We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
695
52
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
695
52
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bumpy track sahara suite outdoor cinema dogs and cats hire car perfect holiday other guests beautiful pool roof terrace minute drive an oasis three course meal every evening main building heated pool perfect hosts lovely staff
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 758 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our stay, meanwhile, 3 weeks ago, in Boussouala was super. We enjoyed the tranquillity of the Maroccan countryside and the incredible welcome. Lea and her team made us feel at home. We could only stay 3 days because it was fully booked, otherwise we would have stayed longer.
The first night my girlfriend, a backpatient, didn’t sleep well because of a soft mattress. Lea let us test all mattresses and after the delicious breakfast she organized the move to the traditional cottage with a super bed! Another pearl of a room and what a service!
A day of rest by the swimming pool, gently swaying in the hammock, delicious fresh fruits, a good cocktail ... complete rest.
The Turtle, Bouassala’s pet, reminded us of the slowness of life. The donkey of the neighbourhood tried to come in to steal some food, but was immediately chased away by the dog. A real atmosphere of the countrysite.
We always had dinner there. The kitchen was as Mama's kitchen, which is always the best cuisine, but then the maroccan style.
We wanted to go to the beach of Sidi Kaouki. Lea suggested to drop us of in the small fishing village and to pick us up later again. It was a very nice walk from the village to the beach were all kite surfers are.
In the bar on the beach we ate squid in rosemary with Lea. A real pleasure! The owner of the bar was a charming man full of stories, a Moroccan unique in his kind!
We had a great time in Boussouala and highly recommend this place to anyone!!

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful decorated & cosy
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had an amazing 3 night's stay at Baoussala. It's an incredibly relaxing place to stay - peaceful and quiet. Would highly recommend the 3 course dinner - the chef is fantastic. The breakfasts on the terrace were equally delicious and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and make sure every need is well met! We couldn't fault our room - the sahara suite - which was immaculately clean and very stylish. Would highly recommend this Riad - especially if you're looking for a chilled out break away from the town or cities.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Such a friendly atmosphere, everywhere you are it is beautiful and nice, simple decorated.
Very friendly staff. Although there where a lot of young children at our time (7) it wasn`t really a problem. The food is very good. The Hammamroom very romantic (although the bed was not that comfortable). Essaouira nice to go for one afternoon, the horseriding great in the area (the adviced us well). For really top dining (french/maroccan cuisine) you`ll find the excellent restaurant "km.8" just at the beginning of the bad road leading to baoussala.
For the rest: enjoy this atmosphere and stay in the Riad as most as you can!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was our second trip to Baoussala; we came first for two weeks in 2009, this year we stayed for two weeks in September. Again, this year we had an amazing time! Thank you Dominique, Leah and the team.

Last time we were here back in 2009, we stayed in 4 out of the of the 6 rooms (all the rooms we stayed in then I wrote about in my last review).This year we were lucky enough to stay in the Marabout suite. All the other rooms were really nice, but this room tops the lot!

The Marabout Suite is really beautiful and absolutely huge! (My photos really don't do it justice.) In total it comprises of 4 rooms. A large bedroom also with a sofa and sitting area, a separate lounge with a fireplace, a shower room with a wonderful tiled sunken bath and a domed ceiling with pretty stained glass 'stars' in the ceiling that let the light in. The sink area is separated from the shower area and the loo is in another small room. The second bedroom is great! The whole round room is one big bed; we used it as another 'chill out' lounge. This room has a high domed stone ceiling with small windows that, at a certain time of night you can see the moon through. Very romantic!

In my last review of Baoussala I went into some detail about the grounds, pool, food etc, which in our opinion were great and this time around even better.

There is plenty to do in and around Baoussala, so a good reason to stay for a while. The gardens are spacious with so many different spaces to sit and relax or eat lunch and sip cocktails, so you really feel sometimes that you have your own little oasis! Baoussala is the last riad along the road, so you have amazing views over the open countryside from the roof terrace.

Its a good idea to get a car and be prepared for the drive down the unmade road to Baoussala. However, its great fun to drive and we had the journey one way to the main road down to 7 minutes (donkeys and goats allowing...) So, it really isn’t as bad as some people have mentioned. Its all part of the charm...If you want to get a taxi to and from Essaouria it cost us about 100 Dh each way and they were really easy to get from Bab Sba.

Dominique and Leah suggested ideas for day trips out and gave us directions. There are some amazing huge and completely deserted sandy beaches within a 20 minute drive. We drove to an oasis one day and the local village market another, which is great if you get there early. Essaouria town is also really nice to go into early morning; you get a real sense of how everyday life is in Morocco.

We had a great holiday and would love to go back. We would definitely stay in the Marabout suite again, really highly recommended!

Thanks again Baoussala team!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed for three night in the red room. It was a very pleasant stay and we felt very welcome. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the good meals. Breakfast is included and is very varied with pancakes, bread, eggs, juice, thea, coffee, honey, jam, etc... Lunch and dinner is very relaxed at the side of the pool or in one of the cosey corners of the main building. Sure it is a few kilometers down a bumpy road but it is worth it. Dominique and Leah made us feel very welcome and so was the staff (Rachid, the cook, and all the others).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews