We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the neighbourhood of Essaouira”
Review of Riad Baoussala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Baoussala
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Baoussala is one of the most beautiful place to stay in Morocco. Located between Essaouira and Sidi Kaouki beach, in the village of Ghazoua, the guesthouse is a peaceful paradise for families, but also couples or friends.

Everything is enjoyable, the gorgeous decoration of the rooms, the delightful couscous on Sunday, the welcoming staff, the cute dogs Loco and Bahia, the amazing swimming pool, the gardens and terraces,... and the massages!!

We spent a week there this summer. We had a wonderful time in the guesthouse, and outside, as Dominique and Leah know what to do in the area with kids (beaches, hammam, quad, markets...).

I highly recommend to stay there at least a few days, to really enjoy the atmosphere of Morocco.

We will come back for sure :-)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelAx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominiquebaoussala, Directeur général at Riad Baoussala, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words, everything is said ! even the famous Sunday's Couscous ! We also hope to receive your lovely family one more time in Baoussala int he futur !
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Just returned from a brilliant weeks family holiday at Riad Baoussala. My wife and I plus our two teenage boys thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Instantly relaxing, we settled in were made to feel welcome by Dominique and her team of staff. Rashid was always on hand to assist with all requests, with Lubna producing amazing Moroccan/French home made cuisine.

This is a beautiful small boutique eco lodge in the traditional Moroccan style. Do not expect 5 star air conditioned hotel chain rooms. Instead you can enjoy the naturally cool rooms and suites, contrary to other reviews we did not suffer at all with mosquitos.

There are lots of little corners to relax or have meals, enjoy the pool or watch the sun set. The lounge area is perfectly homely for after dinner drinks and games.

We stayed in the Sahara suite, just off the main courtyard, having two large double beds (one being in a separate room), one large bathroom with shower, always with plenty of hot water on tap.

Enjoy some lazy days by the pool, spending time in the hammam/Turkish bath, have a massage, and finish off at the outdoor cinema. Of course not forgetting the friendly animals, Loco the dog loves attention, tortoises like the lettuce and donkeys may even try to join in for breakfast!

Taxis were quickly arranged whenever we went in to town, and a hire car for two days was best for further trips afield exploring nearby places further south of Sidi Kouki.

There is quite a lot to do in the area, Essaouira has a large traditional medina and fishing port, surrounded by modern facilities and restaurants along the corniche.
Travel tips, Quad biking and car hire can all be arranged at best prices through the hotel.

Overall a fantastic hotel, warm and attentive staff, suitable for couples and families alike.

Totally recommended.

Room Tip: Sahara suite great for families. There is a new cabin suite just opened that looks gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleTravellingMat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominiquebaoussala, Directeur général at Riad Baoussala, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for so many beautiful details about our guest house Baoussala.
We run Baoussala with a lot of pleasure since 17 years, and we are really happy to be able to make you happy for a few days.
Hope to welcome you soon again,
kind regards,
Dominique & Léah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We visited Riad Baoussala for 4 nights on the second leg of our honeymoon to Morocco. Our overarching feeling was of a brilliant, quirky, family run guest house that was friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived... and that ultramarine wall is something else!

Our host, Dominique, welcomed us on arrived and showed us around the grounds. We were then introduced to our room (The White Room - though they are all different) with drinks to refresh.

We elected to have dinner at the Riad each night and venture out in our car during the day. Due to its isolated nature, down a difficult to navigate dirt track, i would highly recommend a car. Dinner was exceptional every night. The food was freshly made every day and a real authentic taste of Morocco.

Whether relaxing by the pool, having a massage or drinks on the many terraces, we felt we were receiving a true taste of Moroccan hospitality.

Highly recommended to anyone visiting Essaouira, though a hire car is recommended or you may feel a little isolated.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mikepotts86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominiquebaoussala, Directeur général at Riad Baoussala, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Mike, it is always a pleasant feeling to know that some couples like you decide to choose Baoussala for their HoneyMoon, and even better to read afterwords that you had a nice experience in our place. A rented car is recommended in Baoussala to explore the surroundings, the lovely berber villages and countryside and the wilds beachs etc... but if your wish is to relax at Baoussala most of the time and only go to the town once or two during your stay, then the taxis journey is a best option, easy and safe!
We wish you the best and we hope to see you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

We loved it! Stayed here for 10 days with our 3 children, aged 4, 2 and 11 months old.
Everything we needed and more, the kids were at ease, loved the pool, food is beyond delicious, atmosphere is really relaxed. Rental car is essential to explore the surroundings and to easily go to Essaouira. we went to the Berber market, great experience and to the waterfall. So lovely, completely off track. you will meet some goats, sheep and camels on your way.
Baoussala is a great place for your holidays. The staff will make your stay perfect. they are so warm and friendly. We felt instantly at home. Oh and the food is soooo good, made with love! The starters and desserts with a (little) French twist, the mains pure Moroccan, love love love it! Breakfasts are made from scratch with a lot of love and attention. Children get a lot of attention and ours felt so at ease!
This is the place you want to stay at in Essaouria!
we will definitely go again some day, hopefully soon :)

Room Tip: For families the Suite Marabout is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EefjeIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominiquebaoussala, Propriétaire at Riad Baoussala, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your nice words about your stay, we love having children at home, I run my place since 17years, and I really know that's a paradise for children.... so everybody is happy!!!
We hope to welcome you again some day later on...take your time, we stay here!!!
Warm regards,
Dominique , Léah and the whole staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

My family (4 kids, husband) and I have had a magical holiday at Riad Baoussala. We stayed for 5 days and enjoyed great lunches and dinners prepared by lovely Loubna, and served by wonderful Rachid. All off the staff were very friendly and made a lot of effort in taking care of us. The rooms are big and comfortable. And very nicely decorated. Essaouira is only a little drive away. The riad arranges your taxi, the drivers are very helpful, friendly and accurate. The swimming pool area is also really lovely, relaxing you can do everywhere on the premises.There are little corners, in the shade, hammocks, comfortable chairs... And if you're lucky you also get to cuddle with the donkeys! My husband turned 50 while we were staying in the riad and all of the staff have made this an unforgettable and loving experience for us. Returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lailavanhooff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominiquebaoussala, Propriétaire at Riad Baoussala, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review, I was not here, and I am really happy to read such nice words about your stay with us.
As you will come back , I will be happy to meet you next time for another lovely experience:)
With my best wishes,
Dominique and the whole staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

It was absolutely amazing. My family had a perfect, very impressive time staying at this wonderful riad.
The riad was decorated with exquisite taste and was clean. The garden was full with beautiful plants, the swimminpool was very clean. Each day started with delicious breakfast, the dinner was very diversified. Our wishes were satisfied. Rashid, Lubna, Simon and other employee took very good care of us, they are very child-friendly people. Dominique is very mindful host. We felt very wellcomed.

It was nothing to improve.
Thank you so much, Dominique! We definitely recommend this Riad and hope to come again.

Room Tip: To explore the nice scenery you nead a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Asta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominiquebaoussala, Propriétaire at Riad Baoussala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

It's a real pleasure to read your review, you told me that you were happy here during your stay, and the details you add are another proof. We were also happy to meet you , as you know I feel so much better with happy guests around me!
We will see you again!
Thank you for having chosen Baoussala
Kind regards,
Dominique, Rachid, Loubna et Simo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Everywhere you look in this place is beauty. It has a great atmosphere and a friendly and helpful staff. Food is delicious, rooms are tastefully designed and the pool is long so you can have a real good swim. The garden is well taken care off and the sunset on the roof terrace very beautifull. The owner, Dominique makes you feel at home and is always in for a good laugh.

Room Tip: We were in the Hammam suite and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dominiquebaoussala, Propriétaire at Riad Baoussala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Julika,

Thank you so much for your review, the little theater is empty without you....;)
It was nice meeting you and Ilonka , Ihope you'll be back, and for sure we would be glad to welcome people for writing or musicians as you suggested.
Warm regards,
Dominique, Rachid, Loubna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 km away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
683 reviews
14.4 km away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
300 reviews
9.4 km away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 75 in Essaouira
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
861 reviews
4.4 km away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
5.2 km away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#5 of 75 in Essaouira
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: C$153 - C$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Baoussala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Baoussala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing