We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Baoussala
Nearby Hotels
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
US$112
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Mimouna(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Riad Watier(Essaouira)
US$96
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fontaine Bleue(Essaouira)
US$76
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Perle d'Eau(Essaouira)
US$85
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Gonatouki(Ghazoua)(Great Value!)
US$70
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dar Al Bahar(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Zahra(Essaouira)
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
671
52
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
52
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbumpy tracksahara suiteoutdoor cinemahire carperfect holidayother guestsbeautiful poolroof terraceminute drivethree course mealan oasisopen firemoroccan cuisineevery eveningspecial placemain buildingheated pool
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 734 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The Riad is tucked away, but the pleasure of arrival is second only to the pleasure of the reception and the fantastic food. We spent a few extremely relaxing nights at the Riad where the children were made to feel at home, the food was absolutely delicious and the staff were extremely kind.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markfoodyburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2011

Like you are doing right now, we chose to first stay at Baoussala based on the strength of the many reviews in the summer of 2009 and needless to say, we had a fantastic 2 weeks! So much so that we decided to go back again this year for another 2 week holiday at Baoussala!

Dominique and the team arranged everything for us and made us feel so welcome that it really was quite hard to leave... and quite often we didnt for days at a time!

We had a late afternoon flight to Marrakesh and were quite tired when we got there, we were collected by taxi from Marrakech airport and taken to Baoussala with the minimum of effort. When we got there a 3 course dinner was waiting for us served in the warm, cosy, candlit courtyard fantastic...

Breakfast was served wherever we wanted it, be that in our room, on the fantastic roof terrace listening to the birds singing, in the shady courtyard, by the pool, in the garden...and at whatever time we wanted it.

During our 2-week stay we were lucky enough to stay in a few different rooms, each with their own individual style and ambience. Every room has plenty of space and is large enough to feel really comfortable in with plenty of storage space. There is at least 1 large sofa and tables in every room which is great for a mid-afternoon snooze, reading or, as we did for having a meal.

The Oasis room had lovely coloured glass 'stars' in the celing above our bed which 'twinkled' as the light shone through in the morning. This room was situated at the front of the Riad just set slightly away from the main courtyard.

The Red room had a really cosy and romantic feel with a fantastic bath and a great fireplace. This room is part of the main house and joins onto the courtyard. The sofa area was really lovely and the well chosen, decorated furniture in here was beautiful...and very practical for storage.

The Blue Suite felt very light and airy at the far end of the Riad. This room is huge and had a feel of the seaside to it with, again great attention to detail. We loved the 'secret' windows which look out into the back of the snug. The wardrobe area in this room was great and in its own separate area next to the bathroom. The patio area in this room was also lovely and so nice to open the bedroom door in the morning to have the sun streaming in. A real treat to sit out for breakfast.

The Sahara Suite is also massive and had the most fantastic separate lounge. We had dinner in here a number of times. This room has an African feel to it, again with some fantastic, well chosen pieces of furniture. The bathroom is large and the round bath tub is also a wonderful feature. This room is also situated in the main part of the Riad, next to the Blue Suite at the back.

The rest of the Riad has been so carefully thought out with great attention to detail and loads of private spaces. There are so many different areas to hide away, chill out with a drink or cosy-up in the lounge with a book or play a game.

The pool is great and again, we found it really hard to leave. Lunch can be served at any time anywhere you want it and we had ours quite often in the shady table area (a giant, ancient upturned door lovingly crafted into a table!) Plenty of sunloungers.

Dinner is a real treat and well worth staying at the Riad for. As with many restaurants in Morocco the menu is set which takes the pressure out of choosing... If there is something in particular that you would like to have for dinner, Dominique and the team will do their best to make this for you, great!

When we did occasionally tear ourselves away from Baoussala we really enjoyed the location of the Riad. As other people have said previously, as the Riad is situated out in the countryside, it is a 10 minute drive to get off the track and onto the main road, (excluding waiting for roaming donkeys/camels to move out of the way!!) which is all part of the charm and didn't offend us as we were fully prepared for this.

Sidi Kaouki beach, a short drive to the south is amazing and completely empty, the sand goes on for miles... Taguenza beach cafe also to the south is well worth a visit, fantastic seafood...Essouria itself has everything we were looking for. From fantastic authentic, local restaurants to modern cuisine. Taros is great and has a cool roof terrace. We really loved Elizir which had an eclectic New York style, unfortunately we found this restaurant on our last night, so cant wait to go back again this year!

Shopping in the souks has vitually the same range of handcrafted and designed goods as you can find in Marrakech...but with none of the frentic pace and sometimes claustrophobic feel of Marrakech.

The Coast road to the north is also well worth a drive the views are amazing!

Real care and attention has been put into making your stay as comfortable and chilled out as possible. Its obvious that they really care for the place...nothing like a faceless large hotel.

All in all our 2 week holiday was fantastic and we cant wait to go again this year!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2011

After Taroudant (see my review of Kasabat Annour) it seemed impossible that our experience there could be topped, but it almost was (or was better, depending on who you ask in our travel group). Baoussala is not as elegant as the other place, but extremely homey and cosy, and with owners as friendly and hospitable as you can only wish for. Baoussala has a beautiful garden and swimming pool The food was excellent, a little more french influence that we enjoyed after two weeks of pure moroccon food. All 4 rooms we had were really fun to be in, everyone with a different personality. A real star is the garden suite, you can easily fit a whole family in there. It is newly renovated. Great shower room! Most (or all?) of the rooms have fireplaces. However, if you want city life, you should look for a different place. You will need 15 minutes to drive into Essaouira, but chances are that you want to stay in Baoussala with a good book and dangle your feet in the pool. Nice features also: In the morning the donkeys come visit for a snack of oranges. And your breakfast will be served to your wishes (by the pool, in the garden...). Can recommend this place wholeheartedly. It makes also a great option if you want to get away from it all for a prolonged weekend or week in the European winter.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annablume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed at Riad Baoussala in October - myself and my husband, and two boys age 4 and 9. We flew in to Agadir and Dominique had organised a taxi to collect us. We then travelled for 3 (nearly 31/2) hours to the Riad, which was all part of the adventure, albeit a bit windy for the kids (I recommend tablets for queasy car travellers).
We were made to feel truly welcome by all at the Riad. Nothing was too much trouble. Food and drinks could be asked for at any time of the day. Dinner was served by the log fire in the evenings. The dinners were good and the wine was also very drinkable!
Our room, the Marabout Suite, was great for a family and is just about to be extended. The whole Riad was very lovely, well designed, great colours, comfortable - don't expect luxury, but they don't make out that they are a 5 star hotel.
If you are thinking of taking kids - there was plenty for them to do. Ours used the pool every day (far too cold for me but I am a wimp), chatted to the tortoises and the donkeys the other side of the wall, played hide and seek safely enclosed by the Riad walls and ate breakfasts and dinners very happily.
Essaouira was a fine place for us all to explore. We went in nearly every day, wandered on the beach, explored the alleyways, ate ice cream, bartered away for bits and pieces, and once again in Morrocco marvelled at how we could have flown from the UK for just 3 hours yet feel like we were so far away. We sometimes had a lift in and sometimes went by taxi. It is a 15 minute journey and yes the Riad is down a long bumpy road.
We also went on two one hour camel rides (two per camel) with Ranch Diabat - they were very friendly and took good care of us. The ride on to the beach is something we will all never forget - it really slowed down the pace of life for us! As did the Riad.
But what really makes Riad Baoussala is the people that work there. The kindness and warmth that we received from Rashid, Kadisha and Kadisha (yes there are two), Barak and Fatima was genuine and special. Dominique and Leah were always on hand to help and were very happy to provide us with information about the area (I hear Leah also does a great massage!).
So thank you to all at Baoussala.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2010

A friend had suggested this place and so we had quite high expectations. We had spent the previous 6 nights in the medina of Essaouira and so we came here for sheer escapism. We were told on arrival to treat it like our home. Surrounded by rugged countryside, Baoussala provides the perfect excuse to do nothing.....but eat fabulous food, fantastic service, enjoy open wood fires in your bedrooms at night, swim and perfect the art of swinging in a hammock. We became experts. Go there and indulge.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dink_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews