We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
582
182
61
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
182
61
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake valenciacanopy walklake sandovalpiranha fishingplunge poollunch menuadditional costbutterfly houseminute boat ridelaundry servicethree nightsriver viewcanopy tourceiling fanan excursionmosquito nettingamazon experience
Filter
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 847 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2011

All around a great experience. The rainforest is a fascinating place. Unusual plant and wildlife --we saw giant otters, caimans, capybaras and lots of birds. The service here is first rate-- the guides are knowledgeable and the food was quite good (and the rooms are bug free!). All around, I highly recommend it.

My only criticism has nothing to do with the place. To go to Puerto Maldonado requires an extra flight, a yellow fever vaccine and malaria pills-- which add a up to a pretty penny. As much as I liked the facility and I'm glad I came here, the added expense should be considered.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrfishynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed.

Collected at the airport in an old colonial style truck where we were transported to their reception area a very short journey from the airport. There we were provided with very welcome cold towels and cool drinks.

This high level and personal service continued throughout our stay.

Whilst here we completed our registration process prior to being transported to the river for our 45 minute boat trip to our lodges. The trip passed very quickly as the scenery was stunning.

On arrival at the lodges we were again provided with complimentary drinks prior to an introductory briefing and thereafter were shown to our lodges. The lodges are excellent. They are all separate cabins with thatched roofs, wooden walls, toilet and showers. The beds have full nets and are very comfortable. The front half of the lodges are screend with 2 hammocks and 2 chairs where you can sit and relax.

A wide range of trips are available all included within the 'room rate' with a few available at extra cost. We took several trips including the canopy walk, night time boat and Lake Sandoval. We had the same guide (Alan) throughout our stay which was excellent as we got to know him a little. Alan was very knowledgeable and took time to ensure everyone was engaged in the activities. None of the trips we did were very streneous but were most enjoyable. Therefore, if you are looking for deep jungle exploration, swinging a machete, etc. I would suggest this is not for you.

Food - there have been plenty other comments on this so don't feel I need to add anything other than to say the staff are excellent, very well trained and knwoledgeable. More importantly the food is cooked to a very good standard.

The only downside is the illegal gold mining that takes place on the river during daylight and this can be slightly annoying due to the noise from the generators that they use.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at the Inkaterra as part of our Honeymoon and it was fabulous. To start the resort itself is beautiful - immaculate bungalows with everything you could want and really good mosquito nets over the beds. The main building is wonderful and huge, with really friendly and attentive staff who are really good fun whilst providing the most amazing service.
The drinks and food were really good with lots of great choice and really fresh fruit and vegetables.
The trips however are what make this an extra special place. We went out on the canopy walk-way, did day and night walks, went out to the Lake Sandoval and over to Monkey Island aswell as boat trips day and night and all this was included in our stay! The guides know their stuff and are really friendly and knowledgeable. The groups are small so you feel like you are getting a really personal service. We saw so many birds, animals and reptiles; carrybarra, tarantulas, giant otters, caimans and so much more. They even provide you with wellies when its been raining!
This is a really exciting whilst luxurious place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. My new husband and I had the most fabulous time and loved it.

Room Tip: Not sure that it matters - they are all fabulous little private bungalows, but we stayed right near the river side and the sunset view from our room was beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear Poopyscoop

Thank you for choosing Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica as your honeymoon destination!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our services and mainly our excursions which are 13 a-la-carte adventures, included in our rate programs, that introduces you to the magical environment of the rain forest.
Good advice yours about booking a Superior Rio cabaña, having a view to the Madre de Dios river is a nice plus to our regular rooms.

Thank you again for staying with us, it was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcome you again, maybe to celebrate your first anniversary!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just returned from three great days at RA. For a jungle facility, it is quite luxurious. Here are a few thoughts:

THE ROOMS are individual cabins lined up like WWII barracks. The walls are mostly screens with curtains. Visual privacy is assured, but whatever you do or say will be heard in the adjacent cabins. Beds are very comfortable, and the standard twin bed arrangement can be combined to form a nice king--just ask. Lighting in the rooms is marginal at best.

THE FOOD AND SERVICE were excellent although--as noted by others--the schedule is quite rigid. Breakfast is buffet. Lunch is a choice of about a dozen itmes from an unchanging menu. Dinner is a choice of three items from a menu that changes every day. Service is very good if you don't want anything that is in any way unusual. But if you want a glass of juice at lunch, or a bag of ice for your swollen knee, it's likely to take a good twenty minutes.

THE NATURE TOURS were the best. Our guide was Wilson, who always made me think of the volleyball in "Castaway." He went out of his way for us and we saw things that other groups did not, including giant river otters, caiman, an ocelot, many species of monkeys, fishing bats and a family of capybara, including a nursing mother. These tours are not strenuous by any means--but that's why you hiked the Inka Trail, isn't it?

ABOUT THE MINING: Directly across the river from RA were a half dozen locals running motorized sluiceboxes to pull tiny amounts of gold out of the river bottom. Each one had a loud gasoline engine running literallly from dawn to dark, which made it difficult to enjoy the sounds of the jungle any where near the river. It was sort of like having somebody running a lawnmower outside your room all day, every day. I don't know what Inkaterra can do about this problem, but it's going to hurt their business a lot if they can't move the miners away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evanescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Dear Evanescent,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review of our services. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica.

We are proud of having the best nature interpreters (guides) of the area. They provide, with their knowledge, the best experience to all our guests. They are our stars!

About in front mining, as you well say, there is not that much what we can do about it. This is a problem that the authorities have to solve and we support their efforts in so.

Thank you once again, we look forward to welcome you, your family and friends once again at Inkaterra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I are vegan and expected difficulty with our diet in Peru. We figured we'd be fine in big cities, but expected to work to find a good vegan meals on some of our journeys into non-mainstream Peru.

Inkaterra advertises being able to accommodate vegetarians, which was a great start. We'd went back-and-forth a couple of times with the Inkaterra staff to see what they'd provide that was vegan. We wanted an idea of what types of dishes would be available, so I sent them an e-mail mentioning some of the foods we like (and don't like). I was expecting them to say "Sure, we can make those", but instead I got a reply with a very creative, locally-influenced sample menu. It spanned breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert! Here are *some* sample dishes:

Breakfast:
- Amazon banana vegan cake (this was delicious!)
- Chocolate vegan cake
- Vegan pancakes

Lunch:
- Oat burgers
- Oatmeal meatballs in tomato sauce
- Amazon Ratatouille
- Quinoa Tabuleh

Dinner:
- Mushrooms cream
- Mushroom Risotto
- Vegetable Napoleon in tomato sauce
- Grilled vegetables with hummus in a pita

Dessert:
- Crepes
- Rice (soymilk based) pudding
- Tons of fruit

It was all delicious! Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear jasonparekh

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.
It is our goal to exceed our guest's expectations and we are glad to know that we made it with you. It was our pleasure to be of service!
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends once again to Peru!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews