We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely and well-equipped with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Elevated Bed/Ocean View/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Lounge ensuite Bath/ Ocean Suite/ level 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Elevated Bed/Ocean View/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Lounge
ensuite Bath/ Ocean Suite/ level 3
3rd Level Ocean Suite/ensuite Bath/ocean view/elevated bed/fireplace
1st level luxury suite/ensuite bathroom
1st Level Ensuite Bath
Lounge/Cinema Room/Film and Music Library/Fireplace
Cinema Room/Film and Music Library/ Iounge /Fireplace
Restaurant Style Kitchen and Bar/Fireplace / seats 6 at the Bar and 6 at the Table
Restaurant Style Kitchen/Bar seats 6 at the bar/6 at the table/Fireplace/Terrace
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice/Dar Evening Star
kitchen looking towards Ramparts ocean terrace
From the Third Level Ocean Terrace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/ensuite bath/Fireplace/Terrace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Terrace
4th Level Ensuite Bathroom/ Bathtub/shower/Fireplace/Ocean Terrace
Spiral Leading to the Ocean Terrace
Ocean Terrace for Sunbathing /Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner
Rampart Ocean Terrace  from The High Ocean Terrace w The Ocean crashing below
Hammam Dar Evening Star
View from the Ocean Terraces
From the Photo Collection
sculpture @ Dar Evening Star
Ocean View from The Kitchen Ramparts Terrace
Stairway in Black Tadelekht leading toward 4th level Ocean Suite
Essaouira
Essaouira
Sea and Beach from The Ramparts Terrace
Dining  and relaxation from one of our Ocean terraces.
Ocean Views from every floor.
Spiral Stairs connecting terraces.
Barbecuing on our ramparts terrace.
Dining and sunbathing from our high Ocean Terrace
our ancient ramparts terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
DannyAube...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely and well-equipped with stunning views”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful holiday in a top-notch villa. Very well equipped and a beautifully warm, welcoming house. The bedrooms with huge windows looking directly out to the Atlantic are truly special, as was waking to the sound of huge waves crashing on the wall below us. It is plain to see how much pride John and Chip take in this house and so they should! They were wonderful hosts, who organised our transfers, met us at the taxi to walk us to the villa (even though we arrived very late at night) and even gave us a guided tour of the medina. This is customer service beyond your wildest expectations and from two pleasant, interesting and lovely people. They were entirely unobtrusive but on hand at short notice for any requests or problems, not that we had any. This was an entirely stress-free and enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

The town of Essaouira and the surrounding areas are very easy to enjoy and there is loads to do. The markets are as bright, colourful and varied as Marrakech but with far less hassle. Claudia Sternweiss and her Berberland tours are thoroughly enjoyable. She is knowledgable and knows EVERYBODY! Khadija's Kuzina, where we had a great cooking lesson, is also worth a mention.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting on the ramparts
Liked least: Drain smell from lower bathroom. Shame on entry to the villa.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
We eagerly await your return and are so grateful that you stayed with us.You were exceptional guests and Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This riad is absolutely stunning. The decor and art work is beautiful and it is finished to the highest standard. Having said that, it still felt like home, with every comfort you could think of, and even some you couldn't! John and Chip were so friendly and welcoming. They were never intrusive, but were always on hand to provide whatever assistance was needed. Their very helpful information book was in the riad for easy reference and the personal touch of taking us to breakfast and providing an orientation tour of the Medina was just perfect. I would recommend this place to everyone. I'm already planning my next trip!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Dear Vickie !
To have clients like you and then a 5 Star Review on top of it all..we are so grateful that you've stayed with us, were excited about our house and Ocean views but most of all we were really happy with your kindness and graciousness. We will wait for your next visit which we will make even more special for you the next time!! Fondly John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adc12
perth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the initial enquiry to the waving of goodbyes, it was perfect through and through. The property is absolutely stunning with the most beautiful decor and artefacts throughout. Lying in bed with the most amazing views is such a treat for someone who just loves the sea. Everything you needed was there including a lovely welcome table of treats on arrival. The property was always clean with a regular change of towels and sheets.

The hosts John and Chip....... couldn't have been kinder, more attentive (without being intrusive) or helpful. They welcomed us on arrival with a cart to guide us through the medina and again at the end they took us to our transport which they had arranged to take us to the airport. John took us on a tour of the the medina which was so helpful because there is a great choice of restaurants, souks, market stalls etc so it was great to have the recommendations. He also met us to take us to the wine shop which is located just outside the medina walls. Mohammed was always on hand for anything with a smile and was delightful.

The whole visit to Dar Evening Star and Essaouira was the most chilled out, laid back, stress free holiday I think I have had (until we got to Marrakech airport!) due to the hosts' hospitality and the laid back atmosphere and the people of Essaouria who are incredibly friendly and who don't hassle you over sales (unlike Marrakech). As far as activities and eating out are concerned, John and Chip had a list of recommendations which we followed. Absolutely brilliant every one! Highly recommend Caravan Cafe, Dar Caravan and horse riding at Ranch Diabat. Surfing at Sidi Kaouki beach was a highlight too.

Thank you John and Chip for an amazing holiday. Would highly recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the villa and the customer service
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
I've always wondered why the homeowner has never been afforded the opportunity to write a review about the guest! If Andrea, you see us and Dar Evening Star as 5 Star,we see you, Will,Julia,Emma and Harry as 10 Star! What a kind, loving ,family you are, so enjoying one another's company after all these years and so respectful and gracious to us and to the Moroccan people,you made us very proud to be resident foreigners in a town that sees many tourists. Please return to us soon..we would be very very happy to see you again..Thank you..John and Chip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanAndrew...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seriously Good”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful week we had staying at John & Chip's place in the Medina. It's hard to overstate how fantastic the house is, beautifully decorated and stuffed with every last amenity and piece of kit you could wish for. In itself what a fabulous result from a holiday rental.

Add into the mix the wonderful care and attention you receive from John including: ensuring every last detail of your travel to and from the house is arranged and as easy as possible; making restaurant bookings on your behalf; taking you on a tour of the great places to shop and buy wine; arranging for a tour out in the countryside with Claudia from Berberlands and even accompanying me on my first trip to the Carrefour on the edge of town. John is the single best host we've ever had on our travels - and we've been lucky to have some great hosts.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place and honestly I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The House Is Fabulous
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Dear Ian,Penni,Charlie and Lucas,
What a wonderful family you are! and how you have such great chemistry with eac other. You are intrepid travellers while at the same time,kind and geneous people. It has been our absolute good fortune and pleasure to meet you and to host you at Dar Evening Star..We are grateful that you chose us and are even happier that you were happy at home at Dar Evening Star
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Ann...
Neptune, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magicial”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent several days in this home and thought it was one of the most beautiful places in Morocco - right on the ocean with views from the many large windows. The sound of the ocean was so peaceful. We were given locations, shops, and restaurants to make our stay most enjoyable. The local cuisine is wonderful. The surrounding colors in the medina enhanced our senses of Morocco. The people are most helpful and kind.

We would definitely recommend this place and will most certainly return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and owners
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Dear Old Friends,
So grateful that you chose us and were happy at Dar Evening Star.The rythmn of the sea as well as the constant sounds of the gulls and the waves are a magical remedy for tired travellers. We so look forward to your return visit! J/C
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaffaSuss...
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A stunning house overlooking the sea but within the town walls”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

This house has been rebuilt and restored with huge flair and attention to detail. It is beautifully furnished and decorated and the kitchen is fitted with everything you could possibly need. There is even an orange juicer which is fantastic as the oranges in the market are so cheap and plentiful. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are stunning. The house is situated in the medina so the streets outside are narrow and busy but the house is utterly quiet with only the occasional sound of the waves lapping against the stone walls. The owners are helpful, welcoming and more than happy to give a tour of the town and market. As newcomers to Essaouira this was fantastic for us. Through their help we managed to avoid the touristy parts of the town and find the treasures that the locals use. We had a wonderful holiday in an amazing town and beautiful house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Discovering Essaouira from such a lovely base
Liked least: No negative feedback at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Dear Jo and Charles,
We had such a wonderful time with you in Essaouira. Thank you for staying at Dar Evening Star. You are kind and gracious people. We eagerly await your return to Essaouira. Thank you for all! John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doris1605...
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Magical Place with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in February and had the holiday of a lifetime. We took four teenagers and they just loved being in the hustle and bustle of the ancient medina which is literally just outside the door of the property. After a few days the children found their feet and would go to the market stalls and barter the prices down on the things they wanted to buy and come back with huge bags of oranges to squeeze which became our favourite drink. John, Charles and Henry were true gentlemen and showed us amazing places that we wouldn't have known about without them. They also showed us the most fantastic restaurants and we shared a wonderful night out at the Caravane café with them, which was magical with flame thrower and the most amazing conjuror.
This property is outstanding, with the sea being visible from most rooms, it became my morning routine to stand on the balcony of the top floor and breathe in the sea air and marvel at how beautiful this place truly is.
Essaouira holds a very special place in all of our hearts, the beautiful people, the beautiful weather, the fine sand to ride your horse along the beach, the endless shopping, just perfection. Thank you so much John, Charles and Henry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Dear Friends,
Thank you for staying with us at Dar Evening Star and for your wonderful review. You are a lovely family. Sometimes owners learn a great deal from guests,this was our case with your visit! Please return to us soon..John/Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing