We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
122
8
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
122
8
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tropic star fish tuna black marlin panama city bucket list top notch first class my son world class caught marlin two days jurassic park the past years magical place couple of days hot coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 135 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2021

There are thousands of places to fish in the World, but there is no place like Tropic Star Lodge. If you want 5 star service and accommodations, then Tropic Star is your spot. The staff treat you like family. I'd go there even if I hated fishing. But, I love fishing. And, for those who love to fish, the fish are as accommodating as the staff (Blues,Blacks, monster Tuna, Monster Roosters, Monster Dolphin, Sails, Cubera). My son and I abandoned a tuna and black marlin bite just to rest up with some inshore fishing and spent the day catching two 50+ pound rooster fish, a 40+ pound Cubera and more Pompano than I could count -- on spinners and bait casters. INSANE. No rest for the wary I guess. Let me put it this way, catching bait is better fishing than most people experience in their entire lives. . If you don't want to become addicted to fishing, you need to avoid this place. Do yourself a favor and narrow your bucket list down to this one spot -- it has it all.

P.S. these guys and gals are super COVID aware and conscientious. For them, your health, well being and peace of mind are second only to your fun and happiness -- as it should be.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bvergnolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2021

Dear bvergnolle,

It makes us so happy to know that you feel the same way about Tropic Star Lodge as we do. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we really appreciate you mentioning our staff and accommodations as we’re very proud of the service we provide as well as the upgrades made to our rooms over the past years. We’re in the business on fulfilling bucket lists! We’re fortunate the Lodge is at the doorstep to such a diverse fishery. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2020

This place is absolutely amazing. Richard & Malory run a top-notch operation from the time you step foot onto the property until you depart. They made a point to make our two boys (8&9 yrs old) feel welcome and they were entertained at all times. They went kayaking, night fishing, swimming, fishing from pangas, a trip over to a secluded beach, etc...

Now to the best part... the fishing... We fished on "Skandia" which is an updated late 60's/early 70's 34' Bertram. We caught 2 for 3 Blue Marlin 300+lbs, 5 Sailfish 100+lbs, 2 Yellowfin Tuna (one was 174 lbs.), 1 Almaco Jack, 6 Mahi-mahi (one 70lbs) & 1 Bluefin Trevally. That is 3 great days of fishing! Cheers to our captain Jose & mate Eladio which made this fishing trip a special memory that we will never forget. Also, if you have the chance to book Hannes Ribbner (a professional photographer from Sweden who specializes in shots for magazines like Marlin Mag) do so. He got some awesome pics of my wife's first Blue Marlin & a number of other great shots for our family.

We stayed in one of the upgraded villas and it was updated & very comfortable for a family. The food & staff were excellent in every way. You just can't beat the 5:30am wakeup call in your room with hot coffee being delivered and hot chocolate for our two boys. Again, I can't say enough good comments about Tropic Star Lodge! They are GREAT!!

Room tip: Upgraded Villas were great. Highly recommend.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wferg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2020

Dear wferg54,

We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your fishing adventure with your family at Tropic Star Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review and highlights from your stay. We love having families here and sharing in the excitement and thrill of your family’s catches and making memories is what fishing and Tropic Star is all about. Congratulations again on all those special catches and releases!

Thank you for your positive comments about our accommodation, food, and staff. Can’t really beat the wakeup call service in the morning! It was such a fun week for us and we very much look forward to having you back soon for some amazing fishing fun!

All the best,
Mallory and Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2020

Having grown up in the Canal Zone from 1962 to 1974 this was a bucket list adventure. Tropic Star Lodge and the people that make it all happen is a lifetime adventure!!! I cannot think of another place in the world that can beat this place in it's uniqueness. Truly amazing. The Lodge, Boats, Tackle, etc... are beyond exceptional, but it is the STAFF that really sets them apart from others.

Room tip: I would work with the staff to determine what would be best for your group.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 813vang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2020

Dear 813vang,

Thank you very much for your review of Tropic Star Lodge and for joining us for an adventure of a lifetime! We agree that there’s not a place in the world quite like us! We take pride in our fleet of Bertrams and quality tackle so thank you for mentioning that as well as our passionate staff. We hope to see you back soon.

All the best wishes,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2020 via mobile

Tropic Star Lodge has been on my list for years. Took my son on the hunt for adventure. The staff is incredible at every turn. Richie White runs a perfectly timed symphonic blend of precision and accommodating requests. Patterson, Richard and Marvin all made everlasting impressions. Food service, accommodations and the Fishing! Whoa do these captains and mates know their business! Captain Mario and mate Ermel helped us land every fish we had hoped for...and then some! This is one place we will be returning to and bringing others to experience. Thank you for creating amazing memories.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DoradoMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2020

Dear DoradoMark,

Thank you for your review of your recent trip to Tropic Star Lodge. We appreciate you recognizing our fantastic service staff and boat crew. Congratulations again on all those fantastic catches during your stay! It was so much fun for us to be part of the excitement each afternoon. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to create more memories!

Best regards,
Mallory and Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2020

I have been to Tropic Star Lodge twice in the past 3 years. It's perfection, pure and simple. Amazing fishing, a jungle-elegant property, delicious meals, and great bars/pool to kick back and unwind after long days at sea. Richard and the entire team do an incredible job making this an unforgettable experience. If you are lucky enough to be in a position to stay at Tropic Star, don't hesitate: life is too short and experiences like this are what it's all about :)

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P4638AIjonathanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory White, Guest Services / Front Office at Tropic Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2020

Dear P4638AIjonathanw,

Thank you very much for your five-star review. You certainly sum up the magic of this place. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our operation and team. We hope to see you soon for a return visit.

All the best,
Mallory and Richard White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews