We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The coolest place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Five Columns

Ground floor courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ground floor courtyard
Ground floor - Courtyard Dining table Ground floor salon with open fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Ground floor courtyard
Ground floor - Courtyard Dining table
Ground floor salon with open fireplace
Medina view from port
Beach at sunset
Medina / Harbour walls at sunset
View of rampart walls
Our street
Medina sunset
Artwork in the house by Moroccan artist
First floor
First floor salon
First floor salon fireplace
First floor salon fireplace
Fireplace detail
Fireplace detail
Vintage light in stairwell
Ground floor dining room
Ground floor detail
Vintage furniture
Kitchen
Kitchen
Large open fireplace
Ground floor courtyard
Kitchen
Entrance from street
Kitchen
Interior detail
Bookshelf
Interior detail
Vintage light - First floor salon
Artwork
Interior detail
Interior detail
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 - First floor
Bedroom 2 en-suite - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 - First floor
Bedroom 1 en-suite - First floor
Bedroom 1 shower - First floor
Bedroom 1 en-suite - First floor
Bedroom 1 en-suite - First floor
Vintage light
Bedroom 3 - 2nd floor
Bedroom 3 en-suite - 2nd floor
Bedroom 3 - 2nd floor
Medina rooftops
Bedroom 4 - 3rd floor
Bedroom 4 en-suite - 3rd floor
Roof terrace dining table
Roof terrace
Roof terrace - Bar area
Roof terrace - Bar area
Roof terrace - Bar area
Roof terrace - Bar area
Interior details
View from Bedroom 2 - First floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linzi B
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The coolest place to stay!”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This place has it all from trendy art & coffee table books to a well equipped kitchen. Every detail has been thought of so you don't need to think about anything - just enjoy it! The owner obviously has great taste & you feel like you are staying in a place that should be featured in living etc. upon arrival a meet & greet walked us through the streets & gave us an invaluable insight to bars/shops & restaurants which made our short stay even better as we cut out the search & mistakes. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place & can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thanks Linzi, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at our house and thank you for the lovely comments, you are welcome back anytime.

Thanks Lisa & Liggy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samhaz201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful luxury riad”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I recently spent the most fantastic few days at 5 Columns in the heart of Essaouira. The house itself is a beautifully renovated riad with fantastic attention to detail and filled with wonderful pieces of art decorating the walls and gorgeous vintage furniture. All of the bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms with constant hot water and big white fluffy towels. It is an oasis of calm and the sun terrace is just perfect for reading, relaxing and sunbathing on or just having a drink as the sun goes down. On arrival there was some cold wine left in the fridge which always goes down well after a morning of travel. The owner and her partner are so easy to deal with and nothing is too much trouble for them to organise on your behalf from recommending the best restaurants to booking taxis for our day out at Le Jardin des Douars (which should definitely be on anyone's list visiting Essaouira). We all absolutely loved it and I can't wait to return for more shopping, eating and drinking - this time with an empty suitcase for all the great buys in the medina. Put this place on your bucket list!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The downstairs open plan living space, roof terrace and bar area.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thanks Sam for your lovely words, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay

Thanks

Lisa & Liggy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneJdM75
Paris
1 review
“A wonderful time!”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

For our second stay in Essaouira, this charming and authentic riad has been one of a wonderful and charming experience, in a secret street out of the crowded places. The place is full of good vibrations due to both a well balanced design and the kindness of the host and staff. Jean et Anne

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Five Columns worth Five Stars”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had an AMAZING time. Memories of the beautiful house, blue skies and hustle and bustle of the medina keep coming back to us all. It was a week of relaxing in a pool, playing on the beach and exploring the medina. The transport back and forth to Marrakech worked seamlessly and Rachid and Latifa were extremely helpful in an unintrusive way. I felt safe with the children in the medina which was good and it was interesting to go during Ramadan. All round it was beautiful. Very many thanks indeed for all your guidance and helping start our summer off with a real treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location in the heart of the medina
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shimonlon...
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bijou Essouira”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I came with two children and our au pair. This house made what would be a good holiday into a great vacation.

The house is what could be described as a cool renovation of a Moroccan historic house. Not wanting to sound clichéd but the historic elements have been blended superbly with modern European elements.

The first floor centres round a light filled balcony looking over the ground floor and the long wooden table. The lighting after dark is exquisite and the ambience enchanting. There are two further floors centred around the patios with two further bedrooms

Having tons of space to move around the kids loved playing at home. Also given that the rooms are over four floors the bedrooms on the upper levels have an element of separation and privacy too. The au pair loved that point and I would expect it to work equally well with couples or families with teenage kids who require a little more distance.

The art work around the house can only be described as cool - I loved the prints and spent the first few days inspired to pinch some of the themes for my own home.

The service was great too. We went over Ramadam and Lisa helped organise some beautiful bottles of wine for the house along with transfers and a plethora of recommendations of where to eat and visit. We also used on three occasions the dinner services organised by the house keeper. Tasty tajines with sides of salads and aubergine were brought round at an agreed time. It was half way between take away and a delivered banquet.

Lisa (the owner) and Rachid (the house manager) are alway on call. the cleaner was there every day and very discrete. The taxi firm which Lisa recommends was always punctilious and the owner speaks fluent English.

Staying in Essouira is a really interesting with many great beaches and choosing this house is highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenandM...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Columns a beautiful Riad that will make your stay in Essaouira the icing on the cake”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My husband and I along with 2 friends stayed in Five Columns over Christmas. All correspondence with the owner on booking was brilliant and some great info about the Riad and Essaouria was provided, A taxi was also arranged from Marrakech for us.
The Riad itself is beautiful. Clean, fabulous interior and everything you could need for a happy stay. This Riad cannot come with a higher recommendation and if you are going to Essaouira you would be silly not to stay at the Fabulous Five Columns

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior and layout
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieMB2...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Holidays”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A big "thank you" to Lisa for the wonderful time we have had in Essaouira in her "Five Column" beautiful house! .
Thanks as well to Latifa, and Rachid for their help!
We have had one of our best holidays for years!
Thank you very much, and congratulations for the big and marvellous job you have done in your Ryad.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite and nice place, wonderful city, nice weather
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing