We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seemed to be one of the newer & larger hotels in Boquete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Valle del Rio
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2011

As others had reported on TA, I expected a room with gaudy decor, but did not find that to be the case, so perhaps the rooms were redecorated-we found them to be quite nice. The sound of the river at night was awesome and really was a pretty view.

While the food was good, service at the restaurant was somewhat slow-(lthough typical for Panama, we are learning) We were there for a very early dinner and could not seem
to get our server's attention.

The front desk staff were mixed in their helpfulness-some were outstanding, while one woman admitted that she knew very litle about the Boquete area when asked some questions. Perhaps she just moved there, but there was no other person available to help-which was frustrating.

After seeing some of the other hotels on the area, we were pleased with the location,condition of the hotel and our choice in Valle del Rio.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suett1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

We loved our experience in Boquete, which happened to be during the Flower and Coffee Festival which was a bonus. It is a beautiful mountain village with lots of amazing eateries and beautiful scenery. And of course no trip would be complete without a Coffee Plantation Tour. I would definitely recommend the Riuz, Carlos does an outstanding job. Our hotel was excellent. It is a beautiful setting nestled against a mountain river overlooking a coffee farm. A short walk to town and away from the noise and acitivites, but close enough to feel you are a part of the town. Our room was great, very nicely appointed. The hotel has a great restaurant and the food was excellent. Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone going to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovtravln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Location is good-natured just outside of the town center. A car is helpful, but you need a car for most places in boquete. Rooms are wonderful, as are lobby, deck etc. Staff was friendly and helpful, with the exception of one person trying to talk us into a ridiculously overpriced guided hike up the volcano.. clearly there's some commission there. Italian restaurant was ok, but not bad for Panama. Wine bar was neat

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bms930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

great rooms,great views of the river,good break fast, nice workers
but..............nasty management
We got soaked in the rain so we used the clothes dryer only once
hotel charged me $62 for using the dryer, and refused to under stand my point that we did not use full service laundry
also it is impossible to use the phone as they keep your phone blocked
also not allowed to send or receive cell phone calls
plus they do not deliver messages to your room
we enjoyed the hotel but will not use it again

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skicrazyhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValledelRio, Owner at Hotel Valle del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2011

1. It is very the l y sad that this customer will undermine our strength for their mistake.
They had a price list of laundry services beforehand and they send 22 pieces of clothing between Jackets, shirts, pants etc.. and got them back neatly folded. the original price was $87.00 according the list and was discounted after their complaint. Do they want this service for free?
2. Hotel telephones are blocked for security reasons an upon request by the customer management will unlock it. In fact this customer was asked if it wanted this done and decline.
3. It is outrages to suggest that we will have the technology to block Cellphone calls.
My staff gave this customer all the attention we are accustom to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Stayed in the executive suite and had the most amazing experience. Staff were very friendly and attentive, bed was wonderfully comfortable, decor was stylish and elegant and the food was superb (the pineapple jam in the morning was definitely worth getting up for!). Woke up to a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains and river every morning which inspired me to go and explore the hot springs and numerous treks that were just a stones throw away!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyMorris22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Get a room in front of the creek for some amazing sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferojaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is the second time I have traveled to Boquete and my first stay in Valle del Rio. What a wonderful experience that the entire stay was! From the peacefull sound of the the river at night to lull you to sleep, to the beautiful grounds and great food, it was a great getaway after traveling through Panama CIty.

Food - The food was perhaps my favorite part of Valle del Rio. The breakfast included in the package is large and well prepared. The restaraunt food and drink in the night was great - with an extensive wine selection.

Rooms - The rooms were well appointed with new bathrooms. Quite a treat. I was suprised to find that there was not an air conditioner in the room, but at night found that the fresh air in Boquete did not require an air unit. The only complaint would be the size of the bathroom and tightness of the door to the toilet. However, I loved the rain shower head and ammenities provided.

Location - Great! The hotel was just removed enough to relax in peace and quite. However, the hotel was only a five minute walk into town or nearby walking trails.

We will be back to Valle del Rio soon to escape the stress of the city soon and relax to the noise of rushing water at night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavannahMechelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
1.2 km away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
344 reviews
6.5 km away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
400 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Ladera
Hotel Ladera
#9 of 12 in Boquete
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
1.6 km away
La Montana y el Valle Coffee Estate Inn
1 km away
Hotel Panamonte
Hotel Panamonte
#6 of 12 in Boquete
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valle del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valle del Rio

Address: Camino Valle Escondido | Bajo, Boquete 0413, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Boquete
Price Range: $182 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valle del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Hotel in Boquete with A/C in every room, Impecable service and large rooms with balcony and breath taking views. Paladar Restaurant with his large terrace overlooking the River will delight you with his exquisite menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Valle del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing