We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$636
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa(Poste Lafayette)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$423
US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$326
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solana Beach(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Emeraude Beach Attitude(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$547
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Poste Lafayette Resort & Spa, Mauritius(Poste Lafayette)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$305
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
91
8
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
8
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla pointela terrassebeach frontkids clubevery eveningscented candlesyounger guestsmajor refurbishmenttennis courtsbeef restaurantgrand damelive cookingbeach stafflagoon roommosquito bitesrepeat guestsbreakfast restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 107 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2018

The hotel was absolutely stunning. From the moment you entered through the atrium style open air lobby and this ran through in to the hotel rooms as well. There is a gorgeous tropical garden through surrounding the rooms, which was absolutely beautiful. A dramatic crane bird roams freely through the garden and is simply stunning!

The rooms are beautifully appointed. I particularly loved the massive bath tub and walk-in wardrobe. Housekeeping did a fantastic job of keeping everything fresh and clean each day with amenities always renewed and the whole room was left feeling spotless!

Between the sumptuous food, incredible wine and the most incredible view looking out over the ocean, I could not recommend Le Saint Geran more.

Look forward to another trip later this year! Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dxbgirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDFD, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear dxbgirl2011,

How delightful it is to read your kind words, thank you for sharing your feedback and for the fantastic rating on TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to learn that you had a “Wonderful stay” and fully took advantage of the new facilities that the resort has to offer. We are very proud of our garden which provides a real oasis for our guest to be able to fully relax and disconnect. I will make sure to share your kind words about your experience with all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Paradise.

Kind regards,
Charles De Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

We stayed here in late January and this has to be one of the best holidays in every way!
The location:
This hotel is about an hour's drive from the airport but what a joy it was! On arrival we were welcomed and greeted by the staff who made us feel like royalty, and given a welcome drink prior to being taken to our room.
Our room:
Our room was 170, tucked away in a quiet end of the hotel. With wide, sliding patio doors, we had a spectacular view of the sea, shady palm trees and immaculately kept lawns leading to the white sandy beach. The room was luxurious in every way - magnificent bathrooms with heavenly bath products, fabulously comfortable beds with crisp linen changed every day. Each day, little gifts were placed on the bed for us - scented candles, sweets, spices, vanilla tea to name a few. Champagne on ice was there on our arrival. Fruit and bottled water were provided daily.
Restaurants:
We visited three of the four restaurants - all were good and provided for all tastes, representing cuisines from around the world. 'Prime' was particularly good and the huge buffet at La Terasse provided great choice.
Staff:
The staff were exceptional in the service they provided, greeting us personally by name which was impressive, even if we had not met them before. During our stay, those who particularly left a lasting impression for their efficiency, helpfulness, and courtesy were Pooshkul, Michelin, Ashna and Subush. In addition the restaurant managers and waiters welcomed us each day and nothing was too much trouble for anyone.
Beach:
The beach was cleaned daily. Scented fluffy towels were provided, along with iced water, comfortable sun beds and shady umbrellas. An all day menu meant we could order from the nearby restaurant and the beach staff attended to our requests any time during the day. Since the sea temperature was 27 degrees constantly, we did not use the swimming pools, neither did we use the spa facilities.
Hotel facilities:
There was an excellent boutique with beautiful jewellery, fabulous clothes, shoes and beachwear. In addition there was a sports shop with all the necessary requirements.
There was a well-equipped medical room with on site nurse and doctor.
Overall:
This hotel was only re-opened in December 2017 after a complete refurbishment. Despite various snagging issues that still had to be addressed, this did not really impact on our holiday. The staff were very apologetic that one of our showers did not drain very effciciently but maintenance people were there immediately a problem was reported. They were very aware that further work needed to be done to provide the exeptional standard the One and Only group is famous for and the management were keen to listen to any suggestions for improvements.
Conclusion: leaving was difficult!! It was absolutely the best holiday ever!!

Room Tip: Ocean Suites are the best
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank JMassessment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDFD, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear JMassessment,

Thank you for these kind words in regards to your stay at One&Only Le Saint Geran.

It is truly heartwarming to know that you had “the best holidays in every way”. Thank you for highlighting the genuine hospitality of our dedicated team members. We shall ensure to share your accolades with them and particularly to Pooshkul, Michelin, Ashna and Subush who made your experience an unforgettable one.

We can't wait to welcoming you back in paradise!

Kind regards,
Charles De Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

The Hotel has just gone through a very big renovation as is truly amazing

The rooms have are beautiful and the beach front suite that I am in is is so well presented

On arrival we were greeted by our own butler who took care of us , unpacked our luggage and
gave us a full tour of the resort .
There is every facility imaginable catering for all ages .


Many restaurants providing the best quality food and many choices .

The breakfast buffet had the biggest choice of food imaginable

Last but not least the staff are incredible

For someone that travels a lot I have to give this hotel the top marks and is truly a5 star hotel if not 6








Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Moteck44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDFD, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear Moteck44,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful review of One&Only Le Saint Geran.

We are delighted to learn that you had "a truly amazing" experience and loved all the new facilities that the resort have to offer, from the design of the room, to our wide spread breakfast, ClubOne the hub of fitness and family area. We also sincerely appreciate your compliments toward our dedicated team, who are indeed here to ensure your every need is met.

Kind regards,
Charles De Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2018

What you notice immediately on arrival is the fantastic landscaping and the hotel exterior. Then as you walk into the vast entry hall you see the excellent quality of design and furnishings of the interior. The hotel has been expertly styled, a wonderfully contemporary and modern finish, which sits very well in its idyllic palm lined very private beach peninsula location.

The rooms are high spec, large and superior quality, each having a balcony/terrace with either a ocean or lagoon view, LCD TV, aircon, well stocked mini bar (surprisingly good value vs most in room mini bars), beautiful marble bathrooms with amazing toiletries (british interestingly, very high quality and we will be buying some online for home when we return) and huge walk in wardrobes. All the facilities you could possibly need. The interior finishing of the hotel would easily compete against many of the worlds high end hotels.

You also notice during your stay that the staff cant do enough to make your stay a wonderful and special one. The team know who you are, always making a point to greet you by name, remember your preferences and indeed engage in a conversation to get to know you and how they could be of more help. I have not experienced better customer service.

The food is also excellent and plenty of variety. Four restaurants to choose from with very different cuisines available. A lovely and unusual feature is L’artizan, a new addition to the main restaurant where they hand make beautiful breads and patisserie – the smell when you walk in and abundance of the huge central display table full of sweet treats and pastries would be enough to convert even the healthiest eater! We stayed 11 nights and theres enough variety to keep you interested.

Facilities wise, the new sports complex - gym, tennis courts, teens area - the kids complex - are all brand new and brimming with state of the art equipment. The sports staff couldn't have been more helpful and knowledgeable.

Theres also plenty to choose from at the water sports centre, boats, water skiing, kayaking, fishing, everything you'd expect.

There are always complimentary activities scheduled during the day, whether it be a cocktail masterclass, cooking with the chef, a glass bottom boat ride or wine tasting with the sommelier, a great investment from the hotel in the guests.

Additionally, we happened to stay at the hotel during Cyclone Berguitta. If you happen to be unlucky enough to stay in Mauritius in these conditions, you would want to stay at the One and Only. It was a credit to the hotel, the management team and staff, how they managed to ensure that the guests and hotel were safe and looked after. Over a 3 day period the assistant hotel manager would address each of us individually during the day to keep us informed and we would have regular printed bulletins from the manager doing the same. For 2 days at the height of the Cyclone, it was prohibited for anyone other that Government and blue light services to travel around the island. Many of the staff had to stay at home. So, a team of staff were required to stay over for two nights to ensure that the quests were looked after and the hotel could keep functioning. The staff worked tirelessly morning, noon and night over that period to ensure they were able to deliver the same customer experience as normal. A fantastic testament to the quality and customer service mindset and drive of the team.

If Mauritius is your destination, then theres only one resort to choose.

Room Tip: If you want a private and ocean view room i would recommend 232. Away from the central part of the hotel and the end room in the complex.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank scottsofalnmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDFD, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear scottsofalnmouth,

What wonderful memories you must have made. We appreciate this 5-star review and the compliments you’ve shared on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased to hear that your stay with us met every expectations, and that our staff provided the exemplary service upon which we have built our reputation. I’m glad that you fully took advantage of all the new facilities that the resort has to offer.

We look forward to your next visit and continuing the tradition of providing you with unforgettable experiences.

Kind regards,
Charles De Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

This was our third visit to LSG (see my previous reviews). We had great expectations and on the whole, we were mostly impressed. LSG has been the pinnacle of holiday stays for us and therefore our expectations and standards applied to LSG are very high.

In this regard, our latest stay was a bit hit and miss.

We were there 2 weeks after the reopening but a lot of things were still being rolled out. This would be fine if we were paying a discounted rate but this was not the case therefore we would've expected everything to be up to scratch.

Firstly, the negatives:
Kids Club: The Kids Club was not ready (at all). They had one room with 6 child minders but nothing further. No games, no boardgames, nothing. This was a massive problem as the kids club is usually the place our kids (9 & 12) make friends and plays a huge part in their holiday experience. Needless to say, they did not attend the kids club at all. There was also no night entertainment for the children. Nothing. No movies, no xbox, no crab hunts – nothing.

Housekeeping: The housekeeping was abysmal. On multiple occasions we had issues (way too many to mention) whereby the staff took forever to respond or did not respond at all. Inconsistent would be the best way to describe it.
Laundry is absolutely exorbitantly costed!

The Gardens: The renovation has taken its toll on the gardens with patchy grass and the middle atrium stripped right down. A big shame but a reality of construction I guess.
Teething Pains: Without a discount, we were subjected to those teething pains. No water for one of the days, seat covers not yet delivered, things changing or being replaced on a daily basis. Payment policies and processes changing half way through our stay. (eg; water is now charged at Palm Grove pool, but wasn’t for the first 4 days.) This all led us to wonder what it was that we would be missing after departure.

Staff Uncertainty: The staff contingent has increased 3 fold therefore the LSG culture is not consistent. Some old LSG staff are now being complemented by new faces still uncertain of procedures. The service levels are not yet consistent.

Positives:
The new Sports Centre: The Sports Centre staff (under Didier's guidance) were excellent. Always smiling and ready to help. The new centre is great and equipped to handle your Wellness expectations. Equipment and Facilities were excellent.

Watersports: Its still the same but with new equipment. The team and the facilities are a major drawcard for us and those met our expectations and we were very happy with them. Thank you again to Daniel and Aldo.

The newly refurbished Rooms: (ours 2x Queen bed Lagoon facing) : The rooms are great. First class. All modern and very comfortable and luxurious. A few recommendations for Management: No hanger hooks for the bathrobes? Really? The mirror for the hairdryer is not useable… the mirror angle completely misaligned with the dressing table… so you have to go down onto your knees to use the mirror.

Otherwise everything in the new room is superb.

Food: The food is even better than before. The chef has accommodated most tastes and we were always extremely happy with the offerings.
Beach & Pool boys: excellent service as before. Thank you Eric!

The Jury is still Out:
La Pointe: We loved it and weren't sure at the same time. The cabanas (which you have to rent at crazy cost!!!) - what's that about? Too few loungers? Only 20 beds around the ‘kids pool’ - really!?
On the other hand, the kids loved the pool and we enjoyed spending time there. The new restaurant is fantastic (location) and the evening cocktails with live music was really fantastic. I will lean towards a thumbs up for La Pointe.
La Terrasse: They have enclosed those wonderful islands. It probably makes sense in rainy weather BUT completely loses its charm on beautiful days and evenings. The dining is now virtually completely enclosed in glass and certainly doesn’t feel like island dining any longer. The new open dining concept (chefs stand next to you vs behind the counter) is also an interesting change - not sure if I like it (see my comment re food though). I am leaning towards a thumbs down on this one.

Prime: Awesome! Say no more. Went twice and so worth it.

Tapasake: Write off. We went on opening night (which we weren't told until we arrived for dinner!). Needless to say it was a disaster and we left halfway through. I did, however, hear from others that it was greatly improved the next few nights. The Head Chef did apologize and ensured we were looked after from then on in which was well appreciated and accepted.

Overall:
Service, Service and Location.
LSG service is unparalleled and we had two versions of it during this stay.I prefer the good version and if LSG can get that back on track then there will be no issues whatsoever.
LSG's location, to me, is the best on the island. No need to look any further.

Would I go back - of course I would. LSG is a special place. Just less issues next time please!

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned. Sunset on Lagoon side is better.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank Carrolfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDFD, General Manager at One&Only Le Saint Geran, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

Dear Carrolfam,

Thank you for sharing your detailed, thoughtful review of your visit at One&Only Le Saint Geran. It was a pleasure to welcome you during the reopening of our Legendary Resort.

Your detailed review provided us some really valuable feedback, and we sincerely apologies for all the issue your experience during the reopening of the resort. I’m glad to share with you that a lot have improved since December. The KidsOnly is now complete and fully operating; it is indeed a shame that you weren’t able to fully experience it as we were facing some delay. Our garden took longer than expected to grow, since all the rain that we had in January our garden is now a real oasis and looking incredible. We have well taken note of your remarks in regards of the cabanas at La Pointe, the payment policies and rooms enhancement. Your feedback is integral to our operation and will be at the front of our minds as we plan ways on improvement.

In the other hand we are delighted to read that you enjoyed ClubOne our new hub of fitness and family area and that you appreciate the new luxurious design of our rooms. The culinary experience is indeed one of the pillar of One&Only and I’m glad that you find it better than before and were extremely happy with the offering. Our new Executive Chef, Marc de Passorio has developed amazing menus for our restaurants each conveys a distinctive style according to the purpose of your exciting culinary desire.

I am confident our team can deliver the type of stay you were looking for, and we would welcome the chance to prove our commitment to your satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Charles De Foucault
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews