We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
7
43
18
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
43
18
7
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Had a great stay at the Oasis Beach Resort for 11days,leaving last Friday(24 Feb 2012).,using it has both a base for exploring the island,and just relaxing by the beach.Swimming area a couple of minutes walk from the beach.
Staff are welcoming,friendly and always helpful.
Scooter,car hire or a taxi'tour' can easily be organized by Andrea(Manager)
The rooms are aircon,with a bar fridge and TV,and all have great seaviews.
Highly recommended as a great value Mauritius Beachfront Resort!!

Room tip: For me D7 was a great room.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ko2678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I just recently stayed in the Oasis Beach Club for 7 nights, which has been repainted since the pictures were taken. Clean room , very nice view, excellent dinner every day (well, I never made it to breakfast), helpful, friendly staff. Thanks guys!

Room tip: I think all of the rooms are good, I had D7, quiet, very nice view.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gigantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have travelled with my fiancee and we've really enjoyed the trip.

If you are looking for a hotel, you're not gonna stay all the time in and don't wanna spend your vacation just lying on the hotel beach, this is good choice for you.

Friendly and always helpful service made our stay unforgettable.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ungetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Stayed at the Oasis Beach for 11 nights in March 2011. Having travelled the world and stayed in hotels from no grade to 6 grade, we can honestly say that the Oasis Beach provides very good value for money. Surely the nightly charges are an indication of what you might expect in the way of hotel amenities, so why the negative reviews?

On arrival we were met by Faisal the reception manager who gave us a brief tour and introduction to the hotel and its surrounding ameneties. Our room was sited within 10 yards of the beach which is just what we had requested. It was clean and adequately furnished and contained everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Yes the hotel could probably do with a coat of paint and yes the bath mats are a bit frayed around the edges, but so what? The shower worked well, the TV had English films and news, the tiled floor was mopped each day and the bed linen and white towels were changed each morning. When we had a problem with the hot water, it was sorted out within 20 minutes. Our request for an iron and a kettle was dealt with efficiently.

The four course evening meal was served to our table by friendly staff who never got our request for vegetarian food wrong. As a result we were able to eat everything put in front of us. It was good food, freshly prepared just as we like it to be. We have stayed in expensive hotels where we have been struck down by food poisoning from the nicely presented (albeit extensive) buffet! Food at the Oasis is served to your table without the addition of flies or germs! Cold, bottled water is also provided with the meal, and at no extra charge, something which is not always the case in other hotels..

The air conditioning was one of the quietest I have ever come across and very effective as the temperature outside stayed pretty hot day and night. The full size fridge in the kitchen meant that you didn't have to remove the contents of a mini bar before you could put in drinks purchased from outside. In fact we never felt any pressure to buy expensive drinks from the bar or go on organised trips, again something which is not always the case in other hotels.

The Italian hotel owner makes himself available to guests in the evening and regularly checks to see that you are enjoying your holiday. He was always willing to answer your questions and seemed genuinely interested in the wellbeing of his guests.

Faisal was on hand to advise on things such as bus routes and places to visit and didn't automatically assume we would be travelling everywhere by taxi. We actually prefer local buses as it allows us to get on and off whenever we see something of local or cultural interest, which was exactly what happened this time when we got involved in the celebrations for the annual Hindu Holi festival. Coming back to the hotel covered in red and blue powder paint was a new experience for us and something we are unlikely to get involved in again, but all good fun nevertheless.

On our day of departure, Faisal arranged for us to receive a wake up call from the night watchman at 5:00 am and then for our cases to be collected from our room and the taxi notifed. We have stayed in many a hotel where this level of service is not automatically available. Usually you get an automated phone call and it's up to you to arrange for your cases to be collected.

So if you want to stay in a hotel where they actually do care whether you are having a good holiday or not and where you can be assured of properly cooked food and no tummy bugs then opt for the Oasis and you won't go far wrong. You will have the added bonus of a fantastic view from your hotel room and being woken up each morning by a flurry of red and yellow birds singing in the trees outside. If you want music, dancing and parties every night, barbecues on the beach and Sky TV in the room then go somewhere else and pay the price.

I for one, and my husband for another, would be quite happy to return to the Oasis. As said, relax, it's a good hotel!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suprit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and discovered that it looked nothing at all like the pictures on the website. It was supposed to be a white painted building but instead it was grubby and rundown and in desperate need of a repaint and upgrade.

The room was pretty basic, as you would expect from a 2 star hotel. However, the room had a very unpleasant musty smell to it as did the wardrobes and the bed linen. The curtains did not close properly and although there was air conditioning you were not able to use it, as there was no remote control to regulate the temperature. We wanted to contact our family overseas upon arrival and discovered that the telephone in the room did not work at all. We were also informed that international calls were not at all possible to make, from the hotel. The sheets also had holes in them.

Our room had a side sea view and stepped out onto a small patio. The patio chairs were broken and the cushions were old, dirty and covered in cat hair. Beyond the patio was what could have been a very nice garden except the grass was quite long and unkempt. We were told that the beach right in front of the hotel was not suitable for swimming, as it was full of rocks but we could use the beach further along. The problem with this was that we would have had to use another hotel deckchairs and therefore be pretending to be their residents, which we were, not comfortable with. We chose this hotel, because it was right on the beach and this fact was even advertised on the web site as such. This was a major disappointment and we felt that we had been conned.

Our rate included breakfast and dinner daily. We arrived for our first meal in the evening time. There was just one other couple in the restaurant at the time. We were seated and then the staff member just vanished. We were not even offered anything to drink! The table setting was really disgusting. The tablecloth was filthy and the overlays were washed out. There were no side plates, no salt & pepper pots and a teaspoon was provided for dessert as we later discovered. Eventually the staff member appeared and we ordered a drink. A fanta and a beer were the very same price, which we found incredibly odd. The so-called bar had an incredibly limited amount of stock. There was no menu and we were not sure what exactly the dinner was all about as there was no buffet. Eventually we were given a starter, which I then asked what it consisted of and the reply was β€œI don’t know” and no effort was made to inform us. The starter wasn’t bad. Next a bowl of pasta with spinach arrived which was revolting. We couldn’t eat it. We were worried that that was all that we were getting and luckily another dish appeared. It was a very small piece of fish with a few potatoes and tomato sauce on the top. That was it! There was no rice or salad to go with it. It was tasty but the fish (not sure what type) was dried out. Plain vanilla ice cream followed. I still felt hungry afterwards. We weren’t offered any coffee or any more to drink either. As I have already mentioned the restaurant was not at all busy which is why there is no excuse whatsoever for the serious lack of service.

Another issue with the staff was the noise. The radio was on full and this was in the bar which was right opposite our room had to get out of bed and ask them to turn it down so I could go to sleep!
The next afternoon we wanted to rest in our room and it was the same story we had to ask for the radio to be turned down once again. This time they complied and a short while later they turned it back up in full again. We asked them to turn it down at least three times in less than 24 hours. The staff would also be lounging around in the bar area and by that I mean sitting in the chairs that are surely for guests use. The staff were even entertaining a baby in the bar again making it unusable for guests. The staff was also very unfriendly and wouldn’t even bother to greet you they were just happy to carry on doing exactly whatever they wanted. There was no manager in sight!

Breakfast was even worse than dinner. There was no service at all. The same dirty tablecloth was still on the table along with the rusty candleholders used as dΓ©cor for dinner! It was a very limited buffet. This included stale cake and stale marie (tea biscuits). I had to make my husband his own eggs and there were no sauces available. Our plates weren’t cleared and we sat there trying to enjoy our coffee while the flies landed on the plates.

When we complained we were told that it was a two star hotel and we must expect two star standards. The problem is the service provided was not 2 star, it was barely 1 star. Our complaint is that we were not provided with the service we paid for. We were also told that the hotel was what was represented on the website. The attached pictures taken by us clearly show that this is not the case; Dirty unclean floors in the dining room with cracked tiles. The door to the kitchen looks like something from a slum, the sight of staff walking out with a filthy hotplate did not entice us to eat more than one meal from the restaurant. The stairs to the beach looked like they were crumbling apart & the general unkempt and grotty appearance of the outside of the hotel is a million miles from the clearly edited versions on the website.

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank endabob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews