope to welcome you back to Maradiva to celebrate your first anniversary.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.7 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,520 reviews
17.0 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,865 reviews
29.9 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,207 reviews
0.2 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
44.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa

Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#4 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: $627 - $1,565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely on the island, our luxury five-star resort features the discreet opulence of private villas for all our guests. Inspired by its Indian heritage, the Maradiva experience which includes an award winning Holistic spa, haute cuisine, and a private pool in the grounds of every villa, is defined by understated elegance and impeccable service. In a lush 27-acre setting with the turquoise waters of Tamarin Bay lapping our white sandy beach, the 65 villas at Maradiva are at the heart of a vibrant paradise, ideally situated for world-class golf, coral diving, big game fishing, and the island's beautiful national parks. At Maradiva, all our guests stay in the intimate harmony of their own private air- conditioned villas, with a butler available 24 hours a day. Our 49 luxury villas, 8 beach front villas, 6 exclusive villas and 2 Presidential villas each have their own private terrace, garden and infinity-edge pool, with the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean right on the doorstep. For families or small groups, we also offer interconnecting villas. Guests looking for the ultimate peaceful hideaway can enjoy fine dining and many spa services in the privacy of their own villa. You can come to us, or we'll come to you. You choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maradiva Villas Hotel Flic En Flac
Maradiva Hotel Flic En Flac
Taj Exotica Mauritius
Maradiva Villas Resort And Spa Mauritius/Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing