We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rainforest site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Great place.The naturalist guides are very knowledgeable. Great trips - if you do not mind the heat! The canopy trip is really special. Rooms are clean and bug-free. But no air-conditioning -for those who might be wondering!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the restaurant area - so you are not disturbed by noise. Some rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

All around a great experience. The rainforest is a fascinating place. Unusual plant and wildlife --we saw giant otters, caimans, capybaras and lots of birds. The service here is first rate-- the guides are knowledgeable and the food was quite good (and the rooms are bug free!). All around, I highly recommend it.

My only criticism has nothing to do with the place. To go to Puerto Maldonado requires an extra flight, a yellow fever vaccine and malaria pills-- which add a up to a pretty penny. As much as I liked the facility and I'm glad I came here, the added expense should be considered.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrfishynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed.

Collected at the airport in an old colonial style truck where we were transported to their reception area a very short journey from the airport. There we were provided with very welcome cold towels and cool drinks.

This high level and personal service continued throughout our stay.

Whilst here we completed our registration process prior to being transported to the river for our 45 minute boat trip to our lodges. The trip passed very quickly as the scenery was stunning.

On arrival at the lodges we were again provided with complimentary drinks prior to an introductory briefing and thereafter were shown to our lodges. The lodges are excellent. They are all separate cabins with thatched roofs, wooden walls, toilet and showers. The beds have full nets and are very comfortable. The front half of the lodges are screend with 2 hammocks and 2 chairs where you can sit and relax.

A wide range of trips are available all included within the 'room rate' with a few available at extra cost. We took several trips including the canopy walk, night time boat and Lake Sandoval. We had the same guide (Alan) throughout our stay which was excellent as we got to know him a little. Alan was very knowledgeable and took time to ensure everyone was engaged in the activities. None of the trips we did were very streneous but were most enjoyable. Therefore, if you are looking for deep jungle exploration, swinging a machete, etc. I would suggest this is not for you.

Food - there have been plenty other comments on this so don't feel I need to add anything other than to say the staff are excellent, very well trained and knwoledgeable. More importantly the food is cooked to a very good standard.

The only downside is the illegal gold mining that takes place on the river during daylight and this can be slightly annoying due to the noise from the generators that they use.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Inkaterra as part of our Honeymoon and it was fabulous. To start the resort itself is beautiful - immaculate bungalows with everything you could want and really good mosquito nets over the beds. The main building is wonderful and huge, with really friendly and attentive staff who are really good fun whilst providing the most amazing service.
The drinks and food were really good with lots of great choice and really fresh fruit and vegetables.
The trips however are what make this an extra special place. We went out on the canopy walk-way, did day and night walks, went out to the Lake Sandoval and over to Monkey Island aswell as boat trips day and night and all this was included in our stay! The guides know their stuff and are really friendly and knowledgeable. The groups are small so you feel like you are getting a really personal service. We saw so many birds, animals and reptiles; carrybarra, tarantulas, giant otters, caimans and so much more. They even provide you with wellies when its been raining!
This is a really exciting whilst luxurious place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. My new husband and I had the most fabulous time and loved it.

Room Tip: Not sure that it matters - they are all fabulous little private bungalows, but we stayed right near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Poopyscoop

Thank you for choosing Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica as your honeymoon destination!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our services and mainly our excursions which are 13 a-la-carte adventures, included in our rate programs, that introduces you to the magical environment of the rain forest.
Good advice yours about booking a Superior Rio cabaña, having a view to the Madre de Dios river is a nice plus to our regular rooms.

Thank you again for staying with us, it was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcome you again, maybe to celebrate your first anniversary!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just returned from three great days at RA. For a jungle facility, it is quite luxurious. Here are a few thoughts:

THE ROOMS are individual cabins lined up like WWII barracks. The walls are mostly screens with curtains. Visual privacy is assured, but whatever you do or say will be heard in the adjacent cabins. Beds are very comfortable, and the standard twin bed arrangement can be combined to form a nice king--just ask. Lighting in the rooms is marginal at best.

THE FOOD AND SERVICE were excellent although--as noted by others--the schedule is quite rigid. Breakfast is buffet. Lunch is a choice of about a dozen itmes from an unchanging menu. Dinner is a choice of three items from a menu that changes every day. Service is very good if you don't want anything that is in any way unusual. But if you want a glass of juice at lunch, or a bag of ice for your swollen knee, it's likely to take a good twenty minutes.

THE NATURE TOURS were the best. Our guide was Wilson, who always made me think of the volleyball in "Castaway." He went out of his way for us and we saw things that other groups did not, including giant river otters, caiman, an ocelot, many species of monkeys, fishing bats and a family of capybara, including a nursing mother. These tours are not strenuous by any means--but that's why you hiked the Inka Trail, isn't it?

ABOUT THE MINING: Directly across the river from RA were a half dozen locals running motorized sluiceboxes to pull tiny amounts of gold out of the river bottom. Each one had a loud gasoline engine running literallly from dawn to dark, which made it difficult to enjoy the sounds of the jungle any where near the river. It was sort of like having somebody running a lawnmower outside your room all day, every day. I don't know what Inkaterra can do about this problem, but it's going to hurt their business a lot if they can't move the miners away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evanescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Evanescent,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review of our services. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica.

We are proud of having the best nature interpreters (guides) of the area. They provide, with their knowledge, the best experience to all our guests. They are our stars!

About in front mining, as you well say, there is not that much what we can do about it. This is a problem that the authorities have to solve and we support their efforts in so.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcome you, your family and friends once again at Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I are vegan and expected difficulty with our diet in Peru. We figured we'd be fine in big cities, but expected to work to find a good vegan meals on some of our journeys into non-mainstream Peru.

Inkaterra advertises being able to accommodate vegetarians, which was a great start. We'd went back-and-forth a couple of times with the Inkaterra staff to see what they'd provide that was vegan. We wanted an idea of what types of dishes would be available, so I sent them an e-mail mentioning some of the foods we like (and don't like). I was expecting them to say "Sure, we can make those", but instead I got a reply with a very creative, locally-influenced sample menu. It spanned breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert! Here are *some* sample dishes:

Breakfast:
- Amazon banana vegan cake (this was delicious!)
- Chocolate vegan cake
- Vegan pancakes

Lunch:
- Oat burgers
- Oatmeal meatballs in tomato sauce
- Amazon Ratatouille
- Quinoa Tabuleh

Dinner:
- Mushrooms cream
- Mushroom Risotto
- Vegetable Napoleon in tomato sauce
- Grilled vegetables with hummus in a pita

Dessert:
- Crepes
- Rice (soymilk based) pudding
- Tons of fruit

It was all delicious! Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dear jasonparekh

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.
It is our goal to exceed our guest's expectations and we are glad to know that we made it with you. It was our pleasure to be of service!
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends once again to Peru!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

For those that want a more serene gentle, cotton wool wrapped intro the Amazon then choose this place. If you want to a bit more of a real, adventurous or exciting experience then avoid

Likes
- Very knowledgable staff and guides. They can describe in great detail every plant and animal you see. Also liked how most of them were from the area
- Thhe hotel is set in beautiful grounds in the heart of the national park.
- the rooms have hot water and electricity (most of the time) and I loved the hammocks and open nature of it all..really felt like you were sleeping wild
- Very efficient transfers and excursions


Dislikes
- Strangely very strict about timings of meals and drinks. Come 5 mins before breakfast starts at 530 and they refused to turn on the lights until exactly 530. Ask for a your complimentary drinks at 3 mins before 6pm and they will refuse and insist that its billed to your room (plus if you are going to give complimentary drinks, make sure its the same measure as one you would pay for or don't bother)
- Tiny portion sizes, I don't eat a lot but had to ask for more food every meal. This is annoying and embarrassing.
- The excursions were pleasant but not in the least bit challenging. I didn't the hardest trek (tambopata) and wasn't hard at all. The night cruise was a waste of time but thankfully was over in an hour. In general don't expect to see many big or exciting creatures. This area is more about birds, monkeys and caymans.

I would go back with my parents for them its perfect. However for those looking for a Amazon adventure then go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thekyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
15.5 km away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
244 reviews
7.9 km away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
367 reviews
53.7 km away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
177 reviews
8.9 km away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#5 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
315 reviews
14.5 km away
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
#11 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: $488 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing