We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
121
11
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
11
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla pointela terrassetennis courtsbeach frontkids clubjapanese fusiongrand damemagnificent hotelscented candlesyounger guestsmajor refurbishmentlive cookingspa poolindian oceanpersonal trainingevening cocktailshalf board
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 143 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2017

We went for dinner at the pan Asian restaurant for my sister's birthday. It was just the best service ,décor and food. The staff really go out of their way to help. Food was exquisite and total perfection. We took the waiter's recommendations mainly and we were not disappointed at all. The fish served were very specially prepared with the best and freshest of ingredients. Here is a list of amazing staff who made our evening memorable :Charles the chef from Barbados,Khemraj from reception, Aurelie the sommelier, Thomas and all the staff at the panasian restaurant. Special thanks to the staff at the bar too who were all amazing.Thank you for a blissful experience,
Best wishes
Kiran.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kiloo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDFD, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear kiloo17,

Thank you for taking the time to share a wonderful review of our restaurant Tapasake. We are delighted to hear you find the food to be a “total perfection”, and that our colleagues were able to create a blissful experience. We hope you’ll have a chance to return for another amazing dining experience at our gorgeous restaurant very soon, and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Charles De Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 24, 2017

You will be reading this because you are either considering whether to return to your much loved St Geran or wondering which 5* hotel to stay at in Mauritius.

After staying at the St Geran over twelve years we were nervous returning after a nine month refurbishment. It has retained everything that was great but that is now set in luxury rooms with new pool areas and bars, all beautifully refurbished.

Everyone will enjoy the beautifully decorated bedroom suites, quiet and tasteful with well appointed bathrooms that make you relax the moment you walk through the entrance or land on the helipad.

The activity 'One Club' is a great addition to the hotel, skillfully designed to provide something fun or energetic for the whole family - new kids club, teen area games room with pool, table tennis and play stations, an amazing gym equipped well with spinning bikes and a yoga room. Three tennis courts and paddle tennis as well as a football pitch means everyone can take part in something or just have a smoothie or beer at the ‘Ace Bar’. Sports staff are available to help with every activity to encourage or coach. There is no other hotel that provides such a Centre that embraces everyone.

Beyond the One club we water skied, went fishing in the lagoon, canoed and sailed. All easy to organize and partake in. The Lagoon provides the perfect place for beginner or proficient skiers.

The Terasse restaurant is enhanced in its variety of food and air conditioned buffet area. The night lighting around the restaurant is stunning and makes an evening a spectacle albeit a relaxed and casual affair. The new L’Artisan is a wonderful addition for anyone with a sweet tooth providing an amazing assortment of desert, sweets and chocolate.
For a special treat ‘Prime’ is refurbished with style providing world class cuts of meat and unusual starters and deserts to match any top London or New York restaurant. An alternative addition to the evening eating is found at Tapasaki which provides a fusion of Mexican , Korean and Indian where we ate sensational sushi, tandoori lamb and frozen cheesecake.

While we stayed we were delighted to see a world class ski show which although is not on every week there is always different entertainment organised by the hotel.

The spa has a new outlook with extended infinity pool providing a place of solitude and luxury to be experienced before or after a world class massage.

There is not an element of this special hotel that I could not fully recommend and what has been achieved in the refurbishment is a credit to all those who designed and project managed it though to its completion - we shall be back and anyone thinking about going would not be disappointed, the staff are as exceptional as ever.

Room Tip: Ocean view is spectacular, alternatively Lagoon rooms are peaceful.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank bes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDFD, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Dear bes5,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review posted on TripAdvisor. The entire team joins me in thanking you for your kind words, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were with us during the reopening of our Legendary Resort.

We are delighted that you so beautifully detailed your experience in the review and enabling the future travelers and readers of this forum to have an insight in to what a holiday at One&Only Le Saint Geran is like!

Indeed as mentioned in your review Club One is our exciting new hub for all things active, home to our KidsOnly club and OneTribe for teens, as well as a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre, and we are glad that you fully took advantage of it.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a yet another memorable experience with us.

Kind regards,
Charles De Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

Someone once said “Instead of waiting for perfection, run with what you do, and fix it along the way... “ and that’s pretty much what they are doing here at the One and Only st Geran!

The staff here are running pretty fast with no sparing their breaths to make sure this new gem takes its well deserved place within some of the best hotels if not the best hotel on thus island.

I have to admit after reading some of the negative reviews we were very anxious about arriving here and finding out that the hotel was a work in progress and on some aspects I have to say it is, it every single day it changes it shape and its blossoming before our eyes. Yes we did have a few issues with a leak in our bathroom which was eventually sorted and some minor problems with a bathroom door but overall we were happy with the way it was handled by the customer relations rep.

The managers are constantly around to have a chat, the starred chefs come to your table to ask you if you’re enjoying the meal there prepared for you, the housekeepers, the kids and entertainment staff , the receptionist and even the ushers always smile at you and are ready to take on any suggestion, comment or complaint with a professionalism that I rarely saw in other hotels.

We have now been here for about 6 days and have tried all the restaurants, the spa and the facilities and this is my honest opinion :

Food: as a very fussy eater and being Italian I always struggle to enjoy dinner when I am not in my home country or when I am not the cook... and I can guarantee you the food here is OUT OF THE WORLD! Anything from the succulent and tender steak in Prime to the pasta bolognese at La Terrasse, the typical Mauritian delicacies and fresh seafood, even the kids food it is all delicious. The only downside regarding the food was the dinner at Tapasake, which was incredibly tasty but took around 50 minutes between courses, so I suggest the management to review their menu to make sure the guests don’t have to wait so long to enjoy their full meal!

Room: we have a lagoon room and even with two pushchairs, a baby cot (which is by the way the best I have ever been provided by a hotel, nice solid wood and great mattress) the sofa bed for my other daughter and all the toys and stuff that come with two toddlers the room is very spacious and the dressing area just prefect to store any luggage away. The bathroom is equally spacious and the bath tub and shower add a touch of luxury.

Kids club: unfortunately the facilities for little children are still not available as they are waiting for the sunken trampoline to arrive but the kids have so far been well looked after from the staff in another room, however I do feel there’s not much activities in program nor toys to play with and so our kids are starting to get bored and prefer to be with us by the pool or beach

Pool: the family pool is great, we’ve always been able to get our sun beds and hopeful will still be the case now that the hotel is getting closer to full occupancy, pool staff are great and always bring you fresh water and lovely fresh and scented towels.

Beach: ok I have been to Polinesia and so I always compare that paradise to any other beach I visit....the beach at the one and only are nice and the beds are well spread out, the sand needs to be cleaned more often in my opinion and the water is not always as clear and blue as I would like it but as I said I have been spoiled when I went to Bora Bora...

Spa: this is a very important thing for me as a massage and spa fanatic and I have to say that the facility itself let me down. After being at the One and only in Dubai I was expecting a much more impressive building, however this spa here looks very humble compared to the Emirates ‘s sister and not as well equipped. First of all there’s no mixed sauna or steam room, so the women have their own in the changing rooms as well as he men. The treatment rooms evolve around the spa swimming pool and so when I was having my massage I could hear people taking and walking around which spoiled the atmosphere. Furthermore the choice of music is inadequate to the state of relaxation I believe guests try to reach when approaching and start their treatments. I have made this observation to the spa staff and hopefully the manage will reconsider

Now, after covering the areas that I believe are more important to give the readers of this review a fair view of this hotel and performances I need to add one more thing: there might be some teething issues and snags with this hotel that has just reopened from nearly a year of refurbishment but since I have been here I have been treated like a princess.

What makes this hotel so special and the reason why I am giving 5 stars is the amazing staff! They are making my holiday as a special retreat, they make me feel like I have been coming here for the past 20 years even if it is my first time in Mauritius, and I will certainly be back year after year!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank donaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDFD, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Dear Valentina O,

Thank you very much for sharing you experience at One & Only Le Saint Geran. It was a pleasure to welcome you during the reopening of our Legendary Resort.

It is truly a delighted to read your review and we are glad that your stay leaves up to your expectations. Thank you for highlighting the genuine hospitality of our dedicated team members. We shall ensure to share your accolades with them. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience within our wide array of restaurants; each conveys a distinctive style according to the purpose of your exciting culinary desire.

Once again, thank you for your positive observation and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Charles De Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

As you approach the impenetrable looking, steely gates, you cannot help but feel a little excited about arriving at the newly reopened One and Only, Saint Geran. What lies behind those gates ...

The experience starts immediately. Our welcome and check-in was excellent, simple and easy and I was pleasantly surprised to see the Hotel Manager and then the General Manager both come over in person to welcome us to the hotel. A very nice touch. A quick personal tour by your butler, and then we arrive at our room.

This place has just reopened its doors after 9 or 10 months of major refurbishment. We arrived within the first 3 days of the hotel taking guests, so I think it's important for me to set some context to this review. As with all major building works, there is always snagging, and yes, during my stay I experienced a number of minor issues relating to the fact that the hotel is essentially brand new. I'm not going to comment on those unless I feel they are fundamental to the hotel's design, as this review would not be very helpful if one critiques for simple, launch hiccups. I hope you agree that this is a fair and useful approach.

The place is majestic. The style is clean, modern and sumptuous. It's luxury living at its finest. We started out with a Beachfront room, which was lovely, but there was an issue with the AC so after the team responded and could not fix it, the Hotel Manager jumped in and moved us to a Beachfront Suite, a room approximately double the size. I think this act shows exactly where the service mentality is coming from - everyone here wants to please you and make your life as easy as possible.

The staff are everywhere, ready to serve or help, yet hold back professionally to leave you be and not pester you. I personally find the constant hand to chest little bow a bit much after the 100th time, but that's just a personal thing. I'm quite informal as a person. The Hotel and General Managers are always on site and don't try to hide away. It's a great setup.

You somehow feel like you are relaxing alongside the company of celebrity in this place. Now I'm not a celeb fan type, but the fabulous range of guests here makes for excellent people watching. Was that chap a Hollywood film producer? Maybe. Is that lady in the stripped racing livery famous? Don't know. I’m stretching it a little, OK, but one thing is for sure, everyone we met were approachable and very friendly. When jet engined helicopters fly in from over the sea and land on the Heli pad just by the pool, you could be forgiven for feeling like this is a playground just for billionaires, and it must be uptight and stuffy. Nothing could be further from the truth! It's a totally relaxing and friendly place to enjoy paradise, honestly.

We are here with our soon to be two year old, Charlotte, and I have to say the hotel and the staff could not do more to help. It's so kid friendly here. Even some of the guests where calling her by name towards the end. The kids club is brilliant and the quality of the babysitting was great. We had cover for every night and three half days so we got some proper adult time. Perfect.

The food is brilliant, the steak in Prime was one of the best fillets I have ever tasted. The "buffet" restaurant is more like a live cooking experience with a variety of al a carte standard dishes available. The chef can often be seen greeting guests and touching tables. Lots of world classic wines available and if you just fancy a glass of Sav Blanc, it's about the same price as I'd pay in an average London bar, so reasonable. I didn't feel trapped by cost.

The gym is well equipped and cool, but could benefit from a locker room. Maybe one is coming in the future. The Spa was lovely and my massage was fabulous and relaxing. You can use the Spa facilities even if you don't have an appointment.

The pool area is lovely, if not perhaps a little small. Rather disappointingly, to relax in one of the curtained cabanas you have to upgrade your package and pay more. I didn't think that was a sensible approach and I'd encourage management to rethink that.

Finally, the beach and sea. White sand and, turquoise warm ocean. It's everything the pictures seem to suggest.

All in all, I have to say that this place is a literal slice of paradise. It's not cheap, but it's worth it. One of the best holidays ever.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDFD, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2018

Dear Andrew S,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful review of One&Only Le Saint Geran and for joining us during the reopening of our Legendary Resort.

We are delighted to learn that you had "one of the best holidays ever" and loved all the new facilities that the resort have to offer, from the design of the room, to our new restaurant and pool at La Pointe, ClubOne the hub of fitness and family area. We also sincerely appreciate your compliments toward our dedicated team, who are indeed here to ensure your every need is met.

We can't wait to welcoming you back in paradise!

Kind regards,
Charles DeFoucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews