We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, nice common area, good for tent campers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Topas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Topas
Ranked #16 of 30 Boquete B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quiet, nice common area, good for tent campers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Nice quiet place, but just a block or two from the center of town. Nice cushy grass areas for tents. You have to park outside the gate though. Has speedy wifi and a nice covered area to cook, work or do whatever. Shower is nice and hot. Highly recommend in Boquete.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeRemotely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
5
37
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I had a private single room with ensuite bathroom. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortble in a quiet corner of Boquete and the room is off in a corner of the yard. Pleasant yard to relax in although the toucan in a large cage is a little disappointing. While it is beautiful to look at up close, it really would be better if it was not caged. I paid 22 usd a night, not as cheap as some places in town, but if you want a bit of quiet and privacy, I thought this was a fine option.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikio44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We did enjoy certain aspects of our 3 night stay. It was very relaxing after you got by the attack dog. Just don't go near her, keep on the path, don't look at her, and keep your hands up or in your pockets. The dog, the mosquitoes, and the fact that the bottom sheet did not fit the bed, everything else was good.. Pool was nice as was the breakfast. We had a really good room. Owners motorcycles were awesome. He was very personable. .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingeeBattleBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and LOVED it! There is a swimming pool, which was a treat. Axel, the owner is a great guy. Make sure to buy some of his organic shade grown coffee, it comes from his coffee farm and is excellent. The room was very clean and comfy. Hot, hot, hot water which is always a plus. 2 sets of windows make night sleeping very comfortable. Nice outdoor area with tables , which is where breakfast is served, makes a great place to have a cold beer and chat with fellow travelers. There is a toucan on the grounds... you can get right up close to it, a fun experience. Hope to return sometime again, thanks to this place we met some new friends we hope will come visit us. :) smiles and hugs --polly and chad

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LA2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuttlingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

many thanks for the beautyful days there
ans also for the cool tips making our trip perfekt.
the rooms were very clean and tidy
many thanks for the beautyful days there
ans also for the cool tips making our trip perfekt.
the rooms were very clean and tidy
many thanks for the beautyful days there
ans also for the cool tips making our trip perfekt.
the rooms were very clean and tidy

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mannikaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed in Pensión Topás for two nights after having had a look at two other options. The first was the American-run Hostal Boquete. We found it very bad value for money. The rooms were expensive but tiny and very basic, and there was construction going on in the river bed right next to the hostel. We then had a look at Pensión Marilos which looked nice and was inexpensive, but they didn't have a room with a double bed available. German-run Pensión Topás was the quietest place we could find in about an hour's walk and I immediately liked the beautiful garden. They first showed us a quite basic room with shared bathroom (22 USD), then another cozy one with two windows and private bathroom which we chose (28 USD). The bed was comfy, the surrounding really quiet. They charged a couple of dollars extra for a good breakfast and there was free WiFi. I have no complaints. This place was exactly what we are looking for on our short trip to Boquete.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topautorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Despite the picture perfect grounds, the pension`s rooms seem to vary greatly in quality. Ours smelled and lacked window screens. On the other hand, the room in which our son stayed (top floor of the back building near the pool) seemed a lot better. This place could be perfect if greater attention were paid to appearances of cleanliness! Good breakfast, amiable host and cute toucan.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlainMontreal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boquete hotels
0.8 km away
The Haven and Spa
The Haven and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.4 km away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.9 km away
Hostal Nomba
Hostal Nomba
#14 of 48 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hostel Mamallena
Hostel Mamallena
#8 of 30 in Boquete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Central Boquete
Hotel Central Boquete
#9 of 30 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
5.6 km away
La Jungla Experience
La Jungla Experience
#6 of 30 in Boquete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Topas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Topas

Property: Pension Topas
Address: Avenida Belisario | Languna Porras, Boquete, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Boquete
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Boquete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pension Topas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Topas Hotel Boquete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing