We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Estancia Bello Horizonte
Nearby Hotels
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sotupa Eco House(Puerto Maldonado)
US$120
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Green House Tambopata(Puerto Maldonado)
US$135
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chimicuas House(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
US$51
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Anaconda Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Monte Amazonico Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
US$120
US$116
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Collpas Tambopata Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Refugio Amazonas(Puerto Maldonado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Amazon Planet(Puerto Maldonado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica(Puerto Maldonado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
43
20
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
20
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnon profitorphanskindslodgebirdsrainforestgroup
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 71 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The trip was awesome, EBH did everything very well. There food was reallllyyy goood. 3 course dinner and lunch. Fresh juice and all the works. The guides were good and sweet. The only drawback was that it was not hardcore Amazon experience, It was very laidback, it worked out fine for us because we were tired after walking all over Cusco and Macchu picchu. But anyone looking to find anacondas and pumas will be disappointed. The most you would see is Monkeys and frogs :)
The rooms were clean and basic. Electricity is a for a short time in the evening and morning. And again its very pleasing to know that All the profit from EBH goes to a charity that supports Children in the Amazon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsyIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2009

The Estancia is located in the middle of the Peruvian Amazons forest. The APRONIA organization, owner of the structure, strongly support thedevelopment of in need children. You will have everything you need but nothing more. The approach is deeply ecologist and resources conservation. . The atmosphere is familial and the guides used to introduced you in the forest's beauty are well prepared and professional. Food is of primary quality and well prepared. Rooms are clean and well protected against mosquitoes. Do not miss the visit to Sandoval lake

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2009

My trip to this place was about a year ago, and as I am setting out to book a new vacation to Panama, I can't help to think back to my stay here and wonder if anything will compare. So much so, that I was forced to finally sign up to this web site and write a review.
First off, when you arrive they take you into town, to the ice cream shop that they also own and supply you with a tasty treat of your choice. Then the journey, across the madre de dio and 45 min dirt road then about 15 minutes down a road that i would never guess existed.
The eco lodge is set in a nice clearing on a great spot with a super cool view of the rain forest.
All the rest is great food and service. The day treks are planned nicely and you will see some cool stuff.
We stayed here for 5 nights, and on the second to last day, me and my girlfriend both got sick (malaria medicine), and the staff couldn't have been awesomerer...
In summation, bring a long lens and leave your malarone at home...

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Creeoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2009

A very friendly place to stay. The spring water swimming pool is great. The food is really excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskatchewanTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Everything about our stay at the Estancia Bello Horizonte was excellent-- except that they housed our party of 3 in a double and a single, not the triple we requested. We would have preferred to learn this BEFORE arriving at the lodge. I'd dock a star but our experience was superlative in every other regard.

Food: Excellent. Every single meal we were served was outstanding. One of my travel companions is vegetarian, and they willingly accommodated her. However, they did mostly serve her hard-boiled eggs in place of the meat item (I think she got tofu once or twice). They did ask her specifically about her preferences.

Lodging: Nice enough. I'm pretty sure what we experienced was standard. We had running water that occasionally ran out, and hot water that frequently did. Our rooms were nice, attractive & clean, with mosquito nets, screens, etc etc. Electricity was available only after dark. Totally acceptable, but if you are expecting the Holiday Inn I suggest you stay there. There's a bar and lounge area, as well as a swimming pool.

Staff: AMAZING. I can't sing praises high enough about our guide, Freddy. His eyes were excellent, and his knowledge of the jungle was thorough. He grew up in the area, and came to work at the lodge after spending several years working in the national park system. He was accessible, spoke understandable English, and answered all of our questions. Plus, he was fun to be around! Mostly, Freddy took care of everything for us but the other guides and staff members were great too.

Also, our treks were limited to 7 people, and on our "big day" we had Freddy and a guide-in-training. That's 2 guides for 7!! Other tours we saw had like, 30 people to one guide.

Excursions: Fantastic! When we were on Lake Sandoval, we were literally the only humans in sight. On our hikes, we saw 4 kinds of monkeys (capuchins, squirrel, tamarind, howler), caymans, about a million birds (including macaws and parrots), leaf-cutter ants, frogs, butterflies, and an overwhelming number of insanely cool plants. In general, Freddy maintained a really pleasurable amount of recreation and education, and matched our pace.

Other guests: We were 3 American women in our mid-20s. The other guests were entirely French-speaking adults or families. We were "grouped" with two couples for all our excursions and meals, and we had a great time with them.

Logistics: We were picked up from the airport on time, dropped off on time, everything was managed perfectly.

Conclusion: Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WondRWomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews