We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by what we found and experienced at Reserva Amazonica. The transfer from the airport to the lodge via boat was seamless. The introduction of excursions was a bit overwhelming because there is just so much to do and it is all inclusive (except for one or two special treks). We were worried about the lack of electricity but the hours of availability make it workable. I found there was no need for a hairdryer or curling iron anyway since you sweat so much that within minutes your hair looks bad again. It was sort of nice to not have to worry about stuff like that.

We had a room on the river (definitely worth the upgrade) and loved being able to sit in our cabin and look out at it. The hammocks were not comfortable so we never used them but the sling wooden chairs nice. The kerosene lamps at night make for a lovely, romantic setting. We were surprised to find the room was relatively secure from outside critters so we could sit in our room just wearing the citronella splash they provide to keep mosquitos at bay. When you leave the compound, you definitely need to use heavy DEET. Oh and here is my tip to anyone planning to go to the jungle - buy an insect repellant shirt!!! I wore mine every time we went on a jungle excursion and never had one bite. My husband received over 30 bites on his shoulder blades from one excursion alone. I am not sure if the shirt had anything to do with it, but I am inclined to think it did.

Food was very good with plenty of options at lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cavergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

The Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica is truly amazing - the staff and guides (ours was Percy and was so enthusiastic about everything he was showing us) and the lodges themselves were just perfect - beautiful setting and bang in the middle of all the jungle walks and trips you'd ever need - i can't recommend it highly enough - we spent 19 days in Peru and only 4 at the Reserva but in hindsight we would have booked a few more days in the jungle - we had a fabulous time and loved every second of it largely due to the amazing lodge and it's incredible staff - brilliant!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelcake32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Eco lodge 15 miles downriver from Puerto Moldonado. Transfer process from P. Moldanado airport (truly one of the world's very worst, in every respect!), was well organised and smooth. Pity same cannot be said for LAN Peru's cr*ppy airline service!!
Accommodation is in stilted huts, with limited electricity. Wildlife wanders around outside. Rustic, but comfortable fittings with nice (mosquito netted) beds. No glass in windows, but hut is well screened.
Only three basic excursions – rest that were listed were all variation on theme. They are: Escorted jungle walk, with canopy walk attached if desired. River trip – day or night. And, lake trip by canoe. This trip requires a tough, very muddy, two mile walk (rubber boots provided), but the lake (giant otters!) is worth it in the end.
Food is included at Lodge. This was simple but well prepared and enjoyable. Good staff, with knowledgeable guides. Rustic, but it all worked!
Mosquitoes are ferocious, night and day. Good DEET repellent is essential. Spray thin clothing too and roll up sleeves and trouser cuffs to spray 2/3 inches above hemline – or they will creep up a sleeve or trouser leg!!
Well run rain forest excursion hotel, with high standards.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We wanted to visit the Amazon Rainforest while in South America but were prepared for a rough time as it is the rainy season and we thought no comforts would be available. By luck we ran across an inkaterra representative at the airport and told us there was a special offer for low season. We had the most wonderful time, we even extended our stay. The location, the comfort, the tours, are excellent, but the service is unforgettable! Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ayearinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This lodge about as nice as could be expected with no AC in 90 degree heat and humidity. The accommodations were excellent and the food good. The Peruvian rain forest setting is fascinating as the diversity of flora/fauna unlike anything in midwestern US. Our guide, Glehmn, was knowledgeable , enthusiastic, and worked hard to show us the treasures of the rain forest. The family of river otters of Lake Sandoval were the stars a show that also featured sloths, monkeys, beetles with bioluminescent eyes , tarantulas, caimans, and a variety of birds and butterflies. I can highly recommend this as an excellent place to experience the jungle without giving up the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed at the Inkateera Reserva for 3 nights on Sept 27, 28 & 29 and it was the highlight of our 2 week trip to Peru. The huts are so much more than I expected. The hamocks on the porch were great to relax in and the beds were very comfortable. The ceiling fans really helped at night. The food was very good and the service was great. We went on 6 guided tours while we were there and each one was great. We really enjoyed the night hike and the canopy tour was a blast. We did see alot of wildlife will on our tours ( yes monkeys). It was hot and humid and we expected with day time highs around 105 degree and down to 85 degree at night, but your body adjusted to the heat after the direst day. Our guide Moseis was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. 3 nights was just the right ammount of time to spend here as we took the tours we wanted and also had a 1/2 day to just relax and take it all in. I would recommend this Lodge to anyone who wants to experience the Jungle with all the comfort of home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craigp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This place is really wonderful - the cabins have ceiling fans and hot water showers, and the food is fabulous. Our guide, Anabel, was very knowledgeable and personable. She took us canoeing around Lake Sandoval, where we saw monkeys, bats, colorful birds (including macaws) and butterflies of all shapes, sizes and colors. The canopy walk is really cool, too. The best part of our visit may have been the night-time boat trip on the river, where we looked for caimans using a spotlight. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Inkaterra focuses on safety, comfort and service. A lot more service than we are used to, and more than we need. For example, the lunch menu offers 6 or 7 appetizer options, 5 or 6 entrees, plus a couple of choices for dessert. It's excellent food, but when the temperature is 108 F with 94% humidity, you just want some sort of salad and half a ham sandwich. Several times, we ordered one meal to share, but they didn't understand and brought us two meals, which was too much food, and we felt bad about wasting it.

For people who are older or who have young children, and are concerned about safety and comfort, this would be an excellent choice. For people who want more of an adventure, I don't think this is the best choice. We stayed at another eco-lodge in northern Peru (Pacaya Samiria Amazon Lodge) and enjoyed our experience there much more, and it was considerably less expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcb1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
15.5 km away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
244 reviews
7.9 km away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
367 reviews
53.7 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
177 reviews
8.9 km away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#5 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
316 reviews
14.5 km away
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
#11 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $488 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing