We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
221
145
36
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
145
36
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm oldest hotel colonial times in town excellent hotel hotel is centrally located shopping and restaurants flat screen tv other guests comfortable rooms reception staff cooked breakfast beautiful garden sea front within walking distance oysters german
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 418 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018

A really wonderful hotel, full of charm. The location in great in the centre of town and within easy reach of the sea front and all the little shops of Swakopmund.
I have to say a special comment about the staff, they were just excellent, welcoming, professional, helpful. trustworthy and a wonderful reflection of how hospitality should be done. i left my passport and the team notified me straight away and even coordinated for it to be dropped back in Windhoek!
oh and the colonial coffee...... what a show!
thank you!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank annadewhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

Truly great hotel. We stayed there for 4 nights in Half Board. The staff is excellent, helpful, welcoming, kind & hard working. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The food was amazingly tasty and plentiful. Location very convenient with 10 minute walk to the beach. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank TravellerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017

A convenient central location yet just a few minutes walk to the sea front. It's one of Swakopmund's historic buildings but has been brought (almost) up to date whilst retaining a lot of the original features - in particular the main staircase. Staff are friendly and efficient although they struggled a little at breakfast on my second day when a coach party of German tourists all turned up for breakfast at the same time. The food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced if a little rich for my taste. As I was booked in as part of an organised tour I didn't know the room prices so can't comment on value for money but found everything to be just fine.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

Very old colonial hotel. Rooms are outdated but oke. Inside garden is a small beauty. Try to get a room in this garden.
Very good breakfast with lots of choices. Due to a early roundtrip flight, we were too late for breakfast, but they just hold it for us.
Parking in front of the hotel. You have to pay a smal amount to the guy who will guarding your car.

Room tip: room in the small garden
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariebur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2017

We just visited a few days ago as part of our holiday in Namibia and were absolutely amazed at how good the hotel is run: Staff is not just very friendly and helpful, but even remembered our name the next day - not something we expected in the first place, but it made us feel very valued and welcome! The hotel's interior design is beautiful and creates a truly historic impression which is underlined by many photographs from earlier times which are interesting to look at. We had - what we think was - a recently renovated room: no carpet (we prefer it that way), excellent shower and bathroom facilities and a very comfortable bed. Room size was generous and attentive room staff put chocolates in the room which - after a long drive through the desert - made our welcome at the hotel perfect that evening. Food at the restaurant is excellent and delicious. We ordered Oryx medium-rare and actually got it that way which made for a delicious dinner. Staff at the restaurant was very helpful and friendly. Overall, we felt extremely welcome and spoilt at the hotel and look forward to staying there again when we are in Swakopmund next time. Oh.... parking outside the hotel is save as there is an official guard watching the cars day and night.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karin6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews