We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, not so great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great staff, not so great rooms”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed in this riad for two nights. The first night in a small room in the upstairs terrace. The room is quite nice, bright and clean. However, there were ants in the room (on the ground near the door). In addition, since it is on the terrace, if people wish to sit outside at night, it can be a bit loud. The staff at this riad are what you pay for. Very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The second night we stayed in the appartment, wish is very spacious and clean, however very damp and musty. They have heaters available to help, but the appartment is so large that it get the dampness out of the air. I would not recommend staying in the apartments because of this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    127
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
99
215
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Super location in the medina but only minutes from the beach, sea, harbour. Close by but away from the hubbub of town we found it a really good location.
Spot itself has super comfy rooms on landings around a cental courtyard, lovely breakfast & all the help you need from the brothers.
Local buses north & south gave for brilliant day long ambles along the coast, just don't miss the last bus back

Room Tip: Make sure you take the location plan, Its round a corner in a cul de sac!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel around Christmas time. From the friendly welcome when we arrived everything about the stay was wonderful.
There were just two of us, but we were out in the 'apartment' - two double beds and a sitting area - which would be fantastic value for a family or group staying together. (and we just paid the price of a standard double!)
Breakfast on the lovely terrace is included in the price.

Room Tip: Apartment would be a great option for a family or group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ella232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Tucked down a back alley-way in the Medina, Hotel Les Matins Bleus is a really charming typical Moroccan Dar. The accommodation is arranged around the courtyard, and breakfast is taken on either the roof terrace or downstairs in the courtyard itself.
We stayed in a double room, which was a little on the small side, but nevertheless, fine for a short stay. The larger studios – at a higher price – appeared to have quite a lot more space, but then accommodating more people. Everything is well maintained and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was always very good, and the staff cannot be faulted – friendly, polite, helpful – ideal hosts.
Highly recommended!
On a general note, we last visited Essaouira some 6 years ago, when the town was experiencing problems with its ancient sewage system – parts of town were simply no go areas! Well, on entering the Medina this time, we were greeted by a JCB digging up part of the main road – yes, they are repairing the sewers at last – so don’t be too surprised if you find major works going on in any part of the old town – just watch where you step!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylandRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My daughter and I took a break to Marrakech , for a 'special ' birthday i had a few years ago. We decided to take a breather from the hussle and bustle, and took the bus to Essaouira for a couple of nights. We earmarked a modest riad, but did not book, but when we arrived there it was closed for some plumbing work. The female owner recommended Les Matins Bleus to us, so off we trotted , wondering where we were heading, as mentioned elsewhere it is at the end of a small , unlikely looking alley.
We were made most welcome, given free hot drinks on our arrival ( it was January) and given a family suite when we asked for a twin rather than double room. This was very comfortable, and we couldn't believe how reasonably priced it was.
The owners were most helpful with information, directions and suggestions for places to eat in the evenings.
I would definately return, and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anybody looking for good standard budget accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Really liked this place and enjoyed my stay in Essaouira all the more for it.
Had a lovely room (booked a single - when I arrived they said i could stay in the double for the same price for the first 2 nights). The staff (or owners - 2 brothers) were so helpful and genuine. I used to manage 4-5* hotels and these guys could have tought my staff a thing or 2 about true hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

It's tucked down a rather unattractive lane, just off a minor touristy street but don't let that put you off. The entrance seems guarded by a rather large but friendly cat but inside is a little calm oasis.

The ground floor has a variety of snugs and rooms; there are books, a stereo with an expansive cd collection and free internet access. The owners offered a warm, yet unobtrusive service advising on all things local and beyond.

Our room on the roof was pleasant and large enough, spotlessly clean with a regular maid service. There is a roof terrace to sit in the morning sun. It also has a washer and lines for those long term adventurers who are travelling light and need to refresh their wardrobe.

Breakfast was OK; bread, a pain au chocolat and pancake, served with wonderful fresh orange juice.

Quirky, honest and unique. Well worth a visit

Room Tip: There are two suites which looked fab, if you want to spoil yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HtDMtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
12.7 km away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
187 reviews
1.8 km away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
786 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
609 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Matins Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Property: Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Address: 22 rue Draa, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#13 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Matins Bleus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Les Matins Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Matins Bleus Essaouira
Les Matins Bleus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing