We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruising the Caribbean Waters of the San Blas Archipelago.”
Review of Sailing Blue Sky

Sailing Blue Sky
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 52 ft. Sailing yacht Blue Sky offers crewed sailing charters in the beautiful, pristine San Blas Islands off the coast of the Rep. of Panama. Meet the local friendly Guna Indians. Fun, English speaking, U.S. Coast Guard Licensed Capt., chef prepared meals, enjoy snorkeling tours, fishing, kayaks. 1 queen and 1 king stateroom, private bath available. Kids welcome! Optional waterfall hiking tour thru the rainforest offered by a local Guna Indian.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed January 29, 2017

A 4-day cruise with Skipper Breeze and First Mate Debbie is an experience that is at once fun, fantastic, and fabulous. Everything that anyone might desire aboard this super-spacious vessel is included and is first class. The boat is comfortable, quickly acclimated by you, the passenger. One can loaf or offer to participate in setting sail, mooring, launching the dinghy or kayaks, and streaming a fishing line. Food preparation by Debbie becomes a culinary delight pleasing both the eye and the palate. A watchword aboard is FRESH!

Rather than a 1-day excursion that is quite limited, the cruise duration is up to you and will offer the happy passenger and opportunity to snorkel over coral reefs, visit pristine deserted islands or visit those that are inhabited by the Kuna Indians to see, up close and personal, their lifestyle and culture. New found treasures are the ubiquitous "molas" or blouses which are the foundation of "haut couture" for Kuna ladies. Don't leave these Islands without one. Other neat items are intricate bead bracelets for madam's ankle or wrist.

The best part of this means of travel is that you have plenty of time to do and see without maintaining some pre-arranged killer schedule. Want to see and do even more- make your cruise last 5, 6, 7 days or more. The Skipper has a never ending repetoire of interesting sea-stories. And, don't forget to get him to take out his totally cool acoustic guitar and have a sing-a-long. Want a challenge? Learn to master Mexican dominoes- oh yeah!

The adventure starts with an overland journey from Panama City and through the autonomous Indian nation of Kuna Yala. Experience the fun and funk at Puerto Carti and a launch ride to Sky Blue. Do it real soon- you're gonna' luv it!

Thank mandrake2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breezeatsea, Owner at Sailing Blue Sky, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

We really enjoyed having you onboard and appreciated your enthusiastic help onboard with sailing the boat, hoisting the dinghy ect.. it's all part of the fun when you get a chance to be "part of the crew".

We enjoyed teaching you to play Mexican Train dominoes, sorry the wind kept knocking them over. We have ordered wooden holders for the dominoes and will put them to use next time you sail with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"at home"
in 6 reviews
"panama city"
in 12 reviews
"the galley"
in 5 reviews
"san blas"
in 29 reviews
"lobster"
in 11 reviews
"food was great"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful hosts"
in 3 reviews
"an amazing cook"
in 3 reviews
"dropped anchor"
in 3 reviews
"made us feel"
in 3 reviews
"always felt safe"
in 3 reviews
"spent three days"
in 3 reviews
"bring your own"
in 3 reviews
"starry night"
in 2 reviews
"an adventure"
in 2 reviews
"sound system"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing trip"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2017

My Husband & I along with our two young adult daughters spent 4 days on the Blue Sky with Debbie & Breeze. It was one of the most amazing experiences we've ever had.
Debbie & Breeze made us feel so at home and catered to our every need. Debbie's meals were delicious and plentiful. We had a great time snorkeling and kayaking with Breeze. Our time on the Blue Sky was very relaxing and enjoyable. We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable vacation.

Thank 679SusanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breezeatsea, Owner at Sailing Blue Sky, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for writing such an excellent review! We also had fun having you and your daughters onboard. They definitely had a great time snorkeling!

We would love to have you join us for another sailing trip. We've just discovered a new snorkeling spot you would really enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

Had an absolutely fantastic time with Debbie and Breeze! The San Blas Islands are absolutely stunning and this is the way to seem some of them. The sailboat(Blue Sky) is spacious and has all the comforts you need. The food is delicious and we had lobster and conch ceviche freshly caught by the local tribe. Debbie and Breeze are a fantastic team and will make sure you're well looked after.

Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breezeatsea, Owner at Sailing Blue Sky, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review and the really cool photos you included!

Glad you enjoyed the fresh seafood. As the captain says "any fresher and we would be eating it under water"!

Hope to see out sailing with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

I booked a four night stay for my husband, my two little boys (ages 3 and 5), myself and my parents aboard Blue Sky. The ride to the boat is bumpy, and one of my sons got car sick. Debbie and Breeze handled that well and made us very comfortable. They made me feel comfortable with our boys on board, and we always felt safe and well cared for.

We enjoyed the sailing, snorkeling, kayaking, and swimming. The food was great for adults and kids.

It was an amazing trip with memories I will cherish.

I was particularly impressed with Debbie and Breeze's knowledge of and respect for the Kuna and the local environment.

Thank aem31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breezeatsea, Owner at Sailing Blue Sky, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for your review! We loved having your family onboard, all 3 generations! We raised our son onboard our four different boats from conception to college. It was great reliving fond memories of our son
when he was that age!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2016

Debbie and Breeze are wonderful hosts and really take great effort to make sure you are taken care of from initial preparation to final return. Four of us stayed on board for four nights and I am sure it is a trip we will always remember. They sought out isolated spots for snorkeling, arranged a waterfall hike with a local guide, and provided delicious meals. San Blas is a bit off the beaten path but totally worth the adventure of getting there. I highly recommend the Blue Sky!

Thank sarntm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breezeatsea, Owner at Sailing Blue Sky, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

We loved having your group of four onboard for four days, lots of fun!
Glad you enjoyed the sailing trip and also the waterfall trip, the Guna guide is very knowledgeable about the different traditions and medicinal plants. She is also a master mola maker!

Thank you for your recommendation, and hope to see you out sailing with us again soon. We can't wait to show you the newest island we've discovered for some really great snorkeling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sailing Blue Sky also viewed

San Blas Islands, Guna Yala Region
El Porvenir, San Blas Islands
 
El Porvenir, San Blas Islands
San Blas Islands, Guna Yala Region
 

Been to Sailing Blue Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing