We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Jebel Akhdar
from US$79.00
More Info
from US$420.00
More Info
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
347
131
36
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
131
36
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wheel drive police check breathtaking views above sea level grand canyon check point al ayn off road mountain range rose gardens beautiful area just in case mountain side temperature drops great weekend police station anantara resort
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 519 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Absolutely breathtaking and staying at the Anantara makes it perfect. Just book and go, Oman is a travellers paradise

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Drie Bongani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The drive up here was awesome. The Omani roads are so good and the views were excellent. I cannot understand Charlotte the last reviewer but guess she may not either have had a map or planned her trek? It was very hot when we were there near the end of March so we drove to Diana's Point car park and did the walk to Al Ayn and on to Ash Shirayjah which was relatively easy but the "cascade" we were promised was a trickle! They have had a very dry time up here. Signage was clear/good.

We loved the rose and pomegranate terraces, the old villages and feeling we really were in touch with pre 1970 Oman (that being the date from around which oil and gas wealth altered so much).

Obvious tips are start as early as you can and take plenty of water. our walk you could easily do in tough shoes and without walking poles.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I decided we wanted to hike up Jebel Akhdar : all the reviews and blogs I had read said this was possible . Well when we got there is was mostly a tarmac’d highway to the top , no paths , no where to camp. If you want to drive to the top of a mountain and take a few snaps it is ideal but for those wanting the sense of achievement in climbing a mountain it is a real disappointment

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Charlotte12358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

We loved our trip to Jebel Akhdar. Yes, temperatures are cooler and the scenery is stunning! Loved the view down the mountain range and took a little walk to several little mountain villages. Beautiful roses and great terrace system.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

We took our 4WD from Nizwa upto Jebel Al Akhdar and after the police checkpoint it quickly became apparent why saloon cars are not permitted to ascend the steep road which is full of hairpin bends. The issue is more the severity and extent of braking on the descent than the ascent.That said, the driving is straightforward as the road is wide (3 lanes most of the way, allowing ascending vehicles to pass slower ones) and is really good quality. At no point is it narrow or dangerous. The scenery along the way and at the top is stunning and a real highlight of a trip to Oman. We stopped at the Anantara (built at the so called Diana's viewpoint) to freshen up and booked lunch at the Italian restaurant there and then proceeded to find the start point for a walk through the mountain side villages. It took a couple of missed turns to find the car parking spaces for the start point of our walk (and we were not the only ones with this problem; a simple sign would help); the turn on the right just before the Anantara. The walk along the irrigation terraces and through the villages was superb. It is quite amazing how the villagers have been able to cultivate (roses, pomegranates, walnuts, market garden produce...) in such an inhospitable environment. A good pair of shoes or trainers is recommended. On the walk, in a few places you need to exercise care (it is not all paved or a clear path) and there are a couple of steep short climbs but nothing too difficult. We then proceeded back to the Anantara for lunch. Most of the villages are deserted now as the spring water is diverted for other use and making a living in such an inhospitable environment is tough. I understand there are plans to pipe water up from the coast with a view to reviving the villages. If you are visiting the Nizwa area, this is a must.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Mascot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews